We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Poplar's Farmhouse for a weekend and had a lovely time. We were met by David who told us all about the facilities at the farmhouse in addition to booking us into The Angel Inn for a meal that night.

We stayed in the Gardenia Room which was light, airy and had a spacious bathroom but be careful of the sloping floor!

We used the footpath from the farmhouse to the village which only takes about 15 minutes to walk to the pub. As it was winter it was dark but we were lent a wind up torch by David to find our way - which was fine.

All in all we had a relaxing weekend with superb breakfasts and would thoroughly recommend Poplar's Farmhouse to anyone looking for a break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodweekendaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 389 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at Poplars Farmhouse in February 2013 and would return in a heartbeat!

Initially we were welcomed by Paul who gave us a good introductory tour of the house and then he invited us to relax in the guest’s lounge room with a lovely pot of tea. We appreciated his thoughtfulness after what had been a long and tiring day of travel.

The guests lounge room was a good size with everything you could wish for. It was warm with comfy couches and cushions, offered a good selection of magazines and books, had a TV and a wide selection of DVD’s, free Wi-Fi, writing desk and gorgeous views out of the windows!

As we were enjoying our cuppa, David came home and again we were warmly welcomed. At this point we also met Spike; the resident dog. For those of you who do not like dogs or are allergic to dogs, have no fear as Spike keeps to himself and does not encroach of your living space.

We stayed in the ‘beamed room’ which, as the name suggests, features old exposed timber beams. It was a wonderful warm and spacious room full of character. The bed was a good size, extremely comfortable with quality linen and pillows. We had a wall mounted TV, a few books to browse through and coffee and tea making facilities. It was a nice touch to be offered fresh milk as opposed to long life sachets too.

Our ensuite bathroom complimented the beamed room in both spaciousness and décor. We had a bath with an overhead shower and the bathroom was heated which was just heavenly when it was so cold outside.

Breakfast was served in the guest dining room and featured a beautiful, cosy fireplace. The range of breakfast choices on offer was more than adequate and the scrambled eggs were the best I've ever eaten!

Stoke by Nayland is in a lovely location and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the local area. David was invaluable with his knowledge and advice of where to go and what to see. If you’re looking for something nearby for dinner, the B&B is located a short drive away from town and there are two pubs to choose from ‘The Crown’ and ‘The Angel Inn’.

We would highly recommend staying at Poplars Farmhouse for at least two nights to unwind, relax and enjoy what is a delightful and charming B&B in a great location with perfects hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DormouseTidings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just got back from spending two nights at this great B&B. David and Paul made us very welcome with a huge pot of tea and biscuits served in their exquisite sitting room when we arrived (and also another when we came back from touring about the area in the freezing weather!) so that's always a good start! The house is very old and spacious and it's so quiet thereabouts you could hear a pin drop in Colchester. We had the Gardenia room with its quirkily-sloping floor (I said the place was old!) and plenty of space to rattle about in. It's all very clean and warmly welcoming. David and Paul are there in the background - always helpful, always good to talk to, always the brilliant mine hosts. If you're into good English breakfasts then you will enjoy their breakfast which is freshly-cooked and served on hot plates - guaranteed to last you until tea-time. The sitting room is great to relax in - there's a TV, plenty of DVDs (watched Love Actually for the umpteenth time and enjoyed it all over again) and heaps of books if you feel like reading. There's wi-fi if you want to catch up on e-mails or browse what to do for your following day's stay. It's a real home from home and I reckon David and Paul have sussed out how to run a darned good B&B. Thanks a million, guys - you were ace!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffreySinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really cannot think of anything they could have done to make our stay more perfect! We loved that they had wellies and brollies by the door and insisted we made ourselves at home! We had our wine in their fridge and borrowed appropriate glasses. I had asked for Special Milk as I'm dairy intolerant and instead of being made to feel like an inconvenience, I had my own milk in my own jug! The little extra touches, like fresh milk for drinks, breakfast when you want it and not at a set time, and just the loveliest hosts, make this place special. Loved it.

Room Tip: We had the beamed room which had a bath and had bags of character - the rooms at the other end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent a relaxing few days in this B&B and loved it. The bedrooms are gorgeous and comfy, David and Paul are friendly and helpful hosts, and the surrounding countryside is lovely. We would definitely recommend this place to others and will be returning there ourselves before long I'm sure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 798Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful and luxurious night at Poplars Farmhouse. David and Paul looked after us exceedingly well and even heated up our picnic and laid out their beautiful dining room table for us to enjoy. A beautiful setting and beautifully appointed house and rooms - a real treat and only 30 minutes down the road for us! Thanks also for the loan of the wellies so we could enjoy a relaxing walk to the village after a very tasty breakfast ..... and gave us gluten free toast to boot. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent some of the best weekends here during our trips to England. The people are very nice and friendly, we felt at home straight away ! The house is fantastic and the bedrooms absolutely wonderful . The food is superb ( there is a huge amount of choice for breakfast to suit everyone ) . The setting is lovely and quiet and we couldn't ask for any better! One thing's for sure , we will be back !
Marie and Benoit

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benoitfizir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
0.7 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
520 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.1 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
16.0 mi away
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
644 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse

Address: Poplars Farmhouse Poplars Farm Lane | Colchester, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District co6 4rt, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range: $96 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplars is a 17th century farmhouse tucked away in the heart of Constable Country. It is situated on its own in a very peaceful setting amongst fields and trees, yet only a short walking distance from the picturesque village of Stoke by Nayland. So why not escape from your usual life and experience this hidden gem of pure relaxation? We invite you to enjoy this beautiful ambiance and tranquility whilst at the same time offer you top quality luxury accommodation with comfort, homemade food to suit your diet, homely hospitality and being attentive to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing