We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food. Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We desperately needed a couple of nights away and The Crown turned out to be the perfect choice. The food was simply outstanding. The menu was interesting and everything was brilliantly cooked, we especially enjoyed the fish. We were also caught spending far too long browsing the excellent wine list! The situation of The Crown was perfect for us as we wanted to walk along the many lovely footpaths and routes which were all well signed. Overall a fantastic stay.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Annetrulove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. For a relaxing break with delicious food (and wine!) in the beautiful Suffolk countryside, we think like to that The Crown is hard to beat. For those interested in exploring the area on foot, the Box Valley Walk, part of the Stour Valley Path, goes past our door – maps are available from Reception or to download at dedhamvalestourvalley.org.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 507 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have been eating at this restaurant for a few years now. This is a venue that produces well executed plates consistently. If you are after imagination, this place is by no means at the cutting edge, however there are good balances of taste on the palate if you choose the correct dish.

I vistited yesterday and chose the Pheasant. The dish, in line with today's trends was cooked two ways; a roasted breast with a confit leg. The breast sat on a pillow of garlic mash, which could have done with a little more infusion of both butter and garlic. Interestingly it was surrounded by a broth which could have done with a little more seasoning, however the principle of plenty of sauce in a deep bowl was well thought out. The addition of chestnuts was classic and gave the dish the requisite bite. The addition of Dates added the needed sweetness which negated the need for a sweet sauce. The pheasant was well cooked and contained shot, which always adds to the veracity of the birds fate, which I quite like! The dish was served with an extra portion of mash which I found quite unnecessary, I left most of it.

The taste was comforting and appropriate for the time of year. The dish really hits the nail on the head for regionality and seasonality therefore achieves top marks in this category.

I liked this dish and would have it again, however I didn't fall in love with it. I am visiting again tonight, but the Phesant will have to wait until another time!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sustainablediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at The Crown in Stoke by Nayland on Saturday night 8th December 2012, what a gem of a place! The hotel receptionist, Nicola, was amazing when we made our reservations and although she was not on reception when we arrived her colleague was just as warm, helpful and friendly. The hotel was immaculately clean, was very warm and inviting on a freezing evening. An extremely well appointed bathroom and bedroom which even included fresh milk and home made biscuits to go with the tea and coffee making facilities in our room which was only delivered upon arrival. Food at the hotel was absolutely delicious, presentation was beautiful and the front of house staff and service was excellent in particular the restaurant manageress was bubbly and so helpful. This is one of those places where attention to detail has paid off and everyone is proud of their hotel and restaurant and enjoy being there serving their guests - we as guests certainly enjoyed every moment our stay was just not long enough! An amazing stay and we certainly were made to feel like royalty. Thank you to everyone at The Crown and we look forward to returning soon. Nick & Joy Laister

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyLaister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your glowing review. All my staff take great pride in the service they provide but it is always gratifying to know that their efforts are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed one night in December to celebrate my birthday. Room was lovely with a luxurey bathroom, with a power shower that delivered! Evening meal was delicious and we enjoyed a very hearty breakfast the following morning with the best toast I have ever had in a hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EntrepidEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Myself and some colleagues visited for a business meeting during the day, dinner and then a night in the hotel. The experience was excellent and I would certainly go back, whether it be again on business or for pleasure. The staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive. The food in the restaurant was superb and there is a great wine list. The hotel was also excellent with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJAB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Many thanks for your kind words. It’s good to know that our business guests can enjoy productive meetings at The Crown whilst also being able to relax and enjoy the food, wine and hospitality that we pride ourselves on. Our corporate packages allow for both day meetings and overnight stays and we are always happy to discuss individual requirements. We hope to welcome you back to The Crown in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed just for one night and our stay was faultless. Stayed on a deal for dinner bed and breakfast. Despite being very busy our meal was excellent and all the staff attentive. The room was first class with large shower room. All well appointed. Breakfast was superb with a wide choice of locally sourced ingrediants. Will be back for a longer break next time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent two nights here last weekend on a b&b + two course dinner deal. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a superior room on the first floor on arrival. The room was a reasonably large, double aspect room, with large comfortable bed, nicely decorated with quality fittings.The large bathroom was also fitted out tastefully, with bathsheets so large and fluffy we could barely manage them. Evening meal was taken in the large, busy pub restaurant. Being non meat eaters we stuck to the fish courses, which on each night was fresh and well cooked. Breakfast seemed odd, taking it in a pub, but the choices were fine, everything freshly cooked, with efficient service.

The area is quiet but convenient for so many tourist feature. Highly recommended for couples.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
1.4 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
12.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,147 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown, Stoke By Nayland

Address: Park Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range: $157 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown, Stoke By Nayland 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Stoke by Nayland, was reopened in November 2003 after extensive refurbishment. The boutique Hotel which took twelve months to build was launched in September 2008. The Crown Stoke by Nayland, an historic privately owned village Inn has a reputation for making everyone feel welcome - without pretension - simply a passion for high standards, good service, food, wine and real ale. To complete the picture a boutique Hotel has been created - eleven stylish luxury en-suite bedrooms individually designed and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Crown, Stoke By Nayland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Stoke By Nayland Hotel Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing