We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rostrenen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambres d'hotes Les Horizons
Ranked #1 of 3 Rostrenen B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent eight days here in August 2012 and are very glad we found it! Booking online was easy, at very reasonable rates and eight days for the price of seven, which was a bonus! It is a beautiful Breton house with stunning views, and Wendy and Mike were the perfect hosts and just couldn't do enough for us. Our room was well-furnished with a comfortable bed, and immaculate new en-suite shower room, and the Continental breakfasts went beyond the call of duty, with fresh fruit, home-baked muffins and English preserves on top of the usual French fare, and set us up until supper time, let alone lunchtime! We had dinner with Wendy and Mike one evening when the town's restaurants were closed, and they were excellent hosts, serving us a first-rate home-cooked French dinner and great conversation.

The only reason we marked 'sleep quality' down by one point was nothing to do with the property and not the fault of Wendy and Mike - on our first two nights there was a fair 100 yards downhill from the B&B, which was deafening until nearly 2.00 am, and defied all our efforts to block out the noise! For the rest of our stay it was calm and quiet, even when a family with young children arrived - they could be faintly heard but it wasn't distracting.

The property does lie near the top of quite a steep hill, and there is a flight of steps up to the front door. Walking back up from the town could possibly cause problems for anyone with limited mobility, although there is a convenient bench at the side of the road halfway up the hill! That said, it's an excellent B&B and we'd recommend it to any anyone. I'm old, cranky and fussy where I lay my head, and I'd go back there anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmgidley, Owner at Chambres d'hotes Les Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for a positive review; we're so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us!
It was unfortunate that the fair in town disturbed your sleep but we would like to emphasise to other potential guests that this kind of disruption is extremely unusual. Many of our guests have expressed surprise at the lack of noise here! For future reference, this fair is present in Rostrenen for 2 nights around 15th August every year.
I must also apologise because I think that I did not explain that shutting the volets (external shutters) might have helped to shut out some of the noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Worth the 2 mile uphill cycle from the Nantes-Brest canal to relax in this friendly house and enjoy a delicious meal and interesting conversation around the family table. The bedroom was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The house is at the top of a quiet street, so no external noise, though as with many B&Bs sound does travel a bit within the house. Breakfast of cereal, fruit salad etc and good choice of local bread. Having Marmite available a bonus.
If cycling from here along canal, book Wendy's good value packed lunches. There are very few cafes or shops actually on the waterside.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mathematica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmgidley, Owner at Chambres d'hotes Les Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments.
We find that many cyclists following either the Nantes-Brest canal or the Voie Vert book an evening meal on arrival, to avoid having to go out again having been active all day, and a packed lunch to take with them on the following day. We just ask that guests book these as far in advance as possible so that we can shop for fresh, local ingredients: by at least 10am on the day the evening meal is required and by 6pm the night before for a packed lunch the following day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Wendy and Mike were really kind and welcoming. And supper was excellent - especially the chocolate mousse! Breakfast a cut above the average continental offering - I could not have eaten more! Comfiest bed ever.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonG1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmgidley, Owner at Chambres d'hotes Les Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay.
We aim to offer a wide choice at breakfast so that guests of all nationalities feel that there is something for them - but guests are welcome to sample everything, if they want!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We arrived out of season 29th January 2012, with no booking. Fortunately Mike and Wendy were open and able to offer us a family room. They made use very welcome and we had a most comfortable stay.

They have just upgraded and now all rooms are ensuite, we were just about the first to stay here and the rooms are all tastefully decorated.

Continental breakfast is included and makes it very good value. Full english is available for extra cost. Evening meals are also available for an extra fee and are again good value.

Since my son is working in the town for 6 months we will likely visit again and this would our choice of place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmgidley, Owner at Chambres d'hotes Les Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind review.
We are open all year round except for a brief closure when we are away visiting family in the UK, so booking in advance is advisable but we welcome many guests who just 'turn up on the doorstep' and this is not a problem for us, provided we are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were large and spotlessly clean. Wendy and Mike were super hosts and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul-Lifeboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmgidley, Owner at Chambres d'hotes Les Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your positive review.
We aim to make guests feel like welcome friends as this is a small guest house and not a large, impersonal hotel. It's always nice to know that our efforts are appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My husband, my grandaughter and I stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The food was lovely and very varied. The family bedroom is a good size with a childs room adjacent ideal for us. We enjoyed wandering in the garden which is well kept and nicely planted. Rostrenen is an ideal centre to explore Brittany from and Wendy and Mike have plenty of information to hand to help find the best choices for days out. We shall certainly stay again.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
Thank Armitage34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmgidley, Owner at Chambres d'hotes Les Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Since your stay, we have upgraded all our rooms and in particular, the family room. Instead of a central room with double bed and two side-rooms adjoining each with a single, we have now knocked all three rooms into one and installed an ensuite bathroom which partially divides the room into two, with double bed at one end and two single beds at the other end. This retains some privacy between parents and children, adds the benefits of your own bathroom and means the single beds have better headroom than previously. We hope that this greatly improves the experience for families!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Wendy & Mike are very welcoming & helpful. We were trusted with a house key while Wendy was out so we could come & go as we pleased. Lovely clean room & facilities & a great French breakfast. Happy to recommend this b & b.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loonylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmgidley, Owner at Chambres d'hotes Les Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your review. We aim to make all our guests feel like welcome firends and therefore want them to feel that they can come and go at the times they choose.
We also offer an extensive breakfast so that guests have more choice and can vary their breakfast if they stay for more one than night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chambres d'hotes Les Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'hotes Les Horizons

Address: 29 rue le Hir, 22110 Rostrenen, France
Location: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Rostrenen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rostrenen
Price Range: $47 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming B&B situated close to local shops and restaurants yet in a tranquil location. Stunning views, comfortable rooms all with en suite facilities, hair dryer, free wi-fi access and tea / coffee making facilities. A generous continental breakfast is included in price; packed lunches, light suppers and gourmet evening meals also available. Special diets catered for. Children welcome, cot and highchair available free. Ideal location for holidays, house-hunting, hiking, biking, cycling, touring and exploring. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing