We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Leave a lot to be desired”
Review of Sauble Dunes

Sauble Dunes
Ranked #23 of 28 Restaurants in Sauble Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Food Leave a lot to be desired”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great place to go for watching a game or for karaoke, and have a drink, but food is no good. The wings are soggy and nothing is good - I have gone back thinking it was a bad day, but nope, its no good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    20
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We chose here after driving over to sauble beach for a look from our vacation property near wiarton. There was nothing much appealing about the area for us at all but the food here was more than acceptable and a similar price to what we'd paid elsewhere. My husband had the 2 piece fish in beer batter which was excellent. It was busy the evening we were there and the service was good. All round a positive experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OurFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
117 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average is the Key Word Here”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Where to start .. firstly the ladies washrooms were disgusting, always going to score low if you can't keep a place clean, menu very limited especially if you are vegetarian, no creativity , the pasta dish with vegetables was to be honest some of the worst food I have eaten, pasta a sticky liquid mess and tasteless, I had salad with chicken which was passable , just, service.. also kinda average,( I am tired, its hot I don't want to be here... type of service) ,the food is overpriced...
Bar area nice with a reasonable selection. Would not go back in a hurry. Sad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It looks like it might be good....but it's average”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ok, Sauble Beach is not really a fine dining destination. The main drag is dominated by burger joints and a Dairy Queen. That's why we were looking for something a bit better when we chose Sauble Dunes for lunch. It's located near the strip, and there's a parking lot, which is good because parking is a problem around here in the summer months. I wish I could say the service and food were good, but they were both sketchy. Who would think it would take 30 minutes for a club sandwich? The bread was supposed to be rye. I think it was multiple grain. The sale was supposed to be Greek, it consisted of some greens and a bit of feta drowned in what tasted like bottle dressing. Oh yes, I found a couple of sliced black olives after some digging. Two O'Douls, one club sandwich $28. No charge for the wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Disappointed after great recommendation”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

As a vacationer I heard the food at this Sauble Beach restaurant had improved with new ownership and brought friends from Owen Sound over to give it a try. Sad to say my Lake Huron whitefish was dry, overcooked, and quite tasteless. Please try to do something about this special local treat! Pasta was also over-oiled, other dishes forgettable. Restauranteurs - there is a real opportunity for a great little place in Sauble with so many summer visitors from foodie Toronto. Sad to say we would have been better going to Owen Sound or Southampton to eat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Veewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sauble Dunes also viewed

Sauble Beach, Bruce County
Sauble Beach, Bruce County
 
Sauble Beach, Bruce County
Sauble Beach, Bruce County
 
Sauble Beach, Bruce County
 

Been to Sauble Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing