We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sauble Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeview Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was our first time staying at Lakeview Motel and it was truly a wonderful experience!! The owners were incredibly nice and helpful with all our questions. The room was super clean. I would definitely recommend staying here anytime visiting Sauble Beach. We are definitely looking to come back next year. Also, the families that stay there were very friendly. My kids had a blast and made great friends!!! Until next year!!.

Louis and Maria

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hello Louis & Maria,
Thanks for your review of our facility and we are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us. Most kids have no problem making friends here (as well as the parents!) and the pool is always enjoyed by all. We look forward to seeing you next year and until then, enjoy the upcoming year. Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    16
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
53
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed at Lakeview with my three kids, my sister and her husband and son, and my parents over an extended long weekend in summer 2014. Randy and Gail made our stay unforgettable, from the easy walk to the beach to marshmallow roasting at their nightly bonfire to giving us great advice about excursions to take to Tobermory, Flowerpot Island and elsewhere in the vicinity. My kids had a total blast and loved every minute of it, as I did. Randy and Gail have strict policies about the kinds of guests they host, which contributes to the atmosphere of community and kindness at Lakeview. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJStoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hello IJ,
Thank you for the very kind review, we really appreciate it and were also happy to meet your entire family. Everyone we send on excursions comes back with some great stories which we also like to hear about! See you again next time and have yourselves a great year. Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Nice place to have a relax vacation. We enjoy the pool 2 times because the weather was bad.
Wi-Fi was bad the connection was coming and going, I spoke to another families and had the same issue I couldn't used at all. Overall is nice, clean and we would like to give another try to Sable Beach.
Some feed back it would be great if it was a light in the back were the BBQ's are, we start cooking late and end up eating in the dark ... it was fun anyways, but it would be great specially for kids to play they wanted to continue playing but it was too dark.
Gail and Randy were great and we love it that was quiet, safe for my daughter to be around without us worrying about it. We recommend the Motel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hi Silvana! Nice to hear back from you, thank you for your input. We're very happy to announce that our wifi situation has finally been resolved! On Thursday August 14, the new equipment was installed and the signal is strong and clear in all units, the back yard......all four corners of the property and then some. It's been a long wait (since my first contact with installers on July 9!). There's one big yard light which illuminates a large part of the yard, but not the entire area. Some guests like it 'not too bright', but we could install one in another area to help brighten things up. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves here in spite of the weather. The heated pool is a good back up for inclement days. Enjoy the rest of your summer and thanks again for your review. Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

They don;t even deserve a ONE Star.
We booked a Month in advance for a extremely important and special event and 48 hours before our arrival they call to tell us they gave our room away.
It was the only king size private with internet they have, I spent a entire morning researching to find this room.
Any he hung up on my husband when questioned.

Worse than bad, HORRID

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank SimonkaDollMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We realize that this booking & room choice was very important to you, however please don’t make it sound like you no longer had a room with us. Due a series of issues, we did have to make a decision to put another guest who is here for 4 nights from out of the country in the king unit which overlapped into the Friday night of your stay. We offered you some options…..a queen unit for both nights, the queen unit Friday night and the king on Saturday night, or the king unit we found for you at another motel. Room changes happen frequently in all motels/hotels & we only have 12 units to work with. At no time would we have left you with no accommodations. This decision was made at 6:45 am on Wednesday & then later in the day, the phone was disconnected only after your husband was insistent that we move the guest out of your unit and would not accept this decision. The second time was when he called back cursing & swearing. When we do have to make a room change, usually it is for the better and we receive a thank you for it, unfortunately this time it was not the case. This forum is not the place to discuss personal issues, however I did explain to you that I have been away on several occasions over the summer visiting & making arrangements for an immediate family member who is in palliative care since June and I am not able to be with her at a very difficult time. If we’re not at the top of our game regarding bookings and our usual high standards of customer service, for that I apologize. In our opinion, we did what we thought was our best to remedy a problem, but not to everyones satisfaction. Thank you for your understanding. Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

My family and I just returned from another great stay at Lakeview Motel & Cottages. Always a pleasure, an annual family tradition. Thankyou Gail & Randy for another awesome stay at your facility, you always make us feel welcome!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi Anne! Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Lakeview! As always, we especially enjoy the time spent during your visit & love to see the children each year. Enjoy the rest of your summer and see you next year!! Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

The pictures don't do the experience justice. Sauble Beach can be densely populated, noisy and crowded, this is a space, within walking distance of the action, that is QUIET, SAFE, PRIVATE and VERY CLEAN. Three families stayed together at the Lakeview, in three different rooms, we were all very pleased with the accommodations. The picnic tables and barbecues at the back of the property around the pool made it easy to financially and nutritionally control food intake during our vacation. We particularly liked the firepit for roasting marshmallows. I was thrilled that Gail and Randy police and protect their clients diligently.

Room Tip: Explain to Gail and Randy any special needs your loved ones may have and they would surely accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hi Marni & family, We also enjoyed meeting you & your entire family and being a part of your experience in our area. Always happy to hear how much you appreciated what we have to offer at our facility. So many guests mention the bonfire and marshmallows, what a tradition it's become. For those that don't want to eat out, the barbeques are such a good alternative. Your visit was on a very busy Civic Long Weekend, so we are diligent in keeping this space quiet and secure for our registered guests. Lots of regulars here that weekend with friendships re-visited and new ones made. Hope to see you all again! Enjoy the rest of your summer. Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hearst, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed at this motel and were there with our three kids for a three night stay. We were very disappointed with our choice of motel. Although Gail and Randy were very nice… the motel is old and run down. Our room was small and smelly and the toilet did not flush properly. We found earwigs in our room and one had even gone into the kids' suitcase on the floor. Will not be returning and would definitely not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Figaro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello Figaro family,
We are disappointed to hear that you were this dissatisfied with your stay at Lakeview. All the accommodator buildings in Sauble Beach are older, however many of our units are not original & the unit you occupied was completely renovated & newly decorated, right from the stud walls, in 2010. The washroom may be smaller than what one would like, but is all ceramic and very nice, while the unit itself is a corner unit and we feel not small at all. It is one of the most popular choices of our guests, both now & prior to the reno, being requested & occupied for most of the summer. Yes, the toilet wasn’t flushing properly at that time due to the flush mechanism, however it was replaced immediately after your stay. Things do break down and a simple repair is all that is required. If things are brought to our attention, we correct it as soon as possible. We have been very diligent with the control of earwigs, they are attracted to anything damp, especially wet towels. They were definitely worse earlier in the season, but until now we haven’t heard many comments about them. Unfortunately, we live in an area where all types of seasonal bugs are common. Perhaps you are lucky enough to live in an area where there are no insect pests. When we spoke on many occasions, we were under the impression that your family was enjoying themselves & utilizing the amenities we offer, especially the children in the pool. Our most important goal is to provide our guests with a fresh & clean unit as well has a happy & comfortable stay. Perhaps a larger, newer & branded hotel would have been your better choice, but unfortunately, there are none available in our immediate area. Thank you for your comments, & we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer. Regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauble Beach
0.6 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Sauble Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
16.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
10.7 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bel-Air Motel & Cottages Sauble Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel & Cottages

Property: Lakeview Motel & Cottages
Address: 625 Main St, Sauble Beach, Ontario N0H 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Sauble Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Main Street with the beach, restaurants & shopping all at your fingertips! Clean, spacious, and modern motel & cottage units. Rates include: inground heated pool, barbeques & picnic tables, play area, bon fire pit, badminton, parking...located in our beautiful, private setting. All units feature a/c, full size fridges, cable TV, WIFI, 4 pc bath, double,queen or king bed units. All units are smoke & pet free. We strive to provide a "vacation experience", not just a place to stay! Your hosts: Randy & Gail Porter ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeview Motel & Cottages Sauble Beach, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing