We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying close to the beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sauble Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeview Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cochrane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Staying close to the beach”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hi
July 25-27, 2013
We stayed at this motel & cottage establishment which provided a very small town freindly atmosphere. The owners were very kind and helpful.
This place also provides access to BBQ and heated pool as well. There is a grocery store across from the Motel and just a few minutes walk to Sauble Beach. It was great.

We'll go back next year.

Room Tip: request room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Howard,
Thanks from both of us for taking the time to write your review. Always happy to hear when our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay. We also enjoyed meeting you both and helping to make your trip to our area more enjoyable. Enjoy the rest of the summer and hope to see you again! Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    16
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
53
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The first time my husband and I spent the weekend at the Lakeview motel was in 1995. We were so impressed with the warm welcome of the owners of the motel, the cleanliness of the hotel and grounds, the pool and hot tub were an added bonus. We loved it so much that we stayed at Lakeview Motel for our Honeymoon. The summers to follow we brought all our family members to experience this home away from home atmosphere so close to the beach and everything else is so close too. The new owners Gail and Randy were just as amazing as the previous owners of the motel if not better. They made us feel like old friends they were great with our kids always smiling and so pleasant. We've always highly recommended Lakeview Motel to all our family and friends for an amazing time in Sauble Beach. Call and reserve your week or weekend at Lakeview motel you will NOT be disappointed. We are so happy to celebrate Sauble Beach as one of our family summer traditions at LAKEVIEW MOTEL.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Jen M & family! Thanks so much for sharing your long time connection to Lakeview and Sauble Beach. Many visitors are making the summer visit to this area a tradition, just like yourselves! It is a part of the business we especially enjoy, reconnecting every year with guests who find the area so appealing. Thanks again and we'll see you soon. Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I entered town on June 12th, 2013, via County Rd 8/Queen Street and continued to Main St., and there it was on the right, the Lakeview Motel and Cottages. We made our reservations via the Internet and understood that we were considerably PRE-Season, but were greeted with a lake view and much personal warmth, right off!

This property on Main Street is at the top of the hill about an 8 minute walk to the beach. Our accommodation was a two bedroom cottage (which is really a larger motel room with a verandah), which would accommodate 6 persons). Having visited their website, we were aware of the Rules & Regulations of the this section of the property and found them to be entirely reasonable (provide your own linens). Gail takes pains to give renters an 'original' cottage experience by haunting garages sales and antique shops for 'vintage' local cottage tchochkis and memorabilia. While the 'cottage' is in need of some updating, the owners, Gail and Randy, are in the process of doing just that. They made us feel like old friends, and provided us with a sparkling pool and use of a hot tub(which is being upgraded/replaced as we speak), comfortable lounges in the pool area, tucked in and sheltered by mature maples trees on 2 sides and the Motel/Cottages on 2 sides.

The 'Guest Lounge' offered Wi-fi , so we could keep up with our email During the Summer Season I understand that the signal is boosted and you can enjoy your computer connection at your own cottage. Cottages are individually air-conditioned and have electric heat for times when the weather is cool. Flat-screen TV was available with a fair range of stations on offer.

There are propane Barbecues available for use (you provide your own tools and do basic cleanup) and a fire-pit is put out in the early evening(after 7:00 p.m.) which encourages socializing and the campfire experience.

This little oasis is within walking distance to the Dairy Queen, Subway sandwich shop, The Gift Bowl (a converted bowling centre), the Sauble Dunes Restaurant and Bar(who's parking lot was previously the 'roller rink!'), and various clothing and surf shops. There is also an art gallery, grocery store and LCBO extremely handy. On the beach there are more food outlets, including hand-dipped ice cream, Beavertails and a burger joint.. All round wonderful location!

Room Tip: Morning sun comes in most windows. Farther off the road is quietest. Late afternoon sun hits ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 155020dissapointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hello folks! Thank you for taking the time to post a nice, detailed review for future visitors to Lakeview. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as catching up on places unseen for so many years. We always say that as much as Sauble Beach has changed, it still remains so much the same! Our seasonal business has received many upgrades and improvements and continues to do so each & every year (can't believe this is our 10th anniversary!). We look forward to seeing you again in August when you return for another visit. Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband, 14-year / 10-year old daughter and I decided to stay at the Lakeview Motel & Cottages for 2 nights from Fri Aug 31 to Sat Sept 1st, 2012. This was our second time staying in a motel in less then a month as we were in Tobermory for the Aug long weekend. Let's just say ... this motel stood out!

We were impressed with the cleanliness and attention to detail. We used all the facilities during our 2 night stay: propane barbecues (utensils supplied if rqd), roasted marshmallows on the evening bonfires, the pool facilities (immaculate), badminton, free wi-fi, and a full size fridge/freezer. Cable TV is also available. You can tell that Randy and Gail take pride in providing their guests with a great holiday experience. I love the attention to detail; everything from the recycling bins, the hand made Lakeview booklet (tourist guide) to the hand made fridge magnet they give you as a send off gift. Randy and Gail work very hard. They are up early cleaning the motel and in bed late by the time they close the pool and bonfire.

The motel is located on the Main Street in a central area that is just far enough away from the beach where you don't have the evening noise and yet, central enough to walk to the beach within 5 minutes. We never used our vehicle during our stay and walked everywhere. The motel was well organized, clean and modern.

I would highly recommend this motel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Sauble Beach. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LorraineMike_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Lorraine & Mike, Thank you for your review after your stay with us last Labour Day weekend and our apologies for the late response! Your comments and appreciation of our facility as well as acknowledgement of our work is very important to us. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both & your daughters and are looking forward to seeing you again this Labour Day weekend!
Until then, have a great summer! Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband, 8-year old son and I stayed at the Lakeview Motel from Tues. Aug. 21 to Fri. Aug. 24, 2012. We had a great time. We had stayed at this motel many times before my son was born and this was our first time back.

This visit was especially good for the following reasons:

Our room was recently renovated and very comfortable and clean.

It's like a time machine. There is a pool, hot tub, 5 propane BBQ's and picnic tables. There is a full size fridge in the front portion of each room along with a table and chairs. The sheets are all hung and dry in the sunshine. Things haven't changed in 20 years plus.

Sauble Beach and Sauble Falls Provincial Park are both still beautiful and lots of fun. My son loved exploring and swimming the numerous waterfalls the best.

We will definitely be coming back to this area and staying at this motel again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Teena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hi Teena & Family,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your stay with us. We too enjoyed meeting you and your family, and especially sharing stories of your earlier visits to Lakeview before we purchased the business. It's nice to reminisce and share memories of the Smith family and what great folks they were! They initiated some great features, which of course we have continued, so along with the updating, renovating, & improvements, we think it's better than ever! We look forward to seeing you next year! Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The beach is great and the town is loaded with fun things to do. While there are many cottages in the area to rent, this place has a lot of extras. The firepit and grilles and picnic tables in the yard are a very nice touch. I have never seen a more nicely maintained pool. The wifi was also really i,portant to me. Then to top it all off Randy and Gail, the host, were always very helpful in pointing you in the right direction to do other things on the Bruce Peninsula.

Room Tip: The cottages are really nice if you like to dine in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hi Thomas,
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Lakeview! We also thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and also our frequent conversations and time spent throughout the week. It was interesting hearing you reminisce about your time in Sauble Beach so many years ago and reacquainting yourself with the area.......and also showing it to Blanca for the first time! We hope to see you again in your future travels and be included in your plans to return to our area. Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Ontario Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Being a frequent visitor to Sauble Beach, our family has visited many of the accommodations in the area and found Lakeview to be the best by far. The cottages are comfortable and have all the necessities required for a homey stay. We have also stayed in the motel and found the rooms to be quite nice. The newly renovated rooms are gorgeous and a lot of consideration went into the renovations to make them more comfortable and up-to-date. Nice job guys!!!
Randy and Gail (the owners) are more than pleasant and offer many ideas of things to do while maintaining our privacy to enjoy our stay.
We just returned from our 3rd year stay in the cottage and can't wait for our return trip next summer.
My teenage kids are treated with respect and love staying at Lakeview...the Wi-Fi is a hit!
The pool is perfect temperature and the hot tub is very relaxing at night. The area is kept spotless with all new tables, chairs and umbrellas. The surrounding backyard is very nicely maintained and they offer many outdoor activities such as badminton, bocceball, horseshoes and an awesome nightly fire to meet new people and roast marshmallows.
We love that everything is within walking distance including the beach.
Thanks Randy and Gail for another awesome week!
Trevor, Kathleen, Alex and Cole

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hi Kathleen, Trevor, Alex & Cole,
We both thank you for your wonderful review regarding our facility, and would like to also say that you are a pleasure to accommodate year after year! Each summer, we look forward to your stay and catching up on what the previous year had in store for you. The week goes by very quickly, and here we are at the end of August already. Enjoy the rest of the season and see you next year! Sincerely, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauble Beach
0.6 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Sauble Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
16.4 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
10.7 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bel-Air Motel & Cottages Sauble Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel & Cottages

Property: Lakeview Motel & Cottages
Address: 625 Main St, Sauble Beach, Ontario N0H 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Sauble Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Main Street with the beach, restaurants & shopping all at your fingertips! Clean, spacious, and modern motel & cottage units. Rates include: inground heated pool, barbeques & picnic tables, play area, bon fire pit, badminton, parking...located in our beautiful, private setting. All units feature a/c, full size fridges, cable TV, WIFI, 4 pc bath, double,queen or king bed units. All units are smoke & pet free. We strive to provide a "vacation experience", not just a place to stay! Your hosts: Randy & Gail Porter ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeview Motel & Cottages Sauble Beach, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing