We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average place”
Review of Sauble Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sauble Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“average place”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

It is quite spacious. We were on the 2nd floor and could hear people on the 3rd floor walking around. Some nights there was loud partying even after 11PM. Nice pool with slide and diving board, close to the beach. A bit far from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famvacMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    14
    3
    19
See reviews for
85
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

.we were there for 3 nights . it was a very convenient location block away from the beach. it has a very nice and clean outdoor pool. the motel was very clean . we had checked many motels around that area and this was the best . i would recommend this location and motel to everyone .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoJohngill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
270 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Terrible place. Terribly run business. Terrible waste of a great location.

First clue: when we called to book, the owners made a rate up out of the blue, and didn't even know what each other had told us. Second clue: that rate exceeded the maximum allowed for the room, as posted on the door (under the Innkeeper's Act, each hotel/inn/motel room has a card on the door stating its maximum rate allowed, to prevent gouging!).

We had rented a cabin because our dog was permitted there. But the cabin was a tiny, mildewy, disgusting hole in the wall. Carpet from the 70's, beds from the 60's, bathroom added on with cinderblocks (the lightswitch is an outdoor switch, with huge gaps between it and the electrical box).

The full (not even double) beds had sheets full of holes and stains. There were no towels in the bathroom, no glasses, no hangers, no nothin'. There was a bar fridge that we were scared to open. It was plugged into the only outlet in the room via old extension cords. This constitutes a cabin?

No screens on the windows except one tiny window above the beds, so we only had that to ventilate the moldy smell out. The front door had no screen option. Unfortunately that was open towards the bikers in the next cabin, who were up until 3am partying - that despite all the signs that said "no noise after 11pm".

The absolute worst came in the middle of the night when the room on the other half of the cabin was rented to 3 or 4 drunk college guys, who stormed in, slammed doors and furniture, and carried on for an hour, before heading back out. They returned at 6am, left again at 7:30am, still loud, still drunk, but having showered and used up all the hot water.

So no sleep, no showers, no point to spending $160 for a night in this place. What a horrid experience - by far the worst place we've ever stayed in our travels anywhere. A beach town like Sauble -- and a location like this, just a block from the lake -- is wasted when hoteliers don't put anything into their establishments or protect their clientele.

Up, outta there, we tracked down the owner. After some weak attempts to blow us off, he refunded us roughly 20% of our night's charge.

Maybe the suites and motel rooms are okay, but I'd be completely surprised, This place is being run into the ground, by its owners and its customers. Absolutely appalling.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McMarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2009

1st, I would like to thank Jas and Jessica for there outstanding hospitality while we stayed at there Lodge. The 1 bedroom suite with a kichen was the cleanest room i have ever stayed in. The housekeeping each day was consistant and very thorough. For one of the 1st times I had found that everything from the T.V. to the air conditioning to the refridgerator , to the coffe maker , to the shower, to the toaster and so on ( you know what I am getting at) worked absolutely great. The pool was clean and maintained daily! I just can't say enough about how impressed I was with the overall service and condition of the room. I liked it so much that I have already booked for next year for another week!!
Great job Jas , Jessica and all your help. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!! I WILL TELL MY FRIENDS TO GO FOR SURE!!!

THANKS FOR MAKING MY HOLLIDAYS GREAT

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobtheBlindman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We visited sauble beach in July long weekend. The place is very clean and close to the beach and they have a huge pool. My room had separate family room with it the staff is very nice the place was full still we did not hear any noise we really enjoyed it i would recomed this place.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

We had a terrible experience with Sauble Lodge! We booked a two night stay at this so called "suite" sight unseen from Toronto. When we arrived we asked to see this suite & we were shocked at what we saw. The rooms were dirty, smelly & very run down. We had a 6 months pregnant woman & three small children in our party & told the owners we could not stay in those conditions. They went ahead & charged us for the first night anyway, even though we had to look & did find other cleaner accommodations.

  • Liked — Close to the beach
  • Disliked — The filth & the bad odour
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank beachlover019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

It's very run down and dirty and there's a horrible smell in some rooms and stairwells. Water was not available at times for bathrooms ect. Worst of all, if you have booked it sight unseen and showed up to find the conditions too third-world-like for your liking, they will not insist on charging for the first night - no exceptions - even when you go elsewhere.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — odour, filth
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windsoront714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauble Beach
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
135 reviews
10.5 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
338 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina
0.6 mi away
Bel-Air Motel & Cottages Sauble Beach
1.8 mi away
Sauble River Marina and Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sauble Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauble Beach Lodge

Property: Sauble Beach Lodge
Address: 213 Second Ave North, Sauble Beach, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Sauble Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sauble Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sauble Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauble Beach Hotel Sauble Beach
Sauble Beach Lodge Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing