We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy, but a good place to stay close to the Beach”
Review of Sauble Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sauble Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy, but a good place to stay close to the Beach”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Last month, we stayed here on a visit to Sauble Beach. It was less pricey then some of the other motels and said it was a short walk to the beach. I had read some reviews and thought this one might be a gamble but we thought we would take our chances.

CUSTOMER SERVICE
We had heard some mixed reviews about the service, but when we got there they were so nice! Very accomodating and pleasant.

ROOMS
The rooms are nothing fancy. They were a bit small. The bathroom was tiny and didn't have a door, but a pull curtain instead. We did notice the musty smell in the hall, but in the room we didn't smell it. It looks like they are working on renovations bit by bit. Our room had a new fridge and tv, but some of the other stuff was outdated.

LOCATION
When we got there we were a bit disappointed with how far it was to the main strip (about 15 min walk) however extremely delighted with how close it was to the beach. To get to the beach is about a 1-2 minute walk and you get to enjoy the beach without all the crowds of the main strip area. We went there to see the sunset and it was stunning!

PRICE
Although it was cheaper then the other ones in the area, it was still expensive for what you get. However, it wasn't too bad of a place.

While this place is nothing fancy, if your looking to save a bit of money and be close to the beach, this is the place for you. However being such a far walking distance from the strip and the rooms not being fantastic, next time I think we will try out one of the other motels first.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrismedia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    14
    3
    19
See reviews for
85
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Nice Motel and really close to the beach! The staff was friendly and accommodating, the outdoor pool was clean, and the room was good (ours had a fridge and microwave which was great for snacking!). Just a short walk to the beach and a few minutes walk to Main St. We highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

we really enjoyed the stay, the owners are very very polite , we were at a room but we could set a fire at one of the cottages that wasnt being used, and they joined us with marshmellows we walk to the beach just 100 feet ,the pool is big and clean , im going allways there now .

Room Tip: best view room 46 or 48
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sylvie647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

we are from the city and the accomodations were oustanding in pacing us for the cottage country , our children were very pleased and entertain with their great amenities their, and myself and my wife were able to enjoy a stressed free mini vacation , thank you and we will see you again through out the summer and definitely next year , thanx again and love the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justin013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2010

we were planning to go to sauble beach and we booked sauble beach lodge for the first time.The motel was fully booked at that time. The room which we stayed in was recently renovated. It was very clean and spacious.The great thing about this lodge its location. Its just two minute walk to the beach, with two small kids 4 and 6 years old it was very easy to walk to the beach without talking their stroller. The kids enjoyed a lot at the pool also it was very clean with a slide and a diving board. The owners were very friendly and kind even when they are so busy they helped us in fixing the wireless internet.The other great thing about this motel is its recently opened restaurant which serves fast food and great Indian food too !! All in all it was a motel worth spending money for. We are coming next year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Sauble Beach Lodge, a 60s-style motor lodge taken over 2/3 years ago, continues on an upward trend - carpets replaced since last year, and the restaurant is now open, serving great morning breakfasts and also Canadian or Indian meals in the evening. We took advantage of both!

Location of course is still amazing - 2 minutes walk to the best beach in Ontario - and there is now also a rural internet hotspot, so absolutely no issues if you need to stay connected while staying there (the hosts are happy to share their own connection just in case). It is 5 mins walk away from the main street , so is also quiet in the evening/night for sleeping.

Our kids again enjoyed the great pool, with diving board and water slide.

Our 2nd year running there and we will back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank two2brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

book in advance to avoid disoppointment. they were fully booked at the time of our visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p_verma038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauble Beach
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
135 reviews
10.5 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
338 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina
0.6 mi away
Bel-Air Motel & Cottages Sauble Beach
1.8 mi away
Sauble River Marina and Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sauble Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauble Beach Lodge

Property: Sauble Beach Lodge
Address: 213 Second Ave North, Sauble Beach, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Sauble Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sauble Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sauble Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauble Beach Hotel Sauble Beach
Sauble Beach Lodge Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing