We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naze Marine - sunshine and smiles! (And boring bingo!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have just returned from this park. I went with my 3 children (aged 7 and 5). The kids had a fabulous time! The entertainment team worked exceptionally hard! The swimming pool was clean and warm! (A rare find in a holiday park!) The surroundings were kept clean and tidy too! About a 5-7 minute walk to a gorgeous sandy beach! The restaurant was good value and lovely food too!
My only gripes were the price of drinks. (£5 for a cider!) and the kids drinks were overpriced too. (And they only served slush puppy type drinks or fizzy drinks).
The other thing i felt was a little bit unfair was that there was bingo every night at 7. with only around a total of an hour of kids entertainment after that . And during tje bingo the kids are expected to sit quitely!! Thats not fair in my opinion! Perhaps bingo could be earlier or only on 1 or 2 particular nights. That alone would make me think twice about returning.
We rented our caravan from a friend so cant comment on the condition of Park Resorts own vans.
In all, a nice break with the kids...minus the bingo!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tripletrouble09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 676 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We paid a lot of money for a Gold six berth Static Caravan, we arrived early and had a look around the Vans were very tightly packed in. The entertainmant complex, looked tired, and shabby, quite small, but with a reasonable Pool. On entering our accomodation, it had a stale musty smell, we started to unload our cases, only to find a Black mould in the main bedroom, on the walls, in the wardrobe, under the bed, on the cutains, a missing toilet panel, with exposed pipes, shabby, smelly couch, missing pictures, and a dirty kitchen area. This was a Gold Standard caravan, if think not.After complaining and 2 and half hours later, we got three options, chemical cleaning, move to another park or go home. Totally unsympathic staff, at every level, they just couldn't careless. Not one apology, not one offer of help. All the Staff were totally uncaring. Would you let your family stay in those disgusting conditions. I didn't, we left, having travelled over two and half hours, with a distress wife and kids. If this is how Park resorts, Naze Marine treats it's customers, they will have very little repeat business. I for one will not be using Park resorts again.

Room Tip: Please be aware of old stock, being passed of a GOLD STANDARD ACCOMODATION.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

HI Adrian,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here, I apologise if you feel that the team were unhelpful, on your visit to reception with your initial concerns the Holiday sales team immediately went through all the correct procedures to try and help you, by sending the accommodation manager to help you and thoroughly check your accommodation, I do believe this was within a 15 minute timescale, according to our records, also after you refusing to let us re clean your unit the only other option was to try and find you alternative accommodation at one of our sister parks as we were fully booked on this occasion, again this was not suitable to you and your family which is why I understand that you chose to go home.

I apologise if you found any of the team here unhelpful as our customer services are of paramount importance and all the staff have regular re-training courses.

Naze Marine
01255 682 410

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had been to The Naze 3 times before and loved Walton on the Naze so much, we couldn't wait to go back.. We saved all our vouchers from a well known super market for a year, then paid an extra £200 + for gold plus accommodation... When we finally arrived to our caravan, we were horrified, NOT the standard we had expected or had ever stayed in before... To say that it was basic would be an understatement! just 2 brown benches and a tiny tv in the corner... nothing on the walls, no coffee table , in fact no niceties at all, which you'd expect from gold standard ... When we complained we were told that we could have our money back. ( not sure about the vouchers). We could not go back home as we had just traveled for 4 hrs via trains, tubes and taxi's. My daughter also suffers with special needs, so would not have coped with this option. we were then told we could go to clacton, but would have to pay another £200 +, also not an option. so we just had to grin and bear it! made worse by the fact that we could see by all the other caravans with their doors open, that we were indeed discriminated against! To say that we were disappointed would be a massive understatement.. Insulted is another word i would use! Sad because we love Walton on the Naze so much, but feel that we can never go back. being such a small place, The Naze Marine is the only resort. I've since contacted the company and they refuse to admit that we were wronged . I've stayed in enough caravans to know that we were indeed . you just have to log on to their web site to see the photo's they have our a FAR cry from the ones that i have. very interesting viewing indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nannyMcfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had 4 night stay here, accommodation was OK providing you don't mind bed springs in your back all night. My grand daughter called her bed the titanic because everytime she moved so did her bed and she felt as if she was about to fall out! The beds were very small not really big enough for anyone over the age of 10. Apart from that the accommodation was good. We had 2 loos, which was a nice surprise as usually 3 bed caravans only have 1. The only other problem (for us) was the distance from the entertainment centre. It was lovely and quiet but a good 15 minute walk to centre (a bit much especially if it had rained or if you were elderly) . The beach was only 5 minutes away which was very good,a sign post would have helped though. We didn't find the shop until 2 days into holiday - again better signs would help. The restaurant was abysmal. The food was expensive, and took ages to arrive - usually cold. Having said that on our last day we ordered ham salad sandwiches and they arrived on a warm plate and the salad only consisted of lettuce and cucumber (no tomato, onion, pepper, etc). On one occasion we waited over an hour from paying for the food to receiving it and on two occasions they got the order wrong - no apology when this was pointed out and no apology for lateness of serving food. The tables were usually dirty - had sauce stuck to them or wrappers or liquid on them - just not cleaned between customers. This resulted in the children missing the early evening entertainment so their entertainment started at about 8pm - after adult bingo!!! I think this was designed so the children would be taken to the arcade (to spend more money) . The swimming pool was clean (ish) but not great it was quite small bearing in mind the size of the park - so easily over crowded, The lockers had no keys so clothes, towels etc had to be left unattended at side of pool. Also 2 of my grandchildren wanted to do the water walkerz but when I tried to book it was told it was fully booked (1pm to 2pm). We went in to the restaurant (adjacent to pool area) at 1.40 and there was no sign it had ever been on - we asked a pool attendant to be rudely told 'That's finished' when we said we were told it was fully booked from 1-2 he was ever ruder and said ' well its finished now - we had to clean the pool' The playground area wasn't great either - quite dirty and shabby looking. I doubt if I will be returning to this park.

Room Tip: Choose the best caravan you can afford .Don't have high expectations you might be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexGrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My sister and I decided to make a booking to this campsite as when we were children we had a caravan on this site. We wanted the trip to be a bit of a trip down memory lane! We called just before our arrival to confirm use of a cot and was told that there had been a fire and that all the equipment had been lost in the fire. Not a good start!

Upon arrival we were allocated a caravan across from the clubhouse. The caravan was very dirty and poorly located for having a small baby with us, the incredibly loud music from the clubhouse meant that we had a terrible night sleep.

We visited Reception the following morning and lodged our complaints with regard to the cleanliness of the caravan and the noise level. Both of which were met with the offer of a reclean by the site staff as the Receptionist informed us that our caravan had unfortunately not had an inspection before our stay and in regard to the music that she would ensure that the noise levels would be monitored. We also asked for a plug as the kitchen sink did not have one.

We visited the town of Walton throughout the day and returned to the caravan to find it in the state we had left it. That night we experienced the same difficulties with regard to the music.

The following day we visited the Reception and once again lodged our complaints and also asked for the plug. Several hours later and after two further visits to the Reception a member of the site staff visited the caravan but did not have the right size plug and so recommended that we stuff the plughole with tissue. We suggested that he perhaps visit one of the caravans for sale and find a plug. He returned some time later with one. Although a minor request this had become a very irritating and frustrating situation.

The only positives that I would like to mention are the pool staff who ran the extra activities - they made them fun for the children. The pool is also a great addition to the site.

Overall, the time we spent in Walton was fab and it was lovely to visit it but I would strongly recommend not staying on this site. The staff were unhelpful and the caravan was basic and dirty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtducker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here, unfortunately we did lose a lot of our stock, however we restocked quite quickly. I can only apologise for the delay in revisiting your accommodation, I was informed that the housekeeping visited you within the hour of reporting your issues.

The accommodation you stayed in was a new model bronze so I am concerned that you found this too basic for your needs.

With regards to the noise levels we do have a maximum limit that the noise can reach then it will cut out, I would maybe suggest that you mention that you have a young baby at time of booking so we can locate you to a quieter area of the park.

I do hope that you will visit us again to reassure you and your family of our usual high standards

Naze Marine
01255 682 410

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was a nice caravan site, the staff were very efficient, polite and helpful. We booked this holiday through the Sun vouchers scheme. It did end up costing quite a bit more, once you add on the charges for utilities, passes and an upgrade (previously on sun holidays we have always had rubbish caravans with the basic price and we did not want to take a chance this time). We were a bit sceptical when we pulled up to the caravan, as we had upgraded to Gold and from the outside it looked a bit tired, the grass was full of weeds, there was a flower pot that was waterlogged and had weeds and an abundance of cigarette butts, these were also around the floor/grass. But when we opened the door the caravan was quite nice inside. On the downside, the shower door didn't shut properly, toilet seat was wobbly and the bathroom blind was rolled up on the side, but these were not major problems. The rest of the caravan was fine, good storage space and it was clean. Facilities at the camp were good, the kids entertainers were very good with the kids, they were dull of energy. But the adult entertainment was rubbish, apparently we went the week before high season so the good acts hadn't started, even though we'd been charged an extra supplement for high season. We have been going to Walton-on-the-Naze for years, the beaches are lovely, the rides on the pier are good for small children, and plenty of places to get all kinds of food. Lily's bakers also have really lovely bread/rolls etc, but they do shut early, normally because the are sold out. There is also a shop called Essex Glam on the opposite corner to Tesco's, they sell some nice ladies clothes/bags at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post you review on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to read that the staff were polite and helpful.
Please accept my apologies for the faults in your bathroom, I will ensure to have these issues resolved, however, I'm pleased to hear that the rest of the unit was up to you standards.I am concerned that it was untidy outside of the unit, I have spoken to the team concerned and will make sure that this will not happen again.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

After staying at most butlins,pontins and other caravan sites its always a joy to come back to essex mainly for the weather (its always hot perfect for some roof down drives along clacton or walton)
Although clacton is the main spot dont overlook staying here as walton is just as nice it has small pier with good rides all under cover great for under 7's, quiet village with nice shops and great chip shop in the centre
Beach is 10/10 and at the rear of site so easy 1 minute walk

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldbcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
It’s a pleasure to see returning guests, I agree that Walton has a lot to offer away from the hustle and bustle of the bigger towns!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Naze Marine Holiday Park: 01255 682 410

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walton-on-the-Naze
7.0 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
5.5 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
593 reviews
6.1 mi away
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - ...
#10 of 15 in Clacton-on-Sea
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Pa...
#14 of 15 in Clacton-on-Sea
847 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Albion Public House
The Royal Albion Public House
#3 of 5 in Walton-on-the-Naze
44 reviews
1.6 mi away
Uplands Guest House
Uplands Guest House
#2 of 2 in Frinton-On-Sea
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Hall Lane, Walton-on-the-Naze CO14 8HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Walton-on-the-Naze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Walton-on-the-Naze
Price Range: $11 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for an amazing time at Naze Marine! Watch the boats come in on the Naze and enjoy the superb views from the Park. Facilities include heated indoor pool with children's splash pool and adventure playground. Holiday price included beds made up for your arrival, entertainment passes and access to facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Hotel Walton-On-The-Naze
Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts Walton-On-The-Naze, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing