We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts
A TripAdvisor Member
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We knew we weren't going to get a 5* holiday having booked via the Sun holiday promotion at the end of season but we didn't expect such poor service, choice and cleanliness of communal areas. The van was basic but expected (one bulb in a bedroom wasn't working but we swapped it for one in the corridor we could live without). The pull out bed in the lounge was odd with bits of cushion to lay on abit of mdf board but we worked it out eventually. Communal areas looked tired and scruffy. A lot smaller than we expected especially the changing rooms in the pool - there are only 3! End of season visits and you know the entertainment won't be as full on as high season but we thought we'd get more than half hour of the rabbit mascot. A few silly dances some innuendos whilst 'conversing' with the entertainment host and we were glad our children are all under the age of 4. The restaurant staff couldn't raise a smile between them and the entire menu was reduced in choice but you didn't know this until you ordered and the 'chef' popped his head out of the kitchen and told you your choice wasn't available. We ordered macaroni cheese for two of the children and literally 1 min later this white slop appeared in the middle of an adult size plate. It was clearly tinned/packet stuff and not a piece of greenery in site - even a few slices of cucumber would have improved things. It was very poor quality for all the meals and even worse value for money.
The surrounding areas are your usually seaside entertainment and coast walks etc which would be fun if you rely on the weather!
All in all, having been on quite a few Sun promo holidays, this was the worst and we won't be visiting Naze Marine again and probably would think twice about any Park Resort venue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to provide a review of your stay at Naze Marine. As the General Manager of the park I would like to think that we provide the same level of service whatever the time of year. My team are aware of my expectations on this and your comments have been most helpful to me. We receive lots of positive reviews of our park and we want to take the standards that our customers want, and deliver them consistently on our park. That is why comments such as yours are so very important to us. We do listen and I’m sure that should you decide to holiday with us again you will see our usual high standards being delivered. Thanks once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    180
    81
    62
    82
See reviews for
474
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at the Naze marine resort at 13:30 on Friday to be greeted by a friendly receptionist who took us through the paperwork handed us the key and pointed out to us where our caravan was sited on the supplied map, we had chosen a gold plus and we were 5 adults, so we had spare space. On arriving at the caravan we were very surprised as it look and was brand new or within a couple of months. it had double glazing, central heating (radiator in each room and toilet of which there were 2 and a large shower and a good level of comfort, not bad for just over a hundred pounds for 2 nights for 5 adults. We were at the edge of the site over looking the naze meadow so were also near an exit as we as being away fro the club house. To get to the caravan we drove down a tarmacked road and had a car parking place off the road on a hard standing. The van was warn and comfortable and every thing worked as it should and kept out the cold and wet weather which lasted for some time at the weekend especially on the Sunday when we left. Thanks naze marine for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Great bargain at the end of the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks for your great feedback. We do try very hard to ensure that we provide standards of accommodation and facilities that exceed our customers expectations and its so nice to hear from guests who have really enjoyed their stay. Hopefully see you back at the park in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

we had a bronze caravan but that doesnt mean that we should have to put up with filthy bedding a oven were the door fell off and the gas hobs go out every 2 minutes filthy mouldy taps and windows the toilet leaked there was no heating and to get into the caravan u had to swim ur way threw muddy puddles ,we also had a disabled person with us when i went to reception to complain about the above problems the lady was snappy rude and un helpful .she did say they would put sand down but that nerver happend and as for the oven door they didnt put it back on so was with out a oven to cook in .the entertainment block was so tiny no room to sit down and the kids entertainment was rubbish compared to others ive been to ,they were late starting and when the bunny did appear it was for five minutes of photos and than onto bingo it was all about the bingo ,the staff were grumpy probley because one bar maide to serve everyone and no one in the arcades except for security guards who didnt have the key to any off the machines which kept taking your money which was annoying for the kids when there two pences kept getting stuck ,as for the pool, it looked minging so didnt even go and risk swimming in it .the best part off are holiday was escaping the caravan park and visitng clacton ,colchester and the beach down the road .i will nerver visit this park again even if they let us stay for free infact its put me off staying with a parks resort ever ! next time i will try haven ,really disappointed in the whole place especially the staff there only helpful if u are a private owner how this park got four star rating i will nerver no because even the entertainment complex and the arears around the caravans are drab i think the people giving amazing reviews on here need there eyes testing .And another thing the beds were dangerous springs coming through the mattress

Room Tip: dont go and if you do caravan 194 is disgusting and the brown haired lady on reception is rude impol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishgreeneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Walton-on-the-Naze hotels

Herts
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We came away on a Sun holiday, but paid for an upgrade as I have a pet hair allergy. This was well worth it as the 'silver' caravan was clean and not a trace of hair. The park staff and the residents of the local area were very polite and friendly. The staff were always happy to fulfil our, sometime obscure, requests. All this far outweighs the dated design of the park. Perhaps this is in keeping with the general feel and ambience of Walton in general, which is certainly part of its charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay at Naze Marine, Tim. Walton on the Naze is a very special place and I’m so pleased to hear that you found it to have charm. I’m delighted that you liked our park and you found your accommodation to be clean and as you would expect. I will certainly pass your comments on to the team who really do make an effort to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we went to the Naze Marine holiday park with the 'sun' newspaper, we booked an 8 berth caravan and werent expecting it to be brilliant but on arrival found it to be lovely, it was a nearly new caravan, very clean, had heating in every room and even a heated towel rail in the bathroom. the kitchen was spotlessly clean with a kettle toaster and microwave.
the site is situated within a 5 minute walk from a lovely sandy beach and about 15 minutes walk into the town with shops, pubs and pier with funfair and bowling.
the entertainment complex had one of the warmest swimming pools i have been in for a long time and the childrens small pool was like a hot bath. the only complaint would be the changing rooms, there were only 5 and they were rather dirty and smelly.
the entertainment for the children was brilliant, we had rather a wet holiday so made use of the daytime entertaiment which my 5 year old really enjoyed.
cant comment on the restuarant as only bought some take away chips but they were very nice.
will definately return to this site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue22m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello Sue and thank you for your balanced feedback. I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had fun using the pool. The team here work extremely hard to ensure they help our guest create amazing memories and so I’m delighted that your children enjoyed the entertainment. I have shared your comments with the team here as it’s nice to hear that their efforts don’t go unnoticed by our guests. I have passed on your comment regarding the changing rooms to our new Sports & Leisure manager to ensure that in 2013 we achieve even higher standards. Thanks once again and we hope to see you again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I know we were on a sun holiday (cheap) but you expect the caravan, duvets and pillows to be clean! The duvets were replaced promptly. The lock was broken on the bathroom door, it was replaced a day later but this then left a hole in the door. The shower had hair stuck on the wall and it also blocked the plughole, there was rubbish on the floor and a blob of something I didnt look too closely at but had to wet wipe up so my kids didn't tread in it. the walls built behind the caravans are so they can get more in and stay within the space requirements but these are an ugly sight to open your curtains up to in the morning. The seats were so disgusting I complained ant the lady in the office SNAPPED at me "they have been rug doctored and we can't move you" I hadn't asked to be moved! There was mould on the curtains and windows. So all in all NOT A VERY NICE PLACE. But we liked the club :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of you stay at Naze Marine. I’m so sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are very conscious of customer care and strive to get things right, first time every time. When things do go wrong we will endeavor to ensure that we put it right in the shortest possible timescale. I have shared your comments with my team who have been working hard over the winter season to ensure all units are looking their best for the new season. Thanks for your positive comment on the club which is very much appreciated. I do hope that we can welcome you back again sometime to display our usual high standards, and once again I apologise for your experience on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The pitches are a good size but, due to adverse weather conditions, very muddy and most pitches were not suitable for a motorhome. The site needs hard standing and designated road ways as cars driving across the grass churned it up. The shower/toilet/washing up facilities were very good. The swimming pool is excellent and there is everything on the park a family could want. Fantastic beach and handy for buses. Value for money is good and, if you are able to go outside school holidays it is really good value. Agreat place for families but were just a couple without children and still enjoyed it. Would recommend Park Resorts in general (been to several) but this one in particular.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autoquest2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our park. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the touring facilities very good. Unfortunately the weather in 2012 wasn’t the best and so we are hoping for lots of sunshine this season. I’m really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walton-on-the-Naze
5.5 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
567 reviews
7.0 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
8.4 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Felixstowe
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe
7.1 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#8 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
256 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Hall Lane, Walton-on-the-Naze CO14 8HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Walton-on-the-Naze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Walton-on-the-Naze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for an amazing time at Naze Marine! Watch the boats come in on the Naze and enjoy the superb views from the Park. Facilities include heated indoor pool with children's splash pool and adventure playground. Holiday price included beds made up for your arrival, entertainment passes and access to facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Hotel Walton-On-The-Naze
Naze Marine Holiday Park - Park Resorts Walton-On-The-Naze, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing