We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages
Ranked #2 of 3 Levisham B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A lovely, spacious, comfortable, quiet, clean room with views of the village
A good, hearty breakfast; locally sourced bacon, sausages and eggs freshly cooked on a hot plate. Homemade preserves and home baked bread (toasted)
Michael and Heather made us most welcome and always felt they were on hand, if needed
We will certainly visit again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have enjoyed three nights B&B in the delightful farmhouse. The owners made us welcome. The breakfast was one of the best we've eaten - excellent sausages, bacon, homemade bread, jams and stewed fruit. The room was spacious, well furnished and clean with a nice sitting area. The surroundings are beautiful. An experience we will treasure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EasternWelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in Primrose Cottage, which has 2 bedrooms and sleeps 4 people. On arrival there was a freshly baked loaf, fresh eggs and milk supplied. Rectory is a working farm so there are dogs (3 very friendly animals), horses, chickens, sheep and cattle all around. If you don't like animals or animal noises then, for goodness sake don't go there.
Levisham is a pretty little hamlet with a smashing pub, not cheap but great food and excellent ale. The road to the hamlet is quite narrow and twisty, with steep up and down slopes but the views from up on the moor are well worth that. The station is 1½ miles away down a steep road but if you enjoy railways and, in particular, steam railways the a visit there is a must. You will also fine a resident artist, Christopher Ware, there. Christopher paints beautiful landscapes and wonderful trains and you can purchase reasonably priced prints or, if you are feeling flush, an original painting.
During our time we saw deer, fox, common toad, squirrel, kestrel and surprisingly a slow worm. There are lovely walks around Levisham and nearby Dalby forest and it is a short distance to Whitby and Scarborough.
If you enjoy the countryside the I recommend you contact Michael & Heather Holt and book now. We loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at Rectory Farm for three nights as part of a cycling holiday and the experience could not have been better. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was lovely ( fresh baked bread etc. ). Most important, the owners were exceptionally helpful. They washed and dried our cycling kit when we needed it. They kept the bikes locked safely inside and when the local pub wasn't serving food, they drove us to another pub nearby and collected us later! Totally outstanding service.
Lovely area too - although steep hills in and out which challenged our legs

Room Tip: Great for cyclists
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned from a week in Cowslip cottage. The cottage was warm & cosy all week despite the very cold weather outside. This meant the electric blanket was very beneficial. The location is absolutely perfect, surrounded by stunning scenery, walks and a fantastic pub. We had a great week with our dog and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseReeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The first thing that struck us about Cowslip Cottage was just how clean it was......absolutely spotless, we've stayed in lots and lots of cottages and have to say that this cottage was the cleanest we have ever stayed in. The lemon cake left for us was delicious.....even nicer than the lemon drizzle cake sold in the cafe at Nunnington Hall (didn't think that was possible). The cottage was really lovely, spacious, well equipped and really nicely furnished. The location is absolutely perfect, surrounded by stunning scenery, walks and a fantastic pub. Would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage to anyone.....we had a great weekend with our two dogs and hopefully will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCHLevisham, Owner at Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for the kind words, We use a lemon cake recipe from "Good Housekeeping - Cakes and Bakes" as well as their Porter and Carrot cake recipes.

As a little extra touch we have fitted electric under blankets for the winter to both beds.

We aim to maintain high standards of cleanliness in the cottage for all our guests and would thank you both for leaving the cottage spotless.despite it being such unsettled weather.

We both look forward to welcoming you back and prehaps you may bring the mountain bikes and venture into Dalby Forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked two weeks in September when the weather was not so good and was disappointed to find Cowslip Cottage to be quite cold in the evening until the central heating came on, the time it did switch on varied. The kitchen utensils were inadequate and there was no bread knife. The Wi-Fi which was supposed to be available and quite important to us would not work in the cottage but the owner did say we could get it if we left the cottage and walked across the drive to a patio. Also there were several occasions when the Owner entered the cottage while we were out for various reasons including to read the electric meter, change the bed linen and to paint a panel in the outside of the front door. We did not expect the owner to enter the cottage when we were out and found it unusual and a little disconcerting in our experience. The cottage was located in a very nice area with spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCHLevisham, Owner at Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

We welcome feedback sooner rather than later, and will always strive to correct and improve our service to guests as quickly as possible.

It is and has been a very wet year for many parts of the country. Painting is an ongoing maintenance internally in the winter subject to availability. and externally in the summer ( if it does not rain). The weatherboard was treated to prevent further decay.

Our policy with guests staying for two weeks is to replace the bedding and towels with clean sets and have a clean through the cottage, sorry to have tried to improve the quality of the holiday experince.

FREE WiFi in cowslip has been problematic, i hope to be able to report better connectivity before the end of january.

We would like to wish everyone a happy New Year and a good 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levisham
4.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.0 mi away
Moorlands Country House
Moorlands Country House
#3 of 3 in Levisham
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
High Dalby House
High Dalby House
#4 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
80 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lowther House
Lowther House
#7 of 46 in Pickering
92 reviews
9.7 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages

Address: Rectory Farm Main Street, Levisham YO18 7NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Levisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Levisham
Price Range: $120 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RECTORY FARMHOUSE is in a picturesque village in the North York Moors. Unexploited, unspoiled geological drama with outstanding scenery. Leave the car and explore from the front door. Catch the steam train through Heartbeat Country to Whitby. Rooms tastefully decorated with modern comforts, fresh flowers and extra touches. Relax and unwind in the guests' lounge with open fire, tea and homebaking. Enjoy homemade bread and preserves at breakfast. Pub within 50 yards.Free WiFi available. Minimum 2 nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rectory Farm And Holiday Cottages Levisham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing