We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
East Ayton Lodge(East Ayton)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
75
8
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
8
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh eggshome made cakesmini suitehorseshoe innthe cottagessteam railwayon arrivaldelicious lemon drizzle cakenational trust propertieslevisham stationwonderful cottagemountain bikingthe north yorkshire moorslocal walksgreat pubwarm welcomeexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 88 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I would like to thank Heather and Micheal for a very relaxing and great value for money short winter break they even managed to supply some Snow!
We were welcomed on our arrival with fresh eggs,milk a freshly baked loaf of bread and some of Heathers fabulous lemon drizzel cake.
The cottage was very comfortable and clean with all the facilities you would need for your Holiday.
The pub is just across the road and is dog friendly, the food was delicous as was the Black Sheep ale.
There are some breath taking walks just outside the farm made even better with the added snow.We will defainatly be back to visit Rectory farm.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We made our second visit to Michael and Heathers farmhouse which is set in the very peaceful village of Levisham on the edge of the North York Moors. A three minute walk and you are on them, the excellent Horseshoes pub is even closer serving very well presented food and great Black Sheep beer !
We stayed in a two bed cottage attached to the main farmhouse, very well presented, peaceful, and very clean. The quality of the fittings was very good, not the often found jumble which can be present in some holiday cottages. This is a part working farm, with horses, cattle, friendly dogs, hens and sheep. Ideal for young children, and very safe. Both Michael and Heather were very friendly and always there to help if needed. Milk, bread and eggs can be purchased on the farm, and we also enjoyed great breakfasts in the farmhouse.
Overall, if you are looking for a farmhouse cottage holiday on the Moors, this ideal for walkers and families alike.

Room Tip: Both cottages are attached in a terrace to the farmhouse and we have stayed in both, which are very similar.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCHLevisham, Owner at Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Delighted that you both had a memorable stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Customer satisfaction is of no importance to the owners sadly. Several issues during our stay including cleanliness, lack of provisions and faults with heating and wi-fi, all of which were acknowledged and accepted by the owners. Engaged in meaningful dialogue with Michael for several weeks following our stay and was pleased to see he'd rectifed the problems for the benefit of future guests and also that he offered a resolution for us by way of a small refund.....but sadly that cheque never arrived despite endless requests!!
Overall a real shame, as this blatant lack of customer support overshadowed the much nicer aspects of this cottage such as its lovely location, fabulous walks on its doorstep and great village pub. A real shame.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WA1Lincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCHLevisham, Owner at Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

We did not have the opportunity to resolve your issues at the time. We do offer FREE WiFi, and we have had it check by a professional technician who was satisfied with our equipment.

I had offered you complimentary short break,

We are disappointed you were unable to enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This was a great experience. Rectory Farm is in a great location, so close to the moors for walking and driving distance of the coast.
Room was comfortable & clean, Michael & Heather were extremely hospitable & breakfasts legendary.
Sadly due to miscommunication we did not sample the evening meal but Horseshoe Inn was just a few minutes walk away, the food at this pub was fabulous.
We had lunch on the North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway in a Pullman Coach. This was the highlight of our trip & would highly recommend it. Downside to this trip was that we could only stay two nights!! Thank you Michael & Heather

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roastpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCHLevisham, Owner at Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

We have still got winter offers on our web site, and our cottages prices will be going up shortly.

There is too much to try and get into a couple of days, and would recommend at least three....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was our first visit to this part of Yorkshire, and staying at Rectory Farm for five nights in mid-September was definitely the right decision! Many thanks to Michael and Heather for their warm welcome, with afternoon tea and homemade cake. They are great hosts and looked after us so well. Our room was warm, very comfortable and spotless - and the delicious breakfasts set us up for the day! Having the use of a beautiful lounge, with open fire in the evenings was another bonus. Levisham is a very picturesque village, and an ideal location for visiting coast and moors. There is a very good pub just a few yards from Rectory Farm which serves excellent meals. The drive to Levisham station is amazing - wonderful moorlands leading down to the railway in a valley. The station is kept in the 1912 era, and travelling on a steam train to Whitby was a highlight for us. We plan to stay at Rectory Farm again - it was certainly one of the best B&B's we've stayed in.
Janet & Ron.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay in the cosy blue room - and loved the underfloor heating in the en suite shower room!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCHLevisham, Owner at Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

We look forward to welcoming Ron and Janet back again soon.
We feel all our rooms are special but slightly different.
The walk onto the moors from here is special for us all.

We have just posted winter offers on our web site " Come and see what everyone is talking about "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews