We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Levisham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moorlands Country House
Ranked #2 of 3 Levisham B&B and Inns
Vedbaek
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I reviewed in detail the Moorlands Country House here on Tripadvisor a year ago after our first visit, and now after our third visit I can only repeat my praise. We have had many holidays in the last 40 years, many of them in lovely hotels, but we’ve never before found anything as good as Gill and Ron have created here. By Moorlands’ standard we’re not yet regulars – most of the other guests seem to have found this pearl many years before us – but we’re booked again for September, and we will unquestionably be back again and again in the coming years.

I can only echo the previous reviewer Barry’s remark that you can find cheaper accommodation in Yorkshire, but believe me, here you get what you pay for and more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Babworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am not normally given to writing reviews but this place deserves one. Came across it 4 years ago when doing a walk through the Hole of Horcum into Levisham and 3 years later on our next visit to the Moors we stayed there for 2 nights during the North Yorkshire Moors Railway spring gala. It was everything we hoped for - the house is unenviably situated with spectacular views over the valleys and moors and the rooms are among the best we have ever stayed in. The breakfasts are fantastic and the fact that dinner is also available is a bonus - the awards they have won for breakfast and dinner is testament to the quality of the food. However, superb views, great food and comfortable rooms can be forgotten if you are not made to feel welcomed. No problems there - Gill and Ron give a genuinely warm welcome and we have now just returned from our fourth stay in just over 12 months. Most people we have met there are repeat visitors which says it all I suppose!
Price wise you can find cheaper accommodation but it's the old adage - you get what you pay for and Moorlands House represents value for money. I am sure we will return on many more occasions.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with any room but Rooms 3 and 4 provide wonderful views over the moors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Winding into the beautiful little village of Levisham we discovered a gem ran by Gill and Ron. Gill does desserts and is a more of a raconteur than she realizes perhaps, and Ron passionately prepares gourmet level meals on request. The 'girlies' guarantee a continuing supply of wonderful eggs for complete Yorkshire breakfasts which are modified to personal tastes. Fish is delivered FRESH from Whitby and game/fowl is served when wished and available. Food is wonderfully natural and local. Our accomodations were extremely comfortable and we were made to feel very much at home. The Yorkshire North Moors steam railway, Pickering, Levisham to Whitby is a couple of miles away along a sheep lined lane from a most scenic station. Walking trails are within feet as is a very good Pub. York Minster is within easy reach as is Castle Howard. I would return if able.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilot82267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKPOOL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

After spending another holiday it simply gets better, the sausage and eggs we had for breakfast
were a must to buy to take home, we are so looking forward to booking again for next year, Gill,
Mrs Babs and a Do Ron Ron make you so welcome and cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shorty259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Not much we can add to the previous 42 five starred reviews.
Excellent in every aspect.
Gill and Ron do not have to work at their great welcome, care and wonderfully happy environment its all so natural!!
A great find and recommended without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Once again we have spent another week from the 1st to the 8th July at this wonderful hotel.

Lovely decor, wonderful food, and perfect hosts, Gill & Ron make you so welcome, and cannot do enough to make your stay memorable.

Booked for the same time next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2208Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Treat yourself to a wonderful experience. When we came across Moorlands on Trip Advisor it sounded too good to be true but it is everything that others have described. It is sometimes listed under B&B’s but is really a very high quality country manor style house. Gil and Ron are very relaxed and welcoming and have decorated the manor house beautifully. Our room had a spectacular view straight down the valley from which we could watch the local wild pheasant stroll around the grounds, watch the colours change as the sun was setting and we would wake to nothing but the sound of birds. Levisham village is a small, very tidy town with a great community feel and a surprisingly busy pub for the size of the village and has good pub meals. Be warned though, if you experience one of Ron’s superb gourmet sittings first up you might never consider venturing to the pub at all. Breakfast was equally of a very high standard and all the more enjoyable for a morning chat with Gil. Levisham’s location is ideal for exploring North Yorkshire by car and the Levisham station is also close by to access the heritage steam train or regular train service. If we lived close by in UK or Europe instead of Australia we would make an annual pilgrimage to Moorlands.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levisham
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
4.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.7 mi away
High Dalby House
High Dalby House
#3 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorlands Country House

Property: Moorlands Country House
Address: Moorlands Main Street, Levisham YO18 7NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Levisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Levisham
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorlands Country House is an elegant Victorian award-winning guest accommodation residence with 4 acres of garden. Set within the North York Moors National Park in the beautiful village of Levisham with stunning views across Levisham Valley. All rooms elegantly decorated with king size or larger beds. All breakfasts and dinners cooked to order using the finest and freshest locally sourced produce. Fully licensed. Ideal location for discovering North Yorkshire and what it has to offer. The Moorlands Country House has won many awards in the past 10 years including guest accommodation of the year 4 times, Excellence in England silver award twice. We offer a warm welcome and relaxing time to all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorlands Country House Hotel Levisham
Moorlands Country House Levisham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing