We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Gorgeous location & great food"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horseshoe Inn

The Horseshoe Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Levisham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Castleford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Gorgeous location & great food"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited this lovely pub on a gorgeous day. Sat outside....picnic tables with parasols were the most substantial I've sat on for a long while! Its a little hamlet but quite a hive of activity on the day we went....... Chose 'Minted Lamb Shank' with mash,veg & lots of very tasty gravy! Lovely meal......Service was a little slow but it was busy & it didn't matter as the surroundings are lovely & you can just sit & enjoy the wait while you watch the world go by!!
Would definitely go again & recommend anyone to try it......

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiki0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    52
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited this lovely pub for lunch after a walk over to Skelton's Tower. The service was friendly and prompt and the food very tasty. The kids enjoyed their homemade fish and chips and chicken nuggets. Good value for money given how delicious and filling the meals were.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank croatiamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We visited here as a family after a walk around the hole of horcum. The staff were really friendly and the pub was really picturesque. We didn't eat but can see how busy it is for food , if we do go to eat we will certainly follow the helpful advice of the bar staff and book in advance .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nicola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Sorry to contradict all the other wonderful reviews ,but having eaten at many places in this area there was absolutely nothing special about this one . The food,though well presented, took an age to arrive and for the money did not particularly impress.Admittedly they were very busy,more staff would have helped . There seemed to be only two waitresses to cover both outside and in. (Charming and friendly none the less) This was a Sunday lunchtime so did not have the full range of food on offer , thus cannot comment on the evening menu.
I judge a place on wether I would return and wether I would recommend it to anyone . Its a "no" to that. Also it was set out with practically all chairs and tables giving it a dated and "cafe" type atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank montymuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Discovered this isolated pub whilst staying at Goathland. Enjoyed two excellent evening meals. The first we turned up unnannounced and were seated but it was clear that this was a popular spot and booking was recommended. We never felt rushed but we did try to help by giving up our table to those that had booked rather than take our time. So we booked for the following night and again it was busy.
On both ocassions the food was amazing. Well cooked, looked incredible and tasted delicious. Even our 9 yea old who is very fussy ate the lot.
The staff were lovely and very welcoming, they were more than happy to have a chat and the second night welcomed us as old friends.
The food was reasonably priced but good value - I do come from the south and would expect to pay more for less around the Surrey area.
Having read some of the poor reviews on here I do wonder what they expected and whether they actually reviewed the right place - they should try the overpriced rubbish in the Goathland Hotel!!

Would recommend this fine pub to anyone. Thankyou for two fabulous evenings

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horseshoe Inn also viewed

Lockton, North Yorkshire
Newton-on-Rawcliffe, North Yorkshire
 
Lastingham, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Thornton-Le-Dale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Horseshoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing