We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horseshoe Inn

The Horseshoe Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Levisham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Sorry to contradict all the other wonderful reviews ,but having eaten at many places in this area there was absolutely nothing special about this one . The food,though well presented, took an age to arrive and for the money did not particularly impress.Admittedly they were very busy,more staff would have helped . There seemed to be only two waitresses to cover both outside and in. (Charming and friendly none the less) This was a Sunday lunchtime so did not have the full range of food on offer , thus cannot comment on the evening menu.
I judge a place on wether I would return and wether I would recommend it to anyone . Its a "no" to that. Also it was set out with practically all chairs and tables giving it a dated and "cafe" type atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank montymuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    52
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Discovered this isolated pub whilst staying at Goathland. Enjoyed two excellent evening meals. The first we turned up unnannounced and were seated but it was clear that this was a popular spot and booking was recommended. We never felt rushed but we did try to help by giving up our table to those that had booked rather than take our time. So we booked for the following night and again it was busy.
On both ocassions the food was amazing. Well cooked, looked incredible and tasted delicious. Even our 9 yea old who is very fussy ate the lot.
The staff were lovely and very welcoming, they were more than happy to have a chat and the second night welcomed us as old friends.
The food was reasonably priced but good value - I do come from the south and would expect to pay more for less around the Surrey area.
Having read some of the poor reviews on here I do wonder what they expected and whether they actually reviewed the right place - they should try the overpriced rubbish in the Goathland Hotel!!

Would recommend this fine pub to anyone. Thankyou for two fabulous evenings

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quintesential Village Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I visited The Horeshoe Inn for the first time on the recommendation of my sister who I was taking out for a birthday lunch. Just off the main York to Whitby road, the pub is at the end of the main street in picture postcard Levisham. My sister had recommended we book a table as the pub is very popular and that was very good advice as it was busy even at noon. The welcome from Charles and his team was very warm and nothing too much trouble. As they dashed between the garden and pub on a very hot and muggy day, they smiled throughout. The food is quality pub grub and the menu allows you to choose from an array of starters, mains, sandwiches and specials. It would have been nice to have a couple more salad options on the specials board, particularly on such a hot day. The homemade chips were excellent. A great find, warm, welcoming and relaxing. I shall be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SafariTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely Welcoming Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

After a long uphill walk from the station at Levison in hot sunny weather, it was so good to see the Horseshoe Inn and know that we had booked a table because it was very busy. The food was excellent, I had delicious fresh brown bread ham sandwiches with crisp brown chips and fresh salad - perfect. The beer was well kept and the staff were very attentive and helpful, offering to serve us with more drinks before we needed to ask. The village is delightful with a lovely old church, very plain fittings but the pews had been made by 'mousey Thompson'. There are 9 letting bedrooms if you fancy spending a night or two there and enjoy a walk in the beautiful surrounding countryside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
218 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Never fails to provide excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have been here quite a few times now and there is always something wonderful on the menu.
My friend and I were staying in a local B&B and just popped across the green for some tasty food.
We shared wrapped Brie parcels, very nice deep fried parcels of brie wrapped in Parma ham served with salad and chutney.....yum
We both chose baked salmon on prawn and crab risotto served with a tasty selection of vegetables but not the usual boring bits, oh no, red cabbage, courgette and more ..... it was my friends first visit and she was really blown away by the quality, a little more expensive than bog standard pub fare but worth the extra, definitely x

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mad-on-Maldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horseshoe Inn also viewed

Lockton, North Yorkshire
Newton-on-Rawcliffe, North Yorkshire
 
Lastingham, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Horseshoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing