We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property in a lovely location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Goleby's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Goleby's Cottage
A cottage garden welcome A comfy double bed at Goleby's Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Welcome to Goleby's Cottage
A cottage garden welcome
A comfy double bed at Goleby's Cottage
Room for two in an airy bedroom
Well equiped kitchen at Goleby's Cottage
Dining for 4 at Goleby's Cottage
Cosy lounge to relax
Well mannered pets welcome at Goleby's Cottage
In bloom on a Summer's Day
Patio for outdoor dining
Wild birds also welcome at Goleby's Cottage
View from our kitchen window
Warm glow on a winter's night
Cozy lounge decorated for Christmas
Hickling welcomes all
A 2 minute stroll to the local pub
House riding in the village
Tranquil boat trip on nearby Barton Broad
Tea room and mill at nearby Horsey
Visit the seals at nearby Horsey Gap
Miles of sandy deserted beaches close to cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hickling, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kim F
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property in a lovely location.”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent a fantastic week at Golebys Cottage at Hickling The cottage itself was very clean and had everything you could possibly need and the owners added extra personal touches.
Definitely recommend the local pub - The Greyhound. Plenty of things to do in the area, boating on the Broads, the beaches (we were lucky with the weather), canoeing, walking with the dog and the steam train at Bure Valley.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Welling, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of the cottage and cosy homeliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DunstoneC...
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location,Location,Location”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Due to having family in Norwich and also loving Norfolk we have had many visits to Nelsons county.This is the only cottage we would want to return to. Golebys is very tranquil and peaceful which allowed us to completely unwind over our 2 week stay.Because of the location we were able to pop to local beaches for dog walks as well as Broadland walks.We were also able to visit Norwich frequently to see my family and watch my beloved Norwich City.We also took in Blakeney,Cromer and Southwold.After long days out walking it was wonderful to return to by far the best equipped cottage we have stayed in .The attention to detail was second to none. We would like to thank Annie and Sean for their hospitality and also helpful communications both before and during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay g
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have fallen in love with Goleby's and the Broads.
This has been the perfect place to explore the beautiful countryside.
Highlights were fantastic sightings of Marsh Harrier around Hickling Broad, Little Terns at Winterton Dunes and canoeing at Wroxham… and the most comfortable bed!
We even bought a mattress the same upon our return home.

We're planning another visit in the autumn for more fun on the water, birdwatching and maybe a visit to Norwich for great veggie food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homeliness
Liked least: going home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalm...
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
“A delightful period cottage which oozes charm and comfort”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The owners, Annie & Sean have thought of everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible including a welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk and chocs on arrival, a basket of wood and coal for the fire, great kitchen facilities and the right amount of finishing touches to make it feel a true home from home. The property is situated in a reasonable sized village with a great local pub (for the nights you don't feel like cooking) and it's not too far into the next town to get supplies. The beaches are vast, the Broads are magnificent and the locals very friendly. We had a fantastic time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner stove
Liked least: Leaving the property at the end of the week
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing