We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B and B ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hickling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at best B and B ever,everything about the place is perfect.rooms are so spacious and so well furnished.the food is excellent and it is the first time we have ever had breakfast bought to our room.the owners cannot do enough for you and are so knowledgable about Norfolk.if you go to dairybarns you must visit horsey seals and beach only 5 mins away by car.cannot wait to return to this B and B and would recommend it to friends and family.thanks to everyone there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guernsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 491 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here only for one night, but have to say was the most enjoyable stay ever we have had anywhere. I cannot wait to return for longer. The most warming welcome and fantastic stay also learning about the restorations on the property was amazing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dahlia but all rooms looked fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We were given a voucher last Christmas for a relaxing stay in the country and narrowed down our selection to here. As there were two couples staying I emailed to find out available dates and the friendliness started from there. I was very impressed that they were happy to hold the rooms for us for a couple of days while we all checked we could get the time off work.

We had an extremely friendly greeting on arrival and were shown our rooms which were right next to each other. We overlooked the courtyard and stables (much to mine and my sister-in-laws delight). Rooms were a great size and the beds very comfy. We made use of the lounge area after our days out to chill and have a glass of wine, in fact my husband felt so at home he even had a bit of a snooze in the sofa!

Breakfast was amazing. We sampled both the full English one morning and waffles the following day, both were delicious and set us up for exploring. We were also provided with plenty of suggestions on places to go whilst we were there.

Highly recommend this place and as we left in the Sunday the first thing I said to hubby was 'when are we going back?'

Stayed: October 2013
Thank kingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Upon arrival Gill greeted us with the offer of fresh tea and cake. She showed us too our room, Swallows nest and offered some advice on where to go that evening for dinner.

The room itself was warm and huge with a mezzanine level with the huge bed and skylights with electronic blinds. The living room space was also huge with a settee, TV, small table and chairs and a mini fridge. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate was provided. There is a cupboard with some plates and cutlery for if you bring back takeaway. The bathroom contained a massive sunken bath and big shower with a wonderful rainfall shower head. There as also a small private garden area which would be perfect in the summer.

Breakfast is served in the large barn which doubles as a venue hall and consisted of fruits, cereals, toast and a cooked to order English breakfast. The cooked breakfast was delicious, the sausages and bacon particularly yummy. Gill comes round and offers advice on places to go, she is very knowledgeable of the local area. The barns also have a cosy communal lounge area for relaxing and a garden area with games.

A big thank you to all at Dairy barns, we had a lovely relaxing time and will be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the 3 'extra special' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discoveringtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Staff really helpful especially Hannah's Mum. Recommended pub for excellent steak which we thoroughly enjoyed. Shower cubicle could have been bigger,
But overall a nice stay with good choices for breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We just spent one night here on a long distance bike ride. Arrived to find message directing us to our huge room where pieces of home made cake awaited. What a welcome ! Lots of attention to detail has obviously gone into the B and B. There are framed articles on the walls about the owner. We cyclced into Hickling where we walked around the local nature reserve.
Large breakfast room in former barn where we had a very pleasant breakfast before we hit the road again . Ladies were very personable at brekfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent two nights here from Friday through to Sunday, and really enjoyed it. We stayed in Dahlia, which is a huge room with lovely decor and felt really homely. It was also near enough to see the horses stables, which made my day! The horses are very friendly and Hannah appeared fine with guests going over to say hello. We even treated them to an apple each, which was another highlight to our weekend. The B&B itself is situated a little out of the way, but really everything you need is a short drive away. Having a relaxing drink at the hotel is also not a problem, there is a lovely lounge area to sit in and enjoy a drink and lots of space in the garden areas. Wine glasses for guests to use are available in the lounge area. We popped to a Tesco down the road and bought some wine and fizzy for our room. You can also borrow a fridge for your room, but we didn't bother as we were there such a short time. The breakfast area is also very pretty, and the breakfast is very good! They offer cooked breakfasts, such as full English or sweet and savory waffles, all made with local fresh produce. You can also help yourself to toast, fruit, yogurts and cereal. There is also plenty of fruit juice and the staff are more than happy to offer you tea and coffee by the bucketful! Breakfast is served between about 0730 and 0900, but if you need to eat earlier or later, they offer a breakfast hamper which can be left outside your room at your chosen time, which is a brilliant idea. The tea and coffee making facilities in the room is very good, and were topped up for us, even though we only stayed two nights. Our room was cleaned and bed made as well. We loved the look and feel of this place so much, we are thinking of getting married here in a couple of years time. Hannah, her family and staff make you feel very welcome and looked after. Upon arrival at 4pm we were welcomed by Hannah and given a lovely well needed cup of tea and warm scones with jam! Norfolk is truly a lovely place, we recommend going to see the seals at Horsey beach if you get time. If you go in November-December you will see the pups! Hickling is really not too far from any of the main places of interest in Norfolk, such as Great Yarmouth and Norwich. Unfortunately, much of Norfolk, including Hickling, has terrible mobile reception. Though Hannah has installed mobile signal boosters in the hotel, which is very useful. We visited Thrigby Wildlife Park, which was lovely and my partner fell in love with a cockatoo named Monty, whom we intend to sponsor. There is plenty of lovely places to go out and eat for the evening, we enjoyed some posh nosh at The Waybridge Inn, which is not far from Dairy Barns. Overall, Dairy Barns is a lovely place to stay and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We intend to go back, hopefully next year to see more of Norfolk. They offer so much more than your average B&B does at Dairy Barns, excellent value for money and some lovely me memories to take home!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hickling
4.4 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
528 reviews
9.1 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
971 reviews
15.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lawson Cottage B & B
Lawson Cottage B & B
#2 of 2 in Hickling
24 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Barns at Thorpe Market
The Barns at Thorpe Market
#2 of 4 in Thorpe Market
162 reviews
12.5 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lound Farm, Hickling Lane | Hicking, Hickling NR12 0BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hickling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hickling
Price Range: $117 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dairy Barns was awarded best bed and breakfast in the East of England and is based on a working farm. We are only five minutes from both the beauty of the Norfolk Broads and Sandy Beaches of the coast. Accommodation is in a self-contained barn conversion. Each room is on ground floor level and offers excellent en-suite facilities and extremely comfortable super king or twin beds. Our suites are something extra special each very spacious with fabulous bedrooms and bathrooms,lounge area and private garden. Off-road undercover parking available. 3 cosy country cottages are also available on the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Barns Hotel Hickling
Dairy Barns Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing