We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny side of the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Barcarolle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prangins
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sunny side of the lake”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is situated directly on the lake just outside Nyon. Despite this location and an outdoor pool, it is predominantly a business hotel.
Rooms are generous, with separate shower and bathtub, Bogner-branded amenities, ample storage room in the wardrobe with a sufficient number of shirt/coat hangers, free wifi. The decor is a little dated, but immaculately maintained, as is so often the case in Swiss hotels.
Parking is free, the staff friendly, competent and multi-lingual.
Breakfast (usually included in the rate) was okay, but not special, a little bit short on healthy options. Dinner at the restaurant was very good, and very speedily served.
On warm days, meals can be had on the lovely terrace looking down towards the lake.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the grounds towards the lake. Upper floors may have a better view over the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Merci pour votre avis très apprécié car nous sommes très à l'écoute de notre clientèle. Les commentaires nous aident à contrôler nos prestations en permanence et à les améliorer.
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un bon séjour et espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau lors d'un de vos prochains séjours.
Avec considération
Michèle L. E. Liechti
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    50
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
38
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is charming, the staff are lovely, dinner was excellent and the view was spectacular!!!

As it was just before Christmas the lobby was decorated beautifully, the fireplace lit, Christmas cookies on a tray!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Merci pour vos commentaires positifs, ils sont très précieux et nous aident à maintenir la qualité de nos prestations à l'égard de notre clientèle.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau très prochainement. Avec notre parfaite considération.
HOTEL LA BARCAROLLE
Michèle L. E. Liechti
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

From the moment that you walk into the lobby, you feel at home. The fire is warm and inviting, the sofas comfortable, and the pianist is playing soothing music. Then you enter your room and it is so wonderfully decorated and well lit, that you just begin to relax. The topper is that the bar and restaurant is just as inviting, so you have the full package here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frankiepd282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour vos précieux commentaires ainsi que pour la note généreuse que vous nous avez accordée.
nous sommes ravis que votre séjour ait répondu à vos attentes.
Nous vous souhaitons d'excellentes fêtes de fin d'année et nous réjouissons de vous accueillir à nouveau très prochainement.

Michèle L. E. Liechti
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice now for business and very much liked the facility. Clean, spacious, comfortable. Both times however I was amazed at the lack of service from a privately owned establishment. On my first stay, I was alone, and decided to eat dinner in the hotel on the lovely patio. There was only one other customer in the place a couple from France who were on vacation in Geneva and made the trip out for dinner on a recommendation. Neither of us could get any service, and I ended up eating only my salad and giving up on my entree after nearly an hour.

On the second stay we were a group of 8, and after a long day of meetings decided to eat in the hotel. We were asked to wait for 30 minutes while the tables were set, and upon being seated we were chided by the maître de for failing to make a reservation, and we're informed we were very lucky there was a table for us. This would have been understandable but for the fact we were the only people in the restaurant.

I really like the hotel, and hope that consideration is given to these comments.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rosecity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Merci pour vos commentaires datés de l'automne dernier. Nous sommes heureux d'avoir contribué au bon déroulement de votre séjour à la Barcarolle.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau très prochainement.
Avec considération.

HOTEL LA BARCAROLLE

Michèle L. E. Liechti
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Small cozy hotel by Geneva lake. Very convenient for business travelers- commuting to Nyon office (10 min). The rooms are modern, service is v good, staff is welcoming. It does not have a fitness center but there is an outdoor swimming pool of decent size. I wanted to use a swimming pool in the morning and the staff opened it for me. It was warm but not very clean due to heavy rains recently however the stuff did apologise for that. The true highlight is a little beach by the lake where you can enjoy sunshine and the lake/mountain view whle sippling something nice on a sunbed.
Unfortunately, dinner at the restaurant was a disappointment. We were recommended to take a special set menu. The aperitif was delicious but then it all went downhill...a starter was strange: scrambled eggs with bits of smoked salmon a-la breakfast , and the main with grilled mix of sausages /meat with chips was rather standard. The next morning the breakfast had a selection of scrambled eggs, smoked salmon , sausages... it was difficult not to make a connection. Maybe if I opted for the mains from a- la karta I could have avoided disappointment.
In all a nice place to stay but be aware of food choices..and soiled table clothes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikAndNataliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour vos précieux commentaires relatifs à votre séjour. Ils ont retenu notre meilleure attention. ils nous aident à être attentifs aux besoins de notre clientèle. Avec considération.

HOTEL LA BARCAROLLE

Michèle L. E. Liechti
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have stay here once a week for the past three weeks for business as my head office is in Nyon. It is much better than any of the other hotels I have stayed in locally with a great location and wonderful views over the lake. The receptionists are freindly, the service is good and the hotel is very clean. The rooms are large, have nice bathroons, comfy beds and free wi-fi. the breakfast is good and the restauarant was very pleasant. Overall no complaints and this will become my regular hotel for my business trips to head office.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,

Merci pour vos commentaires positifs à l'égard de notre Etablissement. Nous y sommes très sensibles, ils nous aident à connaître si nous sommes dans la bonne direction quant à nos prestations envers notre clientèle.
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez choisi la Barcarolle pour vos séjours lors de vos visites professionnelles dans notre région et nous réjouissons de vous accueillir à nouveau très prochainement.
Avec considération.
HOTEL LA BARCAROLLE - Michèle L. E. Liechti - Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is my first time at this hotel. I usually stay at the next town over (Nyon). this was a very pleasant surprise. the rooms were nice, big and clean; the hotel was quiet. breakfast is not stellar, but very nice nonetheless. there's a nice bar, fireplace and pianist. free wi-fi (!)...
it's really nice

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcmlix1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments which are of great help to maintain and improve our services. We are pleaded to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in our hotel.
Have a great day. kindest regards.

Michèle L. E. Liechti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prangins
1.1 mi away
Base Nyon
Base Nyon
#1 of 8 in Nyon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Rive
Hotel Le Rive
#3 of 8 in Nyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Cecile
Villa Cecile
#2 of 5 in Yvoire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Ange
Hotel de l'Ange
#2 of 8 in Nyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.4 mi away
Auberge de la Reunion
Auberge de la Reunion
#1 of 1 in Coinsins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 8 in Nyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Barcarolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Barcarolle

Property: Hotel La Barcarolle
Address: Route De Promenthoux, Prangins, Nyon District 1197, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Nyon District > Prangins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prangins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel La Barcarolle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Barcarolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing