We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but (very) pricey”
Review of Il Pulcinella

Il Pulcinella
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Rolle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Good but (very) pricey”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We only heard good things about this place and expected our visit to be a pleasant surprise. Indeed, new ownership managed to create a true Italian atmosphere – but that’s all there is about the surprise being pleasant. Whilst the staff is friendly and the service efficient, what’s on the plate is greatly overpriced: 35 for seafood tagliatelle that contained mainly mussels; 33 for shrimp penne with hardly any shrimp with the penne. We couldn’t believe our eyes when we got the bill. 2 pasta platters, 1 (small) salad, 1 dessert, 2 house aperitifs, 1 bottle of ordinary house-wine (Valpolicella), 1 (small) water bottle and 2 coffees: 180. Never again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank restaurant71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    73
    34
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arzier
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“friendly service, good food”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This a family run restaurant with very friendly service (they will remember you so behave ;-) and good italian food. In summer they have a lakeside terrace (in the middle of town, not their usual restaurant) which is the highlight for its location. Prices are fair.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HisHers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Canned mushroom on the pizza”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went here last summer, to the terrace. Service was slow and not caring too much, pizzas not too cheap, especially for the quality, which included canned mushrooms on my pizza. Also my husbands pizza was quite bad, and we agreed never to return here again (even though the main restaurant is 5 min walk from our home). Maybe they have improved the quality since, but we will never find that out...

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellus2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Why can't I pay by credit card???”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Not to bad as a restaurant, right by the lake with lovely view, the food is decent, what I would call standard, modern, typical Italian cuisine, absolutely nothing original or extraordinary but enable. The service fast and pretty impersonal even a bit rough. What is so odd is you cannot pay with a credit card, just cash and if you want to pay with Euro (DON'T)) their rate is terrible. For a place that is very popular with tourists and locals alike they must have a lot of cash coming in. Not my favourite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank drtcoBov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanciano, Italy
Level Contributor
244 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very good italian restaurant.”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have been in Pulcinella several times and I can confirm that is one the best italian restaurant in the area between Geneva and Lausanne.
The Pizza is quite good and very "italian" without having tons of cheese in the american way as you risk in general when you are not in Italy.
Also the other dishes are good and in fact is not a case if this restaurant is owned and managed by italians. In fact I suggest at least to test it once.
The cleanliness is good and prices are at average for Switzerland.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anxanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pulcinella also viewed

 
Rolle, Nyon District
Rolle, Nyon District
 

Been to Il Pulcinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing