We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent location at the foot of the Eiger”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bellevue des Alpes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

If you want to experience a classic nostalgic ski holiday this must be one of the most beautiful places you can find. The mountain scenery is breathtaking, the hotel literally from a bygone era. You can't help but to fall in love with this charmingly and carefully restored hotel where the interior is left to look like it was a 100 years ago. This worked particularly well with the bar, our favourite place in the hotel and less so in the large lounge which just seems to be full of old sofas. The simpler rooms are small and i am personally not keen on the oldfashioned bedroom furniture which make the room look a bit glum despite the pretty wallpaper and matching curtains but when you take a look out of the window up to the Northface of the Eiger bedroom furniture dont matter. In the evening you can choose to dine in the beautiful ballroom or in the restaurant which is the only part of the hotel which was renovated in the seventies and really does not have any charm at all. The food however is very good, (not sure why there is a salad buffet every night instead of a starter, also very seventies or very Swiss?) and there is a good and reasonably priced wine list. This really is such a nice and charming place to stay and if i may just add one small point of critisism,it would have been nice to have experienced a warmer and more personalized service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thulassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 99 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Splendid-looking old hotel which seems a bit of a museum to start with but, thanks to its high standards and attentive staff, actually suceeds in providing super-traditional but still pleasant accomodation and catering.

It is very quiet. There is no TV. Internet coverage is poor. The dinner arrangements are predictable. However all this is part of the charm and standards are generally very good. The weather was good when we visited in February but at this altitude (6,700 feet) they are susceptible to some violent storms and high winds. Whatever the weather I have no doubt the Bellevue des Alpes will keep calm and carry on.

Dan C.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Anyone contemplating a visit to the Bellevue des Alpes should have a strong wish to be suffused in an environment virtually unchanged since the 1950´s. It is a lovely way to time travel, back to a kinder, gentler age without the intrusion of the modern world.
I have gone to Zermatt for 20 years, but this time, celebrating my coming of age at 50, wanted to go back to Berner Oberland, which I visited for 6 weeks at the tender age of three at the Grand Hotel Regina. Even then, I was fascinated by the large, brooding hotel up at the Kleine Scheidegg. So, instead of classical elegance at teh Regina, we chose the Bellevue des Alpes.

The following aspects of the hotel makes it very much worthwhile:
1) After 5PM the glacier is quiet. The last train has gone, as well as all the skiers. You are alone. On the gletscher. With the stars and the moon as a glorious, romantic roof. And the Jungfrau, Eiger and Mönch as guardians. In the morning, when fresh snow has fallen, the slopes are all yours. Nobody else is there!
2) The von Almen family with Silvia and Andreas runs the ship perfectly. This legacy left to them is in very good and capable hands.
3) "Old" does not mean decrepit. The rooms are old-fashioned but very nice, as are the common rooms and the dining room. Food is very good, bar service is very good, breakfast is good. Wine cellar is excellent and affordable. Service is consistently excellent. Lunch and patio bar is excellent.

So, if You want a ski break totally different from a sweaty package tour to Tignes, find Your roots and rejuvenate, do go to the Bellevue des Alpes. If You want the last in design, or a great bar scene with a roaring crowd until the wee hours, please go elsewhere.
And if You wonder-the fitness center is the mountain, and the pool the mountain lake. They are quite sufficient.

Room Tip: Look at the website. Every room is different. Choose the one You like, phone the hotel and ask Silvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhodesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My brother and I stayed here having walked up from Wengen. It was a cold wet day, and when we got to the hotel we found that we were the only guests! We would have cancelled and gone to Grindelwald if we could have, but the cancellation fee was 100%.
We actually had a great time, and were well looked after. Its a very hospitable hotel with high standards and courteous and friendly staff. Its also very old fashioned, but regains the charm of a lost era.

Room Tip: All the rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is like a journey back to the 19th century. Refurbished with love and an eye for the detail.
I spent one night there with my girlfriend and it was one of the most romantic places ever been. Especially when the last train is gone, the only noise u have is the cowbells and the sun is setting down on Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. Having a drink before dinner in the old styled bar, I felt like I should have brought my Tuxedo to be properly dressed for this place. I felt like being in the 19 century when tourism was established in Switzerland. The charme of this house compensates you for everything missing like TV.
The food was very good, only the selection on the breakfast was small.

I can recommend this place to every couple to stay one night and combine it with a trip to Jungfraujoch.

Room Tip: When u book, ask for room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Affolterli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is located on the famaous Jungfrau railway and is only reachable by that way: this gives to the place a great charm that is less appreciated if you come to know this fact when you are still on your way a few hours before the last train leaves from the railway station. The building is exactly the same you see in the movie "North Face" and it's actually quite charming in its old-fashion atmosphere. Interiors show a true sensation of prebellic time and all the staff is very kind. Unfortunately we were in a room that was defined simple but nice: it was simple but not as nice as the price should have required. Dogs are not admitted but an exeption (35 Euros each dog/day) has been made for ours and I suppose that for this expensive exeption an effort could be done not to look at them like plug-victims. Food is of good quality but not the one you expect in such a place. The selection of wines is exellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Staying at this hotel was on my bucket list ever since I read the White Spider eons ago. I finally made it there and if I had more time I would of spent 2 weeks there, instead of 2 nights. It was wonderful to sit out on the balcony of our large room, drink beer and look at the Jungfrau. Breakfasts were ok, dinners were excellent. Loved the fact that not much has been updated, yet it didn't feel old, even though you knew the chairs in the library were ancient.

Probably not for children. The only downside for us was the 2 tour groups that arrived and were quite noisy, but the hotel can't control that. We loved it anyway!!

Room Tip: I think we were in room 75, very large with a huge balcony. I'd definitely recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhubarb457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kleine Scheidegg
3.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
665 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
592 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#16 of 20 in Wengen
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
391 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue des Alpes

Address: Kleine Scheidegg 3801, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Kleine Scheidegg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kleine Scheidegg
Price Range: $313 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bellevue des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bellevue des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing