We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bellevue des Alpes
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - unique experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My brother and I stayed here having walked up from Wengen. It was a cold wet day, and when we got to the hotel we found that we were the only guests! We would have cancelled and gone to Grindelwald if we could have, but the cancellation fee was 100%.
We actually had a great time, and were well looked after. Its a very hospitable hotel with high standards and courteous and friendly staff. Its also very old fashioned, but regains the charm of a lost era.

Room Tip: All the rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    20
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is like a journey back to the 19th century. Refurbished with love and an eye for the detail.
I spent one night there with my girlfriend and it was one of the most romantic places ever been. Especially when the last train is gone, the only noise u have is the cowbells and the sun is setting down on Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. Having a drink before dinner in the old styled bar, I felt like I should have brought my Tuxedo to be properly dressed for this place. I felt like being in the 19 century when tourism was established in Switzerland. The charme of this house compensates you for everything missing like TV.
The food was very good, only the selection on the breakfast was small.

I can recommend this place to every couple to stay one night and combine it with a trip to Jungfraujoch.

Room Tip: When u book, ask for room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Affolterli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is located on the famaous Jungfrau railway and is only reachable by that way: this gives to the place a great charm that is less appreciated if you come to know this fact when you are still on your way a few hours before the last train leaves from the railway station. The building is exactly the same you see in the movie "North Face" and it's actually quite charming in its old-fashion atmosphere. Interiors show a true sensation of prebellic time and all the staff is very kind. Unfortunately we were in a room that was defined simple but nice: it was simple but not as nice as the price should have required. Dogs are not admitted but an exeption (35 Euros each dog/day) has been made for ours and I suppose that for this expensive exeption an effort could be done not to look at them like plug-victims. Food is of good quality but not the one you expect in such a place. The selection of wines is exellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere in oregon usa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Staying at this hotel was on my bucket list ever since I read the White Spider eons ago. I finally made it there and if I had more time I would of spent 2 weeks there, instead of 2 nights. It was wonderful to sit out on the balcony of our large room, drink beer and look at the Jungfrau. Breakfasts were ok, dinners were excellent. Loved the fact that not much has been updated, yet it didn't feel old, even though you knew the chairs in the library were ancient.

Probably not for children. The only downside for us was the 2 tour groups that arrived and were quite noisy, but the hotel can't control that. We loved it anyway!!

Room Tip: I think we were in room 75, very large with a huge balcony. I'd definitely recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhubarb457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I should say this was one of the most singular experiences we had when we visited to the hotel. The classical rooms, great food, fantabulous views great hiking and walking trails etc etc.. The stay comes with dinner included since the last train that you can catch to the hotel is around 5 pm at interlaken ost which is the only negative but that is because it lies in the foot of the Eiger... i would recommend this hotel straight thumbs up anyone who wants to have great swiss experience. It is expensive but considering the location, services and food , the stay is worth more than the money. The hotel has a nice reading room, small pool table and very nice attenders and bar tenders who are always there when you need something. On the whole, this is not a typical hotel and strongly recommended if you want to stay and enjoy the place.
There are only two negatives i can think off. One, the booking can only be done through email and you cannot check them online. The second which is more of an advantage considering the location which helps you go around for a walk and enjoy the nature in the evenings. It is that you should take the 5 pm train to kleine scheidegg hotel if u want to be there in the evening as it is the last train otherwise, you are on your own.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gireesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

At, approximately, a 2500 m altitude, the resonance of things change but I was taken aback by the beauty of the location, overlooking the valley and facing the creek Eiger: at a distance from one of the highest trains stations in Europe, stands this hotel, majestically. The von Almn family is present and talks to you about the breakfast-terrace in the early morning sun or the skiing in early February. The Bellevue-Des Alpes is run with grace by the von Almen family who discreetly extend advice and share their experiences of the place. Great location for hikes and walks. In the evening, in the restaurant, the rhythm changes and everything feels quite special. From the dining area, you overlook the majestic valley and, rain or shine, you know you are in an exceptional spot, far away from generic time and goings about. By myself, I had a valuable time, three evenings in a row, watching night settling in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is situated on a saddle on the Kleine Scheidegg, at 2064 meters, above Wengen and Grindelwald. First established in 1840, the hotel has gone through several make-overs whilst attracting the new tourist classes hungry to experience the mountains so close to the hotel. The closest and most dramatic is the famous/infamous Eiger with its vertical north face. Next to it sits the Moench which is situated next to the Jungfrau. In 1905 there was a project to take the train through the mountains from outside the hotel through the Eiger into its neighbour to rise up to the Jungfraujoch. Though closed during WW1, the hotel became the attraction for the Roaring Twenties & Thirties. This was the era for the great climbing teams, and the English skiers walking up to the Lauberhorn and racing down into Wengen or Grindelwald. This is when it had its major facelift. The black marble fireplace, the Persian rugs in the reception hall, matched by oil paintings of the surrounding mountains by famous artists hanging on the panelled walls of the sitting room. The comfy armchairs and sofas, the writing desks, all there to invite the guest. The present owners, Andreas & Sylvia von Almen, have treated this historical hotel with great sensitivity, conserving the old-world character whilst bringing the essentials up to date. The service is attentive and considerate at all times, particularly under the watchful eye of the maitre d'hotel, Erwin. Evening meals are fine dining, supplemented by a Swiss salad buffet. The hotel nestles under the face of the Eiger, a perfect starting point for skiers, hikers and those who just want to relax on the terrace on a warm sunny day.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west look out onto the Moench and Jungfrau. Rooms looking out to the east will have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kleine Scheidegg
3.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#17 of 21 in Wengen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue des Alpes

Property: Hotel Bellevue des Alpes
Address: Kleine Scheidegg 3801, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Kleine Scheidegg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kleine Scheidegg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bellevue des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bellevue des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing