We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth more than an excellent rating!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esther's Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Gimmelwald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth more than an excellent rating!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

First off, Gimmelwald really IS one of the most places on Earth. I've been there several times, and Esther's is THE place to stay. Yes, it's pricey for American standards, but so is the rest of Switzerland! You will get an immaculately clean and comfortable room, friendly service, peace and quiet, and beautiful views.

How anyone could give this place a "terrible" rating is beyond me, and as you see, there is only one confused soul out there who did that. Shame on you, sir! Esther's "rules" are simply meant to clarify various things and keep the place as clean as possible, not to make you feel unwelcome. And she is more than willing to accommodate you if she can. She will gladly answer any questions you have or address any concerns.

Esther has been running her guesthouse for a number of years, and the quality hasn't suffered at all, as her standards are very high. You will truly enjoy your stay in Gimmelwald with Esther, so don't book anywhere else!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    31
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
100
109
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Esther's and echo recent reviews. We stayed in the 5xx room - one where the private shower and bath were across the hall, but only ours nonetheless. If you were wary that a guesthouse is like a hostel, think again. No collective dorm rooms. Our area, which had 3 separate rooms, was extremely quiet and private, and judging from the rest of the guesthouse layout, this would be true throughout. In our room, you determine the weather by looking up - through the openable / shadeable double-pane window - if it was clear, you just saw blue sky and mountains, so your room kept you in the spirit of being in the Swiss mountains. Regarding surrounding views from Gimmelwald, just amazing - we ate at the Mountain Hostel close at hand and listened / watched the waterfalls down the mountains. Would go back in an instant - also the town is steeped in its farm life - goats, cows, chickens and fat cats (must get extra milk helpings - they are all, uh, well-fed). Commuting by cable car. Need a break from your normal life? Yo - here it is.

Room Tip: Have no reason to believe that they are not all good - balconies exist for the apartment rooms facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_anthony_75023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Gimmelwald and 2nd time staying in spacious Apt. B at Esther's. The apartment is spotless and the kitchen is well equipped. Esther is very good about communicating and answering questions prior to our arrival.
We enjoyed cooking dinner and taking in the view. If you can, stop at the Co-op in Lauterbrunnen for essentials before you come up to Gimmelwald as the one in Murren has limited hours.
The hiking and views are spectacular. The trails accommodate all levels from leisurely walks to, "are you kidding me." Riding the cable car and trains around both sides of the valley was a blast.
Different options with Swiss Rail Pass are available.
We'll be back at Esther's again.!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrisburgh
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was a family trip, me, my daughter, her husband and 4 year old. So we had an apartment. Nice views, Esther was helpful, but my son in law is 6 foot 4 inches and the beams in the ceiling are less than 6 feet, and covered with stucco, so the poor guy had many head bashings, and he is bald, and he had to walk around like a hunch back. So instead of staying 4 nights we had to quit after 3 nights, but Esther would not refund any part of the $250 dollars for the night saying we should have asked about that in our booking request. So that was an expensive night for us. So if you are 6 foot this Guesthouse will be tough for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is just wonderful. We stayed for 5 nights in May and even though the weather didn't cooperate, we had a fantastic time. Our apartment had breathtaking views and was very clean and comfortable. It was comfortably heated too which was helpful since it was snowing outside! Esther is very friendly and helpful, offering suggestions for hiking and other activities. We recommend shopping at the Coop market up in Murren (a 30 minute hike) for food since dining options are limited in Gimmelwald. Gimmelwald is one of the most beautiful spots we've ever seen - small, quiet and perfectly relaxing. The area hiking is awesome. The gorgeousness of the place can't be described and we can't wait to go back. When we do, we'll be staying with Esther again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidedoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Of a 16 day trip to Europe, staying at Esther's was by far our favorite. This B & B was super cute and in the heart of the tiny town of Gimmelwald just a stone's throw from the cable car to get around the area. You are surrounded by the Alps!

Our room was spotless and had all the comforts of home that we needed-- the WiFi worked great as well. We opted to not do breakfast, though had we I'm sure it would have been great. Ester herself helped us set up a Paragliding activity and answered any questions that we would have.

If I ever get back to the area, I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our (husband and I) stay was wonderfully pleasant and beautiful-3 night stay at Esther's Guesthouse. Our room had a wonderful view of the mountains (Room #3), very clean, neat, comfy and homey. Check-in went well and instructions were very clear how to use everything and how things worked in the guesthouse. Esther was an amazing host and our "tour guide". She was very friendly, sweet and had a gentle spirit to her, and gave valuable advice on sightseeing. Esther surprised us with a little bottle of champagne in our room with a sweet little note congratulating our 5 year anniversary! Gimmelwald is a small little town away from things but we did not mind due to coming from Italy where we were surrounding by a lot of people so Gimmelwald was perfect for us. I really recommend this guesthouse-really worth it! We enjoyed the breakfast with other guests and had plenty to eat. I recommend going to the Coop (supermarket) and walk down to Gimmelwald (30 mins.) instead of staying the cable car. Great walk and amazing view!! We would definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: Choose Room #3-it has an amazing view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
615 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#5 of 11 in Murren
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#11 of 11 in Murren
71 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
576 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esther's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esther's Guesthouse

Property: Esther's Guesthouse
Address: Kirchstatt, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Esther's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esther`s Guesthouse Hotel Gimmelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing