We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch Out!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gimmelwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olle & Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Gimmelwald B&B and Inns
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Watch Out!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had a terrible experience with Olle. On June 16/12 I booked a room for Sept. 24, 25 & 26/12. I provided a deposit of half of the total cost of this expensive B & B. On July 17/12 we had to cancel our trip. I immediately gave Olle OVER TWO MONTH's NOTICE. He would not refund my deposit.

We had also booked accommodation in 9 other hotels/B & Bs through-out Switzerland. ALL establishments were gracious & refunded 100% of our deposits.

It is clear that it is not common practice in Switzerland to keep a deposit when a booking is cancelled, especially With OVER TWO MONTH's NOTICE of the cancellation!

I view this as very poor customer service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank AlbertaCdntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We chose this place based on Rick Steve's recommendation. It is located in Gimmelwald, a small town located above Lauterbrunnen. It is a very convenient place if you want small and quaint, and not as busy a Murren. Its also very convenient to get to Schilthorn first thing in the morning. It takes longer to get to JungFrauJoch since you have to go back down to the valley and then back up, the the Swiss have the trains / lifts timed so well, you can catch the first train up to JungFrauJoch from Gimmelwald. You will just need to plan about 40 minutes if you want to get to/from Interlaken. Also, the lifts to / from Gimmelwald run first thing in the morning until late in the evening, so you do not need to worry about not getting back to town.

The town is a great place to visit and stay if you want small and quiet. There also great trails, which Olle recommended to us as well. Olle and Maria's place is super comfortable, clean and modern. We stayed in the double room in their house.

The main reason I'm not giving them a higher review is because I felt their prices were somewhat high and not 100% worth the value. I understand we probably stayed there at an inopportune time, and the hosts were not 100% focused on us (they were about to shut down for the month for vacation), but I did not feel they paid very much attention to us, and at times, felt like we were in their way.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the apartment if you can get it. I didn't stay there, but if it was an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bemmybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las_tortugas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We just completed a 3 night stay at Olle & Maria's and the experience was wonderful. We were in their double room and our companions in the apartment. Olle suggested hikes each day based on current conditions and weather that were spot on. Of course, it's hard not to enjoy the beautiful Lauterbrunnen Valley, but my advice: listen to Ollie. He knew where the flowers were blooming and where the snows lingered along the trails. But beyond this, he was a font of information about local culture and history and a wonderful host. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank las_totugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud Fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. The rooms (2) were immaculate.
Our larger room had a kitchen, and we were able to save quite a bit of money by being able to prepare our own meals.( I think that if we had stayed in a cheaper place, and ate all of our meals out, it would have ended up costing more.)
I had a blast shopping at the little grocery story in the neighboring village for fun things to cook and eat. There is a farmer (she owns the cheese hut) that will sell you wonderful cheese, fresh milk, beef Jerky (kind of like sausage), and fresh organic beef. She also gave me tips on how to prepare it with spices found in the local market.
We enjoyed our time in Gimmelwald. The air was fresh and crisp, and there were cows and goats everywhere. The view was fantastic. We loved it.

Room Tip: Save money by renting the larger room with a kitchen, so that you can prepare your own meals. We ate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raqueleliseann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We chose this place based on Rick Steves' reviews. It did not disappoint. This is the only way to do the Berner Oberland. We felt local. The scenery was out of this world. I was sick one day, so I stayed at the B&B. I was sitting in the yard, surrounded by wildflowers, with waterfalls and mountains all around, just reading my book. Goats with little bells. The smell of hay. Cats that would want their bellies rubbed. Absolute heaven.

When I did get sick, Olle went out of his way to find me medical attention. It was a Sunday, Olle just called his doctor, and brought me to his physician in a neighbouring town, who was also extremely friendly. I still can't believe all they did for me. Olle spent a good 2 hours helping me out. I will be forever thankful.

I would recommend that you pick up some groceries in Interlaken before you head into the hills. We were a little food challenged. Our stupid fault.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olle & Maria's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olle & Maria's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Olle & Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Niderimatten 783, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gimmelwald
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing