We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we were staying longer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mittaghorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gimmelwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mittaghorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wish we were staying longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

There is no way you could get a room with a view like this for $116 in the states! On top of that, the homey atmosphere is great--meeting others and chatting. Tim provides excellent service and advice for hikes and other activities. Walter provides the best meals we've had in Switzerland and at the best price!

We've been here three nights. If we were to do it again, we'd stay a week.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triplover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed 2 nights here. The views were spectacular. I would consider this a hostel, but it is very comfortable if you have that perspective. If you have a car, you can drive to Stechelberg and park there, taking to cable car to Gimmelwald.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank avwilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed in April 2014. "Hotel" is a misnomer....this is more of a hostel. We were aware it was rustic, but at the rates charged it needs improvements. Lumpy beds, skimpy pillows and towels, and you still need to put a coin in for a shower. The heat only comes on at 10:30 or so, so if you retire before then, you may wake in the middle of the night to a room much too warm! At 100 Swiss franks a night, the hotel is not worth it.

Room Tip: Try the hostel in town or stay in Murren.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j-and-jd-win-mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

On our 1 month Europe trip, Gimmewald and Hotel Mittaghorn were by far the most memorable! We cannot wait to go back one day! We stayed for 3 perfect days. We met wonderful people at the family style dinners. It was such a magical and peaceful place to stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Walters place in 2004 and it was a great experience. You can't ask for better scenery than the Mittaghorn mountains. Everyone at the hotel was nice and inviting and the place is full of charm. The food was great as well as the company. I hope to go back again one day soon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonnsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Tx
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My fourth trip to this place and it gets better every time. The owner Walter is a true gentleman and has incredible stories to share. I hope he never changes the place. His assistant Tim does a great job making sure you get to the place and knows all of the best hiking trails no matter what the weather is like that day. Great job guys!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank KatyTexas10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Loved the location and meeting Walter was the highlight! After hearing his stories I can almost hear the laughter in the bar from years gone by. However...as sad as it is..those days are gone, I think the hotel needs some TLC to bring it back to where is was when I'm assuming Rick Steves gave it a raving review. The view from our room was breathtaking and the town adorable but the rooms could be cleaner and something should be done about the strong smell of kerosine downstairs. The shared bathroom was freezing as well as the rooms which were suppose to have heat starting at 10 pm but ours never came on...all in all it was ok but I would not stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iloveitaly1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#3 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mittaghorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mittaghorn

Property: Hotel Mittaghorn
Address: Wylern, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing