We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seen better days”
Review of Hotel Mittaghorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gimmelwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mittaghorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Loved the location and meeting Walter was the highlight! After hearing his stories I can almost hear the laughter in the bar from years gone by. However...as sad as it is..those days are gone, I think the hotel needs some TLC to bring it back to where is was when I'm assuming Rick Steves gave it a raving review. The view from our room was breathtaking and the town adorable but the rooms could be cleaner and something should be done about the strong smell of kerosine downstairs. The shared bathroom was freezing as well as the rooms which were suppose to have heat starting at 10 pm but ours never came on...all in all it was ok but I would not stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iloveitaly1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 3 nights with Walter and Tim in June 2013. Room was charming, even the funky coin shower. Reminded me of boarding school days with timed showers. My husband and I competed with each other to see who could shower without a second coin. Mountain views from our window were stunning. Comfortable beds. Slept like a log. Fresh air, cows with bells walking by. Friendly people outside, and inside with other guests at mealtime. Meals were more than expected for the price.Walter rules the kitchen! Very well cooked and tasty, and wine as well.
Tim was a veritable font of good information and stories about the region. He loaned me some hiking poles for the gorgeous hikes on creaky knees. So fabulous to stay in this dream of a 'Heidi village". No stores or cars. Just a gondola ride...and yes, they take cows on the gondolas. Too funny. Suffice it to say, we enjoyed the stay immensely and would love to return someday. Thank you Walter and Tim.

Room Tip: ask for mountain view room, Try the Swiss raclette at the hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The pro's is location is 5 stars ,price is great, breakfast is fun (thanks Tim for hot and cold milk) and Tim is very friendly and knowledgable. It is an easy and fun walk to Murren and I recommend everyone go there for amazing food.

The Con's are the flooring is very creaky and there is a strong kerosine smell on the first floor.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper this may not be a good choice. As light as everyone tries to walk, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NathanDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Open your double doors leading to the rustic old balcony and wham, right in your face is this amazing mountain. Incredible view to open your eyes to. This was our second time staying here and we were not disappointed in our choice. This trip we had our 17 year old daughter with us. The room was large enough for three (four actually) and all of our luggage, no problem. It is nice to take the cable car up to Murren then walk back down just for the view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mishel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Amazing place. Such a beautiful place. Right in the alps on a hill, we had a great view. Tim was so welcoming and helpful. This place was perfect for hiking and exploring all day then coming back and meeting with other travelers during dinner and breakfast. Had a very casual feel and was such a highlight of our trip! We will stay here again when we return one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you like being around other Americans who want to sit around all evening recounting the fabulous places they "hiked" that day, you should stay here. If you don't, and you'd rather be somewhere picturesque where you can enjoy peace and quiet, don't go here. This place is rustic for sure, with an incredible view, and I guess you could call it cozy. But I found it run down and unpleasant. The floors creek and you need to be willing to put up with your neighbors' comings and goings. The fact that it's inexpensive made it more palatable. However, I'd rather come to Gimmelwald as a day trip and find a other hotel which is modern and clean, with an in-room bathroom.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a great experience. The double room, shower, and bathroom areas were all clean and tidy. The breakfast of bread, jam, and cheese was a good start to the day. Tim is extremely knowledgable of the area and had excellent suggestions for hiking and knew the conditions of the trails. We felt very welcomed, starting with our initial email contact until we left at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a better view but rear rooms are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgs0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mittaghorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mittaghorn

Property: Hotel Mittaghorn
Address: Wylern, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing