We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View!”
Review of Hotel Mittaghorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gimmelwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mittaghorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Open your double doors leading to the rustic old balcony and wham, right in your face is this amazing mountain. Incredible view to open your eyes to. This was our second time staying here and we were not disappointed in our choice. This trip we had our 17 year old daughter with us. The room was large enough for three (four actually) and all of our luggage, no problem. It is nice to take the cable car up to Murren then walk back down just for the view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mishel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Amazing place. Such a beautiful place. Right in the alps on a hill, we had a great view. Tim was so welcoming and helpful. This place was perfect for hiking and exploring all day then coming back and meeting with other travelers during dinner and breakfast. Had a very casual feel and was such a highlight of our trip! We will stay here again when we return one day!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you like being around other Americans who want to sit around all evening recounting the fabulous places they "hiked" that day, you should stay here. If you don't, and you'd rather be somewhere picturesque where you can enjoy peace and quiet, don't go here. This place is rustic for sure, with an incredible view, and I guess you could call it cozy. But I found it run down and unpleasant. The floors creek and you need to be willing to put up with your neighbors' comings and goings. The fact that it's inexpensive made it more palatable. However, I'd rather come to Gimmelwald as a day trip and find a other hotel which is modern and clean, with an in-room bathroom.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jarred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a great experience. The double room, shower, and bathroom areas were all clean and tidy. The breakfast of bread, jam, and cheese was a good start to the day. Tim is extremely knowledgable of the area and had excellent suggestions for hiking and knew the conditions of the trails. We felt very welcomed, starting with our initial email contact until we left at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a better view but rear rooms are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgs0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is up on the the hill. I'm sure our views would have been great, if the Alps were not cloud covered! The walls are THIN, the rooms are big. This is NOT a fancy place, but hanging out with other guests over dinner was a treat! (Definitely pre-order the dinner.) Tim was a fantastic host, helping us understand the culture of the life in a tiny village in the Alps. You have to pay for the showers. I suggest ear plugs - not just because of the thin walls, but the goats across the "road" have bells on their necks!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel was definitely a highlight for our European trip. We spent three nights here. Like others have said the physical hotel is pretty good, but its the atmosphere that makes this place. If there are other travelers in the hotel you have to eat the dinner- we met some wonderful people and stayed up late into the night talking. The views are incredible and the town charming. Stop reading reviews and pull the trigger.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you are looking for the charm of the Alps, good conversation and a slower pace this is the place. It is not the Ritz. Walter and Tim make you feel like a welcome guest in their home. Meals are family style where you swap stories of the days experiences and tomorrow's plans late into the night. The location is a wonderful gateway to all the activities the Alps offers. You can get a home cooked meal here or dine with younger drinking crowd down below (food in both locations is good), but definitely take your first meal with Walter as you may decide you have no need to eat elsewhere. Besides cook, manager, and maid, Tim is a great concierge with knowledge in all the trails, activities and weather. Hope to come back one day.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JimDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
681 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#11 of 11 in Murren
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mittaghorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mittaghorn

Address: Wylern, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Price Range: $110 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing