We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come for the views, not for the accommodations.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mittaghorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gimmelwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mittaghorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Come for the views, not for the accommodations.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you like being around other Americans who want to sit around all evening recounting the fabulous places they "hiked" that day, you should stay here. If you don't, and you'd rather be somewhere picturesque where you can enjoy peace and quiet, don't go here. This place is rustic for sure, with an incredible view, and I guess you could call it cozy. But I found it run down and unpleasant. The floors creek and you need to be willing to put up with your neighbors' comings and goings. The fact that it's inexpensive made it more palatable. However, I'd rather come to Gimmelwald as a day trip and find a other hotel which is modern and clean, with an in-room bathroom.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a great experience. The double room, shower, and bathroom areas were all clean and tidy. The breakfast of bread, jam, and cheese was a good start to the day. Tim is extremely knowledgable of the area and had excellent suggestions for hiking and knew the conditions of the trails. We felt very welcomed, starting with our initial email contact until we left at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a better view but rear rooms are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgs0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is up on the the hill. I'm sure our views would have been great, if the Alps were not cloud covered! The walls are THIN, the rooms are big. This is NOT a fancy place, but hanging out with other guests over dinner was a treat! (Definitely pre-order the dinner.) Tim was a fantastic host, helping us understand the culture of the life in a tiny village in the Alps. You have to pay for the showers. I suggest ear plugs - not just because of the thin walls, but the goats across the "road" have bells on their necks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was definitely a highlight for our European trip. We spent three nights here. Like others have said the physical hotel is pretty good, but its the atmosphere that makes this place. If there are other travelers in the hotel you have to eat the dinner- we met some wonderful people and stayed up late into the night talking. The views are incredible and the town charming. Stop reading reviews and pull the trigger.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for the charm of the Alps, good conversation and a slower pace this is the place. It is not the Ritz. Walter and Tim make you feel like a welcome guest in their home. Meals are family style where you swap stories of the days experiences and tomorrow's plans late into the night. The location is a wonderful gateway to all the activities the Alps offers. You can get a home cooked meal here or dine with younger drinking crowd down below (food in both locations is good), but definitely take your first meal with Walter as you may decide you have no need to eat elsewhere. Besides cook, manager, and maid, Tim is a great concierge with knowledge in all the trails, activities and weather. Hope to come back one day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JimDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We loved our stay here. Yes, we found it via Rick Steves and so all the other guests had done the same, but this one is a keeper.
Gimmelwald is a tiny hamlet amidst the Bernese Alps, with an incredible sweep of view across the valley to a mountain wall covered with cataracts. The gondola ride up from the valley floor is a joy in itself and then you are walking up Gimmelwald's one narrow road to the hotel. They serve dinner family style, alternating between two menus, and the sharing of stories with the other diners is part of the joy of the stay. Continuing the 'you are a guest in my home' motif, there are no room keys and the bath is down the hall. This hotel is for hikers and nature lovers, but would be a challenge for anyone with mobility issues, the stairs are steep (like the trails in the surrounding area). The sunsets that we watched from our over the front door balcony were truly epic. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lksegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Gimmelwald has a population of about 50. There's not much here... If you are looking for the party scene or to go clubbing at the discotheke, gimmelwald is not your place. If you want a breathtaking veiw, a peace that only comes (at least for me) in the alps, and some neat people, this is your place. Be on time for dinner or you won't have any... But understand up front that those are the rules and everything is great- this hotel is classic swiss. Beautiful wood, awesome place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mittaghorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mittaghorn

Property: Hotel Mittaghorn
Address: Wylern, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing