We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for Heidi? We found her here!”
Review of Hotel Mittaghorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gimmelwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mittaghorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Looking for Heidi? We found her here!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We actually traveled in October of 2011 but can no longer select that option. One night was not even close to enough. Not sure it would be my teenager's favorite thing to do, but it was one of the most romantic, cozy little places I have ever been and it topped my list of things we did for a month in Switzerland. Pretty much everything I would say is just going to mimic what has already been said, but they aren't exaggerating. Tim was a fantastic host, sharing videos of climbing and even one he took of a couples he had guided on a climb that day.
We went after reading about it from Rick Steves and he was most accurate in that you will find no other place quite so "Heidi-like" in the alps as you find here. Wifi is a terrific bonus as you can chill out and relax while uploading pictures etc to the net with a view unlike any other we saw.

The interaction with others who had read the same thing was really neat too. It allowed time over meals we shared to offer advice on things we had already done and get advice from others on the things we had not. I would love to go back and spend a couple weeks here.

Room Tip: There are NO bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mishel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

There are not enough wonderful things to say about our charming stay at Hotel Mittaghorn. Tim was an incredible host- giving us helpful information about hikes, activities and the region. We loved the cozy feel that the hotel provided and especially enjoyed the community with the other guests. We shared stories and laughter over breakfast and dinner which led to new friendships and lifelong memories. The stunning view out of our room was absolutely breathtaking, the shower provided lots of laughs and the overall experience was surreal. We hope to return time and time again and highly recommend this unique hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripperBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micanopy, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place is unlike any other!!! Our time in Gimmelwald was lovely and one of the favorite stops on our trip. Very rustic hotel with years of love and character. Walter and Tim were great hosts and we loved the homemade dinner from Walter we enjoyed each evening. The view from our balcony took our breath away and we would love to go back and spend more than 2 nights. Highly recommend for those who want to feel the charm and escape of time in a small alpine town:)

Room Tip: Pay the 10 francs extra for a balcony!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otbrittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I really can't add much more than what has already been said (raved about!) in the previous reviews. We traveled a month in Europe and our 2 nights/3 days here were the most amazing part of our trip. Wonderful, worn, creaky, alpine hotel. Great food and dinner guests. Interesting hosts. All surrounded by some the most stunning mountain scenery anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ed-dest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Got a little skeptical when my husband booked at this hotel for our 2 days stay in the Alps cause I saw some pictures online and it was not that impressed. But it ends up to be the most memorable place of our Europe vacation. Walter is a very good cook and it is worth every penny. We ended up had our dinners for 2 days with him and my teenage boy still talking about it even after a month back home. The shower was awkward at first but it was fun memory after we figure out how to work at it. The location of the hotel is great for us since we like to enjoy quiet night view and away from the heavy tourist area. Overall, it is a nice, cozy hotel where you meet and dine with your fellow travelers and exchange stories. Food, service are excellent. Rooms and beds are clean and comfort. WiFi signal is good in the room. View are great. Easy access to transportation and hiking trails. We will definitly come back here to Gimmelwald and stay at this hotel for more than 2 days next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicago888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was my second time staying at the Mittaghorn, and just like the first, we wish we could have stayed for a few extra days!!! Gimmewald is so far my favorite location in Europe, its a little mountain escape from the rest of the world. Our host Tim is very friendly and helpful, providing tips on hiking in the area. Our room was large and includes a balcony with stunning views of the Alps. Dinner is VERY worth it, including wine and dessert and the opportunity to make friends with the other guests. Be aware that the facilities are not up to par with a normal hotel (there is no shampoo or soap provided, and you have to pay one Frank for five minutes of hot water in the shower), and for whatever reason the beds are too short for most people. Once you get past these minor setbacks, the Mittaghorn is by far the highlight of your trip! I wish I could give it more stars for location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We loved our 2 night stay on our honeymoon. Walter is a great cook & excellent conversationalist. Tim was very helpful on what to do. The "Romantic" walk up to the glacier was breath taking. We could not believe the alpine prarie at the end.... Heaven is best way to describe it. The 1 CHF for 5 minutes of hot water in the shower was interesting & fun trying to insert more coins while lathered up, but an excellent place for those who do not need a Ritz hotel. We cannot wait for our return to see Tim & Walter again.

Room Tip: Front room have exellent view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMSLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#7 of 11 in Murren
214 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mittaghorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mittaghorn

Property: Hotel Mittaghorn
Address: Wylern, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing