We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our 15 day trip. Oozing with charm and character. This is the alps.”
Review of Hotel Mittaghorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gimmelwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mittaghorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel of our 15 day trip. Oozing with charm and character. This is the alps.”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

After reading much about the Hotel Mittaghorn I was concerned it wouldnt live up to our expectations but it did. If you are looking for a very remote village with million dollar views, Gimmelwald is the place and Mittaghorn is the hotel. As others have said, Tim was very helpful in answering any questions we had. While I was apprehensive about the rotating dinner menu, my husband accidentally told Walter that we would be eating dinner that night when he called to reconfirm our room. And Im so glad he did! At 15 chf, not only was it a steal, it was delicious! We ended up eating the other menu the second night of our stay. Soup, a main course, dessert, and wine. We are still talking about the yummy cream of leek soup (if you are reading this Tim, I emailed you for the recipe. Please send it my way!). The best part about the meals was meeting the other guests. We actually were seated next to a couple from my husbands hometown all the way in Texas! Both nights we enjoyed several hours of conversation with Tim and the other guests. My only complaint is that the walls are paper thin! Our second night there was a giant family with several small children staying in the room next to us and we could hear them screaming, playing, etc. Also we noticed that the two rooms on either side of us had balconies while ours only had a window so perhaps request a room with balcony (not sure if they are more money). Also come with a supply of 1 chf coins. You will need them for the hot water in the shower!

Room Tip: Request a mountain view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carleaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here Sept 2011. Spent 1 night. Was such a lovely stay. The view from our room was breathtaking. Tim, the host, was extremely helpful in planning hikes. We loved the Swiss breakfast the next morning.
That night, it was hard for us to go to sleep. We had the window open and the view of the glacier with moon over it was too beautiful. Hard to close our eyes. Would stay again. We want to come back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trys7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place is so simple and relaxing. It attracts a clientele with amazing interests and experiences to share. And Tim, the manager, is simply a class act.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is one of those special places. Let's start:

1. Lovely wooden house, creaky, cosy and with amazing views.
2. Staff is so special, friendly, honest and trustworthy.
3. They donate revenue to a community project in latin america. Amazing what they do.
4. Price for staying including breakfast and dinner so good and cheap.

DEfinitely going back, is one of those u never forget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cavernicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This quirky little lodge was the coolest and most comfortable place I've ever been and I didn't want to leave! It was a pleasure talking to Walter, and Tim is the friendliest and most helpful host ever! Gimmelwald is like this hidden gem of a place and the views from this hotel make you want to do nothing but stare out the window. Thanks Walter and Tim for the most memorable 3 days of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missingsomepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Mittaghorn Hotel is great. We spent two nights and have two teenage boys. The price was very fair for the village. The meal, only offered to guests, was first rate.

Trusty Tim (as Rick Steve's calls him) is a wealth of knowledge. He gave us instructions on a great hike. He also is an encyclopedia of any other facts in the region. Breakfast is a simple and traditional european, but very good and adequate.

If I make it back to Gimmelwald, I'm staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tstape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Staying with Walter and Tim was an experience that cannot be matched. This is the most beautiful location in Europe. This is a clean but rustic lodging with the feeling of family. You must eat dinner as Walter is a great cook and the conversation is worth the price which is a value in Switzerland. I only hope I can go back and spend more than two nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmf73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
214 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mittaghorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mittaghorn

Property: Hotel Mittaghorn
Address: Wylern, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing