We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Hotel Mittaghorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gimmelwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mittaghorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here Sept 2011. Spent 1 night. Was such a lovely stay. The view from our room was breathtaking. Tim, the host, was extremely helpful in planning hikes. We loved the Swiss breakfast the next morning.
That night, it was hard for us to go to sleep. We had the window open and the view of the glacier with moon over it was too beautiful. Hard to close our eyes. Would stay again. We want to come back!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trys7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place is so simple and relaxing. It attracts a clientele with amazing interests and experiences to share. And Tim, the manager, is simply a class act.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is one of those special places. Let's start:

1. Lovely wooden house, creaky, cosy and with amazing views.
2. Staff is so special, friendly, honest and trustworthy.
3. They donate revenue to a community project in latin america. Amazing what they do.
4. Price for staying including breakfast and dinner so good and cheap.

DEfinitely going back, is one of those u never forget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cavernicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This quirky little lodge was the coolest and most comfortable place I've ever been and I didn't want to leave! It was a pleasure talking to Walter, and Tim is the friendliest and most helpful host ever! Gimmelwald is like this hidden gem of a place and the views from this hotel make you want to do nothing but stare out the window. Thanks Walter and Tim for the most memorable 3 days of our vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missingsomepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Mittaghorn Hotel is great. We spent two nights and have two teenage boys. The price was very fair for the village. The meal, only offered to guests, was first rate.

Trusty Tim (as Rick Steve's calls him) is a wealth of knowledge. He gave us instructions on a great hike. He also is an encyclopedia of any other facts in the region. Breakfast is a simple and traditional european, but very good and adequate.

If I make it back to Gimmelwald, I'm staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tstape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Staying with Walter and Tim was an experience that cannot be matched. This is the most beautiful location in Europe. This is a clean but rustic lodging with the feeling of family. You must eat dinner as Walter is a great cook and the conversation is worth the price which is a value in Switzerland. I only hope I can go back and spend more than two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmf73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This is not a fancy hotel, and it's not that easy to get to. And that's what makes it so great. We trudged up the hill in a blizzard, dragging our bags up the several flights of stairs until we found the place. Only two other guests. We had a delicious dinner prepared by Walter, the owner, in the dining room with the other guests and some local people. It was a wonderful evening. The room has linoleum floors, wooden walls, a tile sink and a utility sink, and a little space heater. The beds were big and soft. There was a balcony outside facing the neighbor's goats. The surroundings are so beautiful and unspoiled, this is the perfect way to enjoy them.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisanCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
674 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
224 reviews
9 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mittaghorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mittaghorn

Address: Wylern, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Price Range: $43 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing