We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Gimmelwald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Gimmelwald
Ranked #2 of 3 Gimmelwald B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I and three kids (7,9,11) stayed here in early August and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were friendly and laid-back, but attentive. Atmosphere was relaxed, backpack style. Loved the Paradise radio 'soundtrack' in the background.

The pension is older and a bit creaky, and as others have mentioned the walls seem thin. Didn't bother us. Shared bathroom facilities were adequate and clean, and plenty of general purpose soap was available. Those looking for a more buttoned-up accommodation might try Esther's guest house next door.

Enjoyed dinner and beers and views on the terrace; nice breakfasts each day in the restaurant. For some variety we took a few meals up in Murren - plenty of options up there. Outside there are great views and trails in every direction, each day was a different adventure. One day we took the gondola up to the top of the Schilthorn. Kind of pricey for us, but it was fun and I'm glad we did it. Hint: if you want to dine at the rotating restaurant up there, make reservations in advance or right when you get to the top. Also, the James Bond exhibit is included in the lift price. The kids enjoyed it.

We're looking forward to returning to Gimmelwald someday and we would absolutely book at the Pension Gimmelwald again. Thanks for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: we stayed above the front door and loved the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    36
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
54
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Gimmelwald is a great little village if you don't need a lot of choice or amenities on your doorstep. There is one other restaurant in the village and the nearest store is in Murren. It was perfect for our needs and we very much enjoyed the five nights that we spent here. The house is old and there is no sound insulation, I was woken up most nights by someone snoring in another room, bring ear plugs! The rooms was comfortable and the bathroom was always clean. We ate on the patio most evenings, there is usually a backpackers special that is cheap and was always very tasty, the pork and rosti with orange whisky sauce was amazing. The reviews below about the setting and scenery are spot on, the most amazing I have ever seen. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: It might be better to have a room on the top floor, then you wouldn't hear people walking above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGoingonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This warm comfy hotel is situated just beside the cable car in the car free village of Gimmelwald. The view from the terrace of Jungfrau and the Eiger are awe-inspiring - the staff are English, very friendly and welcoming and the food is delicious. We stayed here with our small girls and they loved it too. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepongoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rueggisberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Old house, a lot of wood, old beds, bad matress, bad sound isolation. Little nice rooms. Toilet and shower clean and big enough. House is nice decorated. Breakfast ok, at the 4th morning boring, because everyday the same things. We had halfboard; dinner was ok. Three times pasta...
Staff very friendly, uncomplicated, charming. they just need to learn how to clean a table... The staff would be the reason if i would come again.
Location great, view great.
Recommended for people with low requierements.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toraruluwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place was a gem! It was so cute and quaint. The food and service was amazing. We are vegetarians and had wonderful food prepared especially for us. The coconut cauliflower soup was AMAZING!!! The view was fantastic as well. From the patio you could view the Jungfrau, Monk, and Eiger in all their glory. If you want to escape and experience what life is like in a small village, I would highly recommend visiting Pension Gimmewald...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Gimmelwald was purposely placed in the middle of our trip as we really wanted to enjoy the Swiss Alp experience at its best. And choosing the Pension Gimmelwald for three nights was the perfect place to enjoy ourselves. We were warmly greeted by the staff upon arrival and made to feel perfectly at ease. As soon as I saw the back deck - that has the most spectacular and mesmerizing views of Eiger, Monch and Jungen Frau, I knew we were home. An added bonus was the interesting and diverse fellow travelers who stopped by for dinner or a cocktail or were guests at the hotel. The atmosphere was lively and fun without being pretentious or forced. The food was a little pricey --- but that is the norm in Switzerland. The beer was incredible and the staff extremely knowledgable and the friendliest we encountered on our trip.

I have a new goal now to save up enough airline miles and money over the next few years and return as soon as possible!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveler0593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

While most of the staff were delightful, the pension full of character and the view was amazing, I was disappointed that the English chef made such a big deal about me being vegetarian, saying that I should accept that vegetarians are not normal and what trouble my "abnormal" diet was causing him. He runs a restaurant for crying out loud!! It made me feel very unwelcome. This is in stark contrast to the advertising material, which suggests that it's a welcoming place for artists, writers, and retreaters. In reality management has been taken over by Brits, and it's just run like a London inn/pub, and not for anyone alternative at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AletiaD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Gimmelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Gimmelwald

Property: Pension Gimmelwald
Address: Gimmelwald CH-3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gimmelwald
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pension Gimmelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Gimmelwald Hotel Gimmelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing