We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We LOVED Pension Gimmelwald” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Gimmelwald

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pension Gimmelwald
Ranked #2 of 3 Gimmelwald B&B and Inns
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We LOVED Pension Gimmelwald”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We went into this trip not really having high expectations but were blown away by the experience we had here at Pension Gimmelwald. It was by no means a high end hotel but it was everything anyone would need. We had a clean comfortable room and this was the first time we had to "share" a bathroom and it was a good experience. The staff was very nice and very very helpful and had time to talk to us and tell us more about the hotel and themselves. The food was wonderful too!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tricia071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    36
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
54
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

We felt like we were staying in a creaky old summer-camp cabin, and we enjoyed every minute of it. The carpet is threadbare, the furniture is tired, and the shared bathrooms are simply functional, but that's all part of the charm. You're in Gimmelwald to live simply, and that's what you get at the Pension. The views are mind-blowing, and surprisingly, the food at the Pension's restaurant was excellent too. Just make sure you confirm your reservation a few days before you arrive - they had lost ours, but still had a room available.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkymonkeydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

We traveled to Switzerland with aspirations to find Swiss culture. We found Gimmelwald and thought it would be a wonderful place to stay in the Swiss Alps. Pension Gimmelwald is a clean and cozy place, wonderful staff, but our expectations were to experience traditional Swiss culture. The hotel is owned by a great English couple, but were we’re looking for more of a Swiss culture. I was surprised to find that everyone we met was from the U.S. ... Really! It's a great place to hike in the Swiss Alps, I just wish they had kept the culture. The only reason I give a recommendation is the staff. They were fun! PS. Don't go to the hostle!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

This is a low-key, no frills place in a beautiful setting, with exceptional views of the mountains. The food is excellent and the rooms are very comfortable. The best part is the very friendly and extremely friendly staff and the location in the quiet town of gimmelwald.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mooseantlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

While hiking in the Swiss Alps, my husband and I made the Pension in Gimmewald our home base. It was a wonderful experience to stay in the small community of Gimmelwald, and the people at the Pension could not have been nicer! If you're looking for a four-star hotel, this isn't it, but I think it beats out the bunk-bed-style-Mountain Hostel.

Our room was very reasonably priced (especially for Switzerland). We had a double, our room had a sink, and just down the hall were two very private toilets and showers. We never had to wait for either, and there was plenty of hot water, and both were very clean. The room had windows that opened right out to views of the Eiger, which was incredible, and the bed was soft, comfortable, and the linens were clean. My only complaint was that the lighting in the room was dim...but when you're in the Swiss mountains, who really spends time in their room?

The breakfast was "continental style", and consisted of coffee, tea, orange juice, Swiss cheese (duh) bread, dried sausages and ham, Muesli cereal, plates of sliced bananas and apples, and yogurt. It was served community style and gave us a chance to talk to fellow travelers in the mornings.

The dinners at the Pension were outstanding (especially the desserts). Everything the served is raised or grown locally and organically, (and you could taste the love) and the portions were appropriate, and there was a terrific variety. They had a good selection of beer and wine to choose from, and the desserts were outstanding, especially the chocolate profiteroles, the lemon-lime torte, and the apple strudel with ice cream. And I loved the cat in the basket on the bar.

I'm disappointed that others have written such negative reviews of this wonderfully charming place in the mountains...our hosts could not have been friendlier (we don't speak the language and yet they made us feel right at home and at ease with our feeble German attempts). If you're looking for five-star-American-style accommodations, you should probably plan to stay in Murren. But if you want a real taste of the Swiss Alps, and genuine people, I'd highly recommend the Pension.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbaker1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

It felt like we were staying in a hostel (which would have been fine), but paying the prices of a three star hotel. Even the food was expensive. Though I wouldn't say things were dirty, they definitely were not new or spotless. Beyond that, the owner was cold and unapproachable. The mood in the pension was rather morose and quiet among the staff and consequently, the guests.

If you do stay here, don't pay for the breakfast; it is definitely not worth it.

We went next door one night to the Mountain Hostel, where the pizza was good, mood jovial, and owners welcoming. If we visit Gimmelwald again, that's where we'll stay.

With that said, I may suggest another town all together. We went to Gimmelwald because of Rick Steve's rave reviews and were relatively disappointed. I think Gimmelwald is worth a walk through on a hike, but I might suggest staying in Wengen. Wengen is on the sunny side of the valley (Gimmelwald was rainy and cloudy), and it it well situated for transportation in multiple directions. Staying in Gimmelwald limits you to that side of the mountain unless you want to jump a bunch of trains, gondolas, lifts and/or buses.

We had just come from the Dolomites in Italy, which took our breath away. We didn't have that reaction at all in Berner Oberland (though to be fair, this may have been because of the crummy weather). Furthermore, we felt like we were being ripped off at every meal, activity and hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrittanyBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzihostal, Owner at Pension Gimmelwald, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
All of us at the Pension are trying to understand the motivation for the heading 'To be avoided'. For the benefit of those who would like the facts I enclose the following information. I would just point out two relevent details first. The difference between the words unapproachable and unapproached, and that such a disatisfied customer could book for one night and then extend their stay for two.

If our visitors book had been consulted it would have revealed over sixty signatures this summer complementing us on all the 'facts' turned into criticisms here.
Of 14 hotels in the Murren Gimmelwald area (on the mountain) we are the second cheapest. The cheapest is the Mitaghorn which provides a free breakfast of bread and jam and coffeee. Otherwise it is the same price for one night.
Our big buffet breakfast has been applauded by many in our visitors book and, would you believe, photograhed frequently.It is also cheaper than any optional breakfast in local hotels.
The warmth and consideration of our staff has been mentioned again and again unlike so many cold receptions that people have complained of at other local hotels.
Our restaurant prices are cheaper than any in Murren and the price of a pitza is 16.50 CHF at the hostal. You can have our homemade burger and trimmings for 14.50 or glazed smoked trout with pesto dressing served with a salami potato dressing for 10.50CHF.
Or Spicy chicken on Mango Avocado salad and piquant dressing for 19CHF.Or Pasta with mushroom, white wine garlic cream and fresh tarragan from our garden for17.50CHF. In fact nearly half our options are the same price or cheaper than the hostal pitza and cooked for you by our award winning chef Gary Massey. The American Ambassador to Switzerland Donald Beyer who came to lunch on the 8th August with his family, loved the place and enjoyed the food so much he asked our chef Gary to work for him after he had finished the season here.

Rick Steves recommends Gimmelwald because it is old and traditional unlike Wengen which is a modern resort by comparison.
In fact New is a word we avoid here as you will see, if you consult our website, we are trying to give a picture of the past while remaining cozy and clean. Another couple of words that feature strongly in our visitors book.
I think the bad weather did more than colour the judgement in this review it affected the pro's!
There is a good hostal next door, where you sleep up to 20 to a room and have to pay for your showers. For the same price we have a dormitory for six with twice the space and the showers are free but our main business is cozy traditional double and family rooms.
All of us at the Pension think of ourselves as a family and were dismayed at our strengths being turned into criticism, it is hard to understand when compared with the fantastic reviews obtained before we were perceived locally as successful.

Wengen has the same weather pattern as us, unsurprisingly.

David Waterhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

The food at Pension hotel in Gimmelwald is excellent. However, the inn is the most expensive accommodations on the mountain and does not offer any significant amenities. Also the rooms carry noise from adjacent rooms. Also the owner is less than pleasant to his workers and guests. But come for the food as it is exceptionally tasty and satisfying.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsnyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Gimmelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Gimmelwald

Property: Pension Gimmelwald
Address: Gimmelwald CH-3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Gimmelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Gimmelwald Hotel Gimmelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing