We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to expectations”
Review of Rosenlaui Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rosenlaui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosenlaui Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosenlaui
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
Level Contributor
307 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Lives up to expectations”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Staying at this hotel is like stepping back a hundred years, but with good showers, excellent service and first class food.

We had a top floor room with wonderful views of the mountains. There are no lifts. Crisp white bed-linen looks and feels lovely. The beds are quite hard, the pillows, only one supplied per person, are extremely soft - we would have appreciated extra pillows. White towels (could be a bit bigger for showering) and shower/hair gel are provided in the rooms.

The room was very warm, we turned the radiator off as soon as we got in. Overnight we had the windows open. The stream just outside was quite full and very loud. Not quite the gently tinkling brook I was hoping for.

No en suite facilities. Showers are shared, two to each floor, with basins in the same area, all look to be very new. Everything was very clean.

Dinner was first rate. It is a set menu included in the price of the room, drinks are extra. We started with a prosecco before the first course of a really excellent white wine soup. Neither of us is particularly found of pumpkin so the next course of Kurbiscrustini was not really to our taste. The beef stroganoff was made with very tender beef and served on a bed of piped mashed potato. With this we had 50cl of a very acceptable Valpolicella and litre of sparkling water. Finally the pannacotta dessert with an intense raspberry sauce was gorgeous.

The following morning breakfast continued in the same vein: bowls of yoghurts and fresh fruits including blueberries, strawberries, blackberries, all perfectly fresh and completely unblemished - the tastes were wonderful. Several different fresh breads and bread rolls, home-made jams - the apricot was superb - and excellent coffee served with hot milk, the coffee pot kept warm on a burner at the table. Really excellent way to start the day.

Our bill for one night including evening meal, drinks and breakfast came to 292 CHF. Guests can take the post bus to and from the hotel free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I'd heard great things about Rosenlaui for years, and was not disappointed. Rooms are simple, clean and pleasant. Showers (much appreciated after hiking) are instant heat and high flow. We were there one evening with a musical performance during dinner, sort of camp, but in good fun. Food was very good and service first class. Setting is stunning at the base of a range of cliffs. Hiking here provides maple opportunity to observe Swiss cows beginning the cheese production process.

Room Tip: As near as I can tell the rooms are about all the same. I'd probably go for one of the lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schwanewede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Rosenlaui is a truly extraordinary place where time seems to have stopped 100 years ago.

If you're looking for a 5 star Spa, Free Wifi and iPhone streaming boxes and a vibrant night life, don't go there!

But if you'd like to experience how it was to stay in Switzerland 100 years ago, you must go there. Thanks to one of the most intelligent renovations of a historic building I've ever seen, 100% of the charme of yesterday have been conserved. The atmosphere of the place is outstanding, the only noise is coming from the nearside river (I slept like a baby ...), the mountains are breathtaking, there are plenty of old books and other funny stuff from the past, and the food prepared by the chef is mouth-wathering!

The perfect place to get out of the noise and the hectic action of today's life. And sharing (beautiful old) bathrooms with other guests is a new, but nice experience ... and not at all a lack of comfort.

Room Tip: Tourist rooms are very simple and don't have a view - but all other rooms are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarosassoneCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Twelve years ago we walked past Rosenlaui hotel and thought - hmmm, must stay there one day. Our only regret about our first stay there this year is that we waited twelve years before doing so! We have enjoyed staying at many places in Switzerland and beyond but Rosenlaui hotel must rank as the best of them all. The food surpassed our highest expectations, the service and hospitality of Christine and her staff are beyond compare and the location is the closest to Paradise that we can imagine. The highlight of our five night stay was Tuesday evening when the brothers Mattmuller entertained us to a recital of Mendelsohn, Litzt, Schumann, Brahms and Beethoven Lieder between four wonderful courses of Birnen Suppe (pear soup - delicious), Blattsalat mit Hobelkase, Kalbssteak mit Morchelsauce and Zitronen Rosmarin Glace.
If you want televison, internet, lifts, private bathrooms then Rosenlaui is not for you but if you are looking for Paradise, then just get off the 164 Postbus at Rosenalui hotel.
Our only regret now is that it is 46 weeks and five days before we are there again next year!

Room Tip: We had room 19 - see photographs - which is on the front side with the best views and balconies. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABORIGINEFIDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

No telephone. No TV. No wi-fi. Shared toilets and bathroom down the hall. The Hotel Rosenlaui does not offer conveniences that we first-worlders take for granted. However, it does offer the essentials. Electricity and hot running water, for example. What is more, the price includes a delicious four-course evening meal in the dining room. Christine Kehrli and her team are attentive to her guests, and that counts for a lot. On top of it, Rosenlaui offers fresh mountain air, the constant sound of running water, and spectacular views of the surrounding mountains.
The best way to reach the Rosenlaui is by Post Bus from Meiringen or Grindelwald (a bus pass covering the stretch is included in the reservation); let the driver worry about the narrow, winding roads so that you can enjoy the scenery of the Rosenlauital.
Rosenlaui is not for everyone. But for those who seek to disconnect from the modern world and appreciate the essentials of a hotel as it was 100 years ago, Rosenlaui is great.

Room Tip: Touristenzimmer are on the back side with no view. Bring your own sleeping bag or sleeping sheet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have eaten at many starred and Michelin restaurants world wide but for a surpassingly gourmet meal do try to not only stay but to eat what Chef Andreas prepares daily.You will count it as one of your best memories.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you like old houses with the special athmosphere of the past and appreciate the peace in rooms without TV, W-Lan, radio and telephones then you`re at the right place! The owners are very charming, the food served on old dishes is excellent and the large drawing room is inviting to read, discuss or play games.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beatricebrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosenlaui
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#4 of 10 in Meiringen
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Schwarzwaldalp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosenlaui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosenlaui Hotel

Property: Rosenlaui Hotel
Address: Rosenlaui CH-3860, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Rosenlaui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosenlaui
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing