We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible vistas, but...”
Review of Hotel Rothorn Kulm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rothorn Kulm
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Brienz
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The ride up to the Rothorn in the little red train is absolutely amazing, and the panorama from the top is simply incredible. You can practically see across the entire country!

I'm less convinced about the hotel and restaurant, though. Our room was in a side-building, and smelled really musty. If you want a towel, you have to rent it for 4 CHF. The dinner in the restaurant was ok. At breakfast, however, the fruit salad came out of a can, and the bread had been deep-frozen. There was nowhere in our room to play a game after dinner, so we asked if we could stay on in the restaurant. The answer was no, as they had to clean and then wanted to leave (it was barely 22:30). Having just come from Lake Oeschinensee where no effort is spared to make guests feel at home, the Rothorn Kulm Hotel was a big disappointment. Especially given their prices, which are high.

However, if your prepared to lower your standards, I would still recommend you spend a night there (ask for a room in the main building, they're supposed to be nicer). Being perched this high on top of a mountain, seeing the sun setting and rising over the alps, with absolutely no sounds but the wind and the birds, is a very unique experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monicakatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent a weekend on the Brienzer Rothorn. The hotel is very basic but clean. Shared Showers and restrooms are located on the floor. This is typically not our style but it was all clean and absolutely ok for a night. The restaurant is very nice. Food is great, wine list as well. Breakfast is also very rich and tasty. The view from the hotel is amazing, provided that the weather is good. We saw plenty of capricorns during early evening just outside of the hotel. The railway up to Brienzer Rothorn is a unique experience. Overall, a great trip tha can be extended with some nice hikes.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Donrodolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer Südseite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ps0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank _celikbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jacky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Aussicht auf See und Bergseite (Jungfrau Mönch und Eiger sichtbar) verlangen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 819cross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brienz hotels
3.7 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
597 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lindenhof
Hotel Lindenhof
#2 of 12 in Brienz
79 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chemihuttli
Hotel Chemihuttli
#5 of 12 in Brienz
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Brienzerburli And Lowen
2.4 mi away
Seehotel Baren Brienz
Seehotel Baren Brienz
#4 of 12 in Brienz
102 reviews
2.2 mi away
Schonegg und Spycher
Schonegg und Spycher
#3 of 12 in Brienz
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rothorn Kulm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rothorn Kulm

Address: Brienz 3855, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Brienz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Brienz
Price Range: $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rothorn Kulm 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of the Hotel Rothorn Kulm and enjoy a unique early morning panorama view. The Hotel Rothorn Kulm offers different types of overnight accommodation. The ideal situation of the lodge offers views to both the north and south of the building. The comfortable rooms are all presented with washbasins giving hot and cold water. Being an old, traditionally constructed mountain lodge, the showers and toilet facilities are provided on each floor. All the rooms are non-smoking, simple though very well maintained and are accessible by wheelchair. The restaurant has a panoramic terrace and is a full service restaurant, which leaves no wish, unfilled. Of course, the inside of the restaurant is a non-smoking envirorment outside at the terrace leaves you the freedom of choice. All the terrace seating offer you a spectacular view to the Alps of the Berner Oberland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rothorn Kulm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing