We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brienz - lovely.....the hotel not quite so much...”
Review of Hotel Lindenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lindenhof
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Brienz
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on our way back from Italy. We had a duplex apartment at the back of the hotel. It was comfortable enough but really old fashioned. No view from there either. On the upside, the breakfast was really good, and the food in the restaurant was nice, if a bit expensive. Service was good. The bar was cosy, especially as the weather was so bad, the fire was lit - in the middle of July. My daughter enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 80 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nice situation above Brienz, in an old landscaped garden overlooking the lake.
Accommodation scattered over a number of old 1970 type buildings with a lot of stairs. We asked for the best room, which had a large picture window overlooking the lake, but the decor was bizarre, including a large tree trunk, and a bed fashioned as a birds nest, which made access difficult, and was very uncomfortable.
The bathroom was a wooden shed like structure in the corner of the room, lighting very dim, and a tiny TV from 1970 with 4 channels. Dinner quite good and substantial for Switzerland, but expensive. Breakfast OK basic. Overall poor value, 250 CHF per night plus dinner, for such a run down outdated old place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expatriate35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very nice hotel. our room had a forest scene on one wall and part of a real tree trunk to give the impression of space and nature, very nice touch. we ate here as well the food was very good.
word of warning not very accesible for less abled people . Lots of stairs and slopes.
hotel is ideally situated for the Rothorn railway which is an absolute must if you visit the area.

Room Tip: as k for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Two couples head out into one of the most romantic parts of the Berner Oberland, hoping to get an amazing place, given the price tag, only to discover that they're accommodations are bizarre to say the least. Mour bed, bed side tables and motif were shAped like Swiss cheese with poorly framed quirky photographs of some ancient Swiss mountaineer. On the first night the dinner was quite good, but on Easter Sunday the risotto tasted like chalk and the service was wanting.
Ii won't return to this hotel, despite the wonderful views it afforded us over the Brienze Lake. There must be many other hotels or guesthouses with more charm and at a better deal than the 250 CHF a night price!

Room Tip: We had the " comfort" room which was number 17 with a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We arrived late afternoon in Brienz and it looked amazing. The hotel looked ok and dinner was expensive but good, the room was outdated and very small. Night came and with it cockroaches, I could not beleive my eyes. We were in Switzerland (the Gem) and the hotel had these disgusting insects. The girl at the reception acted very normal while cocroaches marched on her desk. I was disgusted and terrified. We had to change plans and unfortunately stayed in Brienz only 3 days. Expensive stay for having to share your bed with raoches.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fazola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I have stayed at the Lindenhof many times over the years, so I can say the quality is consistent. The location with terrace overlooking the glacier green lake and surrounded by its own well kept park is hard to beat. The food is good, (Swiss with a modern feel) if over-garnished with herbs from it's own garden, but that's a matter of interpretation. The rooms are all furnished around a Swiss mountain theme. This is certainly fun, but after a bit can feel a bit crowded. I did not share the notion that the rooms were too small, the childrens' rooms were also adequate but surprisingly plain. But then they were too busy at the indoor pool to notice.

When I had a complaint regarding one of the waiting staff, this was dealt with promptly and professionally by management.

I would definitely stay again, a fun, welcoming place with views to die for.

Stayed: August 2009
Thank whitepeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed here three nights the last week of July, in the "Cheese room". Karen Brown talked this place up in her book like it was Disneyland. It's actually just dated and kitschy, at least the theme rooms are. Ours was small even by European standards. I could barely turn around in the shower, which always flooded the bathroom floor, and the entire bathroom felt crowded with one person in it. We're both pretty thin, too. The room chairs were unpadded and ucomfortable, and there were hardly any horizontal surfaces other than the floor and the bed to put things on. The balcony had a nice view (and even less comfortable chairs), but it was nothing special compared to the typical view from an Alpine hotel. Surprisingly, the little faux eves over our bed and the cutesy bird on the corner were layered with dust. And the noisy bathroom fan ran all night because the switch wouldn't work. Just what you go to Switzerland for: white noise. Supposedly there was wireless internet, but our iPhones were never able to find it.

But the room wasn't something we'd reject for just a few nights (after they fixed the fan). What would mostly keep us from going back there is the indifference of the staff. Of the eight or so staff we encountered, only two were what I'd call friendly. Most others made me feel like I was a passenger at a train station, just passing through while they took care of business rather than me, the necessary evil. It actually started with the pickup from the train station by a dead-pan faced guy who barely said a word to us.

On the positive side, the breakfast was great, as was the view from the breakfast room. And aside from the fan, it was pretty quiet when you wanted it to be. The bed was comfy, too.

We ate dinner the first night at the hotel because of a couple rave reviews here on tripadvisor, but our reality was different than what we read. The food was adequate, but nothing more than average, and quite expensive. It was the poorest dinner value of the entire trip. We ate elsewhere every other night.

The hotel is up a hill, about a ten minute walk from the train station and the main town. No big deal, but you don't want to be carrying your bags up this hill.

The town itself doesn't have much to offer, and the main street is busy, fast and unsettling to walk along. There's a cute but bare church with an interesting and beautiful cemetery, and a nice paved trail along the lake. But there aren't many restaurants, and the only thing open after 9:30 -- and this was mid-summer -- was a pizzeria. There is a major boat dock in town, and that added some life and color when people were waiting for it. The main thing going for the town is that it's super close to Ballenberg. In may ways it's just a wide spot in the road.

Next time we go to the area we'll stay in Thun or somewhere along the Thunersee. If you're thinking about basing in Brienz, then I suggest you research some other areas too, especially on the Thunersee side of Interlaken. But hey, it's Switzerland, just being there is glorious. A day there in even an average hotel is better than a day most other places.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishIWereSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brienz
1.6 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Baren Brienz
Seehotel Baren Brienz
#4 of 12 in Brienz
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#12 of 12 in Brienz
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Brienzerburli And Lowen
7.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
208 reviews
12 mi away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 4 in Sarnen
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lindenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindenhof

Address: Lindenhofweg 15, Brienz 3855, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Brienz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Brienz
Price Range: $162 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lindenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lindenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Lindenhof Brienz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing