We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”
Review of Lake Brienz

Lake Brienz
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.07*
and up
Interlaken 3-Hour Guided E-Bike Tour with a Farm and Ancient Villages Visit
More Info
$42.86*
and up
Private Tour: Interlaken Walking Tour
More Info
$25.71*
and up
1-hour Express Interlaken Private Tour with Stops at Lake Thun and Lake Brienz
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Brienz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mayo,Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Such a scenic area, really lovely. We stayed high up in the Berghus Aalp which was peaceful and had great views.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    129
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Ship and Car along beautiful turquois Lake Brienz”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Decided to stay outside Interlaken along Lake Brienz in Ringennberg...wanted to take this trip years ago but had to cancel at the last minute. Finally made it with modifications...flew into Zurich Airport, drove car along mountain road...luckily it was sunny and clear...doing that after a long flight would have been way too much...arrived at Ringennberg and so loved the whole ambiance of staying along the clear, very turquoise lake. Originally we were supposed to stay at Iseltwald and found it to be a very cute, typical Swiss village but a little crowded with other tourists while Ringennberg was much calmer, peaceful, etc. Took our car and drove to many villages on all both sides of the lake as well as nearby Lake Thun and totally enjoyed the views on sunny days, stopping for lunch, etc. visiting castles in Spies, Thun, Have been to Interlaken years ago and found it to lack the charm is once head...many tour groups use it as a base, esp for the Jungfrau...again visited years ago...Stay along the lake in a charming village, take one of the great boat trips around the lake, esp. to Brienz, enjoy the scenery...not much to do if the weather is bad...again, lucky we had warm and sunny weather to enjoy the outside at Ballenberg Open Air Museum, short trip to Grindelwald....the Lake is too beautiful to miss and rush by....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vmerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Peaceful boat ride on the lake”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We actually went in October of 2011 but that was not an option to pick. The colors were so vibrant both on the water and the trees! The Swiss pass covers all transport including boats. Not taking advantage of this is a definite loss. Brienz has the most beautiful color to it. Riding the boat to Brienz, a stroll through the little town and back to Interlaken by train. We ended up doing this because one of the trains we were planning to take was not operational. Our cousin whom we were visiting suggested this and it was a wonderful idea. So happy we did!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Brienz”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a most beaufiful lake. A boat ride to Interlaken is most fun, with beautiful scenery along the way. Don't forget to come back to Brienz...it is such a nice village!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wilma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grandhotel Giessbach”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Views, day trips, hikes, quality of hotel food. Prices were reasonable for a beautiful hotel in an extraordinary setting. We drove to the hotel which offers free parking, but be forewarned that the parking lot can be BEDLAM at check out time. Cars are 3/4 deep in a small lot near the hotel entrance. Checking in can be difficult when people are leaving/arriving at the same time, as happened on a Sunday afternoon when we checked in. All in all it's a lovely spot, and there is also a nice outdoor pool with views of Lake Brienz and its surrounding mountains.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler06783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Brienz also viewed

 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Brienz, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Lake Brienz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing