We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Good hotel with friendly staff and available and visible and present owner. We had a family room on the third floor with a view on the Jungfrau, Eiger and Monch. The room (27) consists of three parts : a small bathroom with douche, a larger sleeping area with a double bed, and a small area with convertable bed. The bathroom had a door, the other areas have no visual separation (curtain or door). We had two terasses. The room, while very clean, needs a renovation. (we went twice and asked for the same room. It's really not that bad.) The room across the corridor was already renovated and looked really great, but had not the same outside view.

Sound isolation in the hotel could be better, but I guess this will be very difficult to achieve.

The location at the entry to the Grindelwald valley is great. The hotel is situated above the village of Wilderswil. You have to pay in sweat for the view going uphill, but it's worth every drop. If the river overflows like a couple of years ago, you will keep dry feet. There is a enough parking space in the hotel.

The hotel caters for an international taste. The food was tasty, but it is off course is not a three star establishment. We never had a bad meal. Children are very welcome, and get some special attention. During our stay, we saw a lot of nationalities : Europeans, Indians, Arabs and Americans. Everybody got along just fine and it created a nice mix..

Staff and owner seemed to form a good team with some discreet joking between them and the guests. It's nice on holiday to see people who like their work. The owner works himself in the sweat during dinnertime, obviously believing in leading by example.

Wifi only in the large lobby, the garden and the bar. The was a discussion going about expanding the range to the rooms next summer. We'll see.

Room Tip: We loved 27. It's a corner room. It's simple and needs a bit of renovation, but we had tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 188 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

The hotel is very good with clean rooms and friendly staff. The natural scenery from the hotel is beautiful. Its very close to interlaken and the bus stop is 300 m from the hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly in planning our day trips. The only negative is that you need to walk uphill while coming back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anit_Gupta_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The stay at Hotel Berghof is good. The location of the hotel is up hill so you need to climb up and if you dont have a car then it can prove a little cumbersome.
The hotel staff is very friendly and rooms though small are very well kept and clean.
The view from the room was spectacular.
The only negative is its location and is a 10- 15 min bus drive from interlaken.
The breakfast was also OK, not very great.
Overall it was a good stay with friendly staff and clean rooms.

Room Tip: the trip up to the hotel is little tiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyoti_ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at the Hotel Berghof and had a wonderful time there. Everything was perfect - the location, the food, even the weather!
The staff were always friendly and helpful; and Wilderswil is a great centre for exploring the Bernese Oberland.
The outside pool, with its stunning views, was still a little cool; but worth the plunge!
The uphill walk from the station or bus terminus kept us all fit!
Overall experience - EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife, three year old son and I had a wonderful three night stay at the Berghof, which is located between Interlaken and the Grindlewald and Lauterbrunnen Valleys. The setting is just beautiful, with views of the mountains and the sounds of cow bells ringing in the adjoining fields. I wouldn’t suggest staying here without a car mind you but they do have plenty of parking available. But at the same time, I would strongly suggest visiting this part of the country with one. After several trips to the area, this was the first time we drove and we just loved it!

We had a really spacious and comfortable room in the hotel’s second building, with a balcony where we could just sit and relax and take in the scenery, enjoy a drink or two and munch on a few snacks. There is wifi but it is only available in the lobby area, so you do need to go outside and make your way to the main building. I suppose that could be a bit inconvenient if the weather turns bad or if you are staying here in the winter, but luckily this wasn’t the case with us.

The breakfast buffet, which was included in our rate, was very tasty and was a great way to start a day of sightseeing. I really appreciate it when a hotel offers some sort of complimentary breakfast

I would also like to give kudos to the proprietors and the staff. They were very friendly and helpful and made our stay that much better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoreVacations:)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

If you have a car this is the perfect location, on a hill top away from the noise (in summer with no air conditioning as all hotels are in Switzerland sleeping with open windows) and a great view of the snow on the alps. It is moments from all the activities Interlaken offers by car. Other than that I suppouse it's much like other 3 star hotels, you may pay a little more for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

"Darling!!" is how my mom (aged 60) described it. We booked a "family" room very late and were placed in the newer building - there was no balcony but this meant the ground floor and with two little ones (aged 4 and 6), I actually appreciated this!! It was immaculately clean and smelled wonderful - would love to know what products they were using! Breakfast is typical European style which means that if you don't arrive early enough, it doesnt' look as appealing as it did at 7am but... still perfectly tasty and coffee was delicious.

The staff was super friendly -quietly laughing as we continue to try and "ssshh" the American-volume out of our 4 yr old boy (i think nearly impossible)... They are super family -friendly - they even have a box of kids toys/books/blocks (very popular as I sit and watch 6 kids building towers in the lobby right now!).

They let us borrow plenty of Swiss converters (for a deposit) which was great. Wi-Fi only in the lobby - which is understandable way up on the mountain but...in today's age of regular travel, frustrating as I am used to free wi-fi everywhere I go.

Parking is free (great!) but a bit tricky...

It is literally a 6 min drive to the center of Interlaken (park at the Victoria Jung-frau if you like and then walk everywhere in town). The Waldenswil village is absolutely lovely - the huge cottages and local hotels are great to just walk around and look at if you are into that kind of thing - flowers everywhere - it almost seems fake! No sidewalks and some hairy curves so be careful. We ate dinner at the Hotel Baren in town (just wanted to do something different) and sat outside on the patio, under the lit up trees - beautiful!! Menu was good - and we met a lovely family from Israel who were also staying at our hotel.

The hotel really was perfect for us - it isn't fancy but immaculate, friendly, great location, and a good value! We found it perfect with the kids - we will be back and would most certainly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ufgator27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
1.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
705 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#5 of 7 in Wilderswil
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 7 in Unterseen
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#1 of 7 in Wilderswil
140 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 23, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range: $125 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open May to mid September if weather permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Berghof Wilderswil Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing