We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bear in mind is far from slopes”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Just back from 5 days in hotel Baren. We went over new year to try to get some skiing in. Snow wasn't great but that was situation all over switzerland. However, if you are going to ski I would not recommend you stay here. It took us two hours in total every day to get up to the slopes involving a walk to the train station and about three trains up. The room was nice and price was reasonable. There was a whiff of the geriatric ward about the place though so if you're looking for a cool apres ski destination with beautiful people this isn't it! also don't go for the half board as the food with this package is pretty bad and there is no choice. the restaurant and pizzeria downstairs are okay though. Inexplicable is the profusion of teddy bears everywhere and a bizarre wood carving of a muscular man taking off his jocks on the wall by the stairs and then a display of said shorts with the caption Shwingenclub or something. Maybe it's just that I don't speak German... Overall though the staff and owners were really nice. the breakfast was great and we had a great time. It was really cozy. watch out for the sauna though if you are the shy type. I had forgotten the swiss like to do it naked. I was out of there in a flash when I realised!

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank perfect10dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 265 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2006

We stayed at the Baren in early October for a few days. The weather was excellent, not too cold and the rooms have adequate heating. The hotel, as reviewed before is an old fashioned traditional Inn type hotel. The owners Fritz and Gabi and very accomodating and helpful. The resturant has excellent but expensive food. There are little options for eating outside in Wilderswil so you have to eat at the resturant anyway. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choices. It was good value for money. If I go to Interlaken area I would stay at this hotel again. Wildeswil is a good starting point for many excursions, and a quiet charming little village.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank brave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

Having seen the reviews already posted when I was about to re book I wanted to let your readers have my opinion on this small family run hotel.
My wife and I had stayed at the hotel Baron about 6 years earlier.
It's a small family run hotel - we loved it and returned for a winter holiday with our 4 year old son.
The hotel is quite old fashioned and the rooms are dated, however they were spotlessly clean and very cosy. Most of the rooms have great views and the village is a perfect setting if you enjoy peace and quiet. We travelled around using the trains and this hotel is only a short walk from the station.
There are a few bars / restaurants in the village and it is ideally located to explore the Bernese Oberland.
Keen skiers may prefer the high moutain resorts with runs back to the resorts although all the major ski resorts are easlily accessed via a short train journey.
The food is excellent and the half board option is superb value.
My wife can not eat gluten and her dietry needs were superbly catered for.
In summary great tradtional hotel in a lovely peacefull location close to all the attractions. Don't stay here if you like chrome and modern hotels with swanky wine bars but I'd certainly reccomend it to anyone wanting a traditional swiss hotel at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: January 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dmsmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2006

We selected the hotel Baren partly because it is listed in the Swiss Michelin guide, but would not stay there again. The carpet in our room was stained,and also had a fresh spot of hand lotion or shaving cream or something similar on it. Very unpleasant.

In addition, the shower was equipped with a liquid soap/shampoo dispenser that was empty. We discovered this at 7:00 am, so had to shower with the tiny bar of hand soap provided by the hotel. In this respect, the Baren seemed like a poor budget hotel, not something listed in Michelin.

Also, the bar was so smoke-filled in the early evening that we decided not to eat in the adjacent restaurant (the restaurant on the ground floor, not the cavernous dining room on the second floor that apparently also served dinner).

The staff was friendly, but that didn't make up for the deficiencies.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2005

The room that we stayed in was really nice. We had a little balcony which had a lovely view of the mountains. The room was clean and for the most part the staff was friendly. The restaurant downstairs was a bit confusing to me but well worth the confusion the food is amazing! We had traveled all over Europe on this trip and by far the food at this hotel was the best. The cannelloni and rochit was outstanding!! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Wilderswil.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shannon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank napavimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2005

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SherpaSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
704 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 7 in Unterseen
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#28 of 39 in Interlaken
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#1 of 7 in Wilderswil
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 1, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range: $102 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Baren The hotel Baren is located in the heart of Wilderswil in the beautiful Jungfrau region. Comfort and the Swiss hospitality as well as the regional cuisine with fresh products make the hotel Baren a wonderful place to stay The Jungfrau, the North wall of the Eiger, Interlaken, Grindelwald, the lakes of Thun and Brienz, as well as numerous sights and a magnificent nature are nearby and can be explored during daily excursions. If you are in the region for your holidays, a celebration or a conference, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel Baren. The Baren team with Erika and Bernard Muller ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing