We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and a cute place”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A few friends and I were in Switzerland for a snowboarding trip and we made hotel arrangements a bit late (for the holiday season). We wanted to stay a bit closer to the actual slopes but ended up going with Hotel Baeren because it was a good value and not too far away. We had booked a room for 3 people and were actually given 2 adjoining rooms; 1 single room & 1 double room which both shared a bathroom. For the price, it was a great set up. We even had two wonderful little balconies! Breakfast was substantial & delicious. No lifts so make sure you travel light. Free parking which we never had trouble getting. All in all, lovely place.
A few things to know before you book if you are going there for the slopes; the hotel is still a bit away from the actual slopes. You have to either take a ski shuttle bus to Grindelwald or take the train to Grindelwald. The bus leaves from right out front the hotel & is free once you have purchased a lift ticket (nobody ever checked our passed though). The train is also free with lift tickets (you don't get your ticket checked at the Wilderswil station either). Once you get to Grindelwald, you have to switch trains and then take another train up to the actual slopes. They do check your ticket (RFID card) to get on this train. All in all it seemed to take about 1 - 1.5 hours from leaving the hotel to touching the snow. Not really a big deal but not nearly as convenient as other set ups (i.e. we went to France and were practically ski in / out for 110 euro a night). All in all, lovely place just be sure you understand that it takes a bit of effort to get to the slopes.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor so you don't have to drag your ski bags through long hallways & multip...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaH1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baeren
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 259 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We enjoyed so much our stay in Baeren Hotel. We highlight the friendly climate at the evenings and the excellent buffet breakfast. The service is very good and the hotel has several nice places to let you feel as home. The only point for improvement is the Wifi (it´s not free and couldn´t be accessed from rooms)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustavo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Was very disrespectful, attendants have a lot of attitude. There is no concept of service. After 9 pm, ALL lights are switched off and the corridors are pitch black.. Their behaviour is very closed and Does not make you welcome at all.. Charged for wifi but did not work at room. House flies over cheese at breakfast. Overall very poor experience

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank sreyas789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night (2a, 3c) and we very pleasantly surprised by the excellent restaurant at the hotel. The food was delicious and very seasonal. There is a relaxed atmosphere in the Inn, it was welcoming and spotlessly clean. The bedroom decor was quaint and the bathroom was small but there is an old world charm to the place. We had a family room that was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety on the buffet.

Room Tip: Check in advance that the bathroom is en-suite.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okeeffek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Baeren weekend of 26th October for one night. Check in was very friendly and efficient and we were promptly shown to our room on the third floor. This is a very old building, built in a traditional Swiss style which is part of its attraction, our room was spotless, with a shower room and balcony with views towards Lauterbrunnen and the mountains. I notice that some people have complained that you can hear people in other rooms, creaking floorboards etc but this is to be expected with a building of this age and it certainly didn't impact on our enjoyment of the hotel. This is not five star luxury however it is very traditional, attractive, clean and great value for money, with amazing views, friendly staff, great location, lots of character and one of the best hotel breakfasts available with a lovely selection of hot and cold food, cheeses, breads pastries and the option on a Sunday to have brunch instead of breakfast. We enjoyed our stay so much we are already planning to visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMcL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this very warm, cozy and comfortable hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was hearty and sumptuous. We ate dinner at the restaurant once and really enjoyed our meal.
The bus stop for the bus to the train station is quite close by but we always walked, found it quite pleasant. However, if you have luggage, take the bus. Trains to Interlaken OST are every 30 minutes or so and the journey time is 5 minutes, covered in Swiss Flexi saver pass.
Overall very pleased with the hotel and will definitely recommend.
Negative: Had to pay SFR 5 for the Wi-Fi password, very poor network in the room. Strong signal only available in the lobby. Also, no coffee/tea making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: We booked a room with balcony, got some decent mountain views. However, it would be preferable for s...
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AyeWanderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I totally agree with previous reviewers that some reviews have been harsh and the record does need to be put straight.
I have just returned from a second, 10 day, visit to the Hotel Baeren, this last visit being since Herr Mueller (who was friendly, but took the time to speak) and family have taken ownership and I can't wait to go back again next year. This is a real Swiss Chalet type Hotel, as we imagine it to be.
I am fussy, a real 'Mrs Bucket' and the only gripe I have is that towards the end of the stay a ball of hair/fluff appeared behind the bathroom floor and was not removed - to my knowledge it was there for at least three days.
Apart from that, everything was excellent. The location to the railway station (a ten minute walk) and bus stop was ideal. The room was clean with bedding changed frequently and with a wonderful view of the Jungfrau from the room and especially the balcony. The breakfast was excellent, with so much to choose from: bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, cold meat platters and smoked salmon (which could do with being placed in a cold chiller), prunes, dried and fresh fruits, cereals, a wide choice of breads, various fruit juices and warm boiled eggs, which were replenished when empty, except for one occasion. The breakfast really does set you up for the day.
A mention and thank you must be made to the staff, in particular, Anita, who I believe to be the Hotel Manager and a real asset. She was extremely knowledgeable of the area and also very friendly. No problem or request was too much and done immediately. Natalie was also very cheerful and friendly.
Each night we ate in the hotel restaurant, the food was excellent (especially the veal in mushroom sauce with rosti and veg!), although service was slow. I do feel that perhaps the slowness of service is something Herr Mueller should address. The Head Waiter, whose name I didn't get a chance to get, was excellent, but he was basically running the restaurant on his own. Erikca, although friendly, only worked at her own speed, putting pressure on the others. For a few evenings there was a large tour group and even with Natalie helping out, this was all too much for the staff and they really could have done with some extra help. On average, our two course meal was taking two hours to order, wait and consume.
Wilderswil is a wonderful spot outside the main town of Interlaken and handy for trips on Lakes Brienz and Thun, Lucerne is only two hours away by train and there is very easy access, via the excellent Swiss Railway system, to the Schilthorn (a must), the Jungfrau, Murren, Grindelwald and numerous other typically Swiss places.
One useful tip is to purchase a First Class Rail Pass, rather than a Second Class. The rail carriages have more room and comfort and this also allows you to sit on the top deck of the boats without paying a supplement.
A lovely holiday, thanks to the Hotel Baeren.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel with balcony which gives views of the Jungfrau.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsBoxerDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
0.6 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
58 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
682 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 1, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range: $114 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Baren The hotel Baren is located in the heart of Wilderswil in the beautiful Jungfrau region. Comfort and the Swiss hospitality as well as the regional cuisine with fresh products make the hotel Baren a wonderful place to stay The Jungfrau, the North wall of the Eiger, Interlaken, Grindelwald, the lakes of Thun and Brienz, as well as numerous sights and a magnificent nature are nearby and can be explored during daily excursions. If you are in the region for your holidays, a celebration or a conference, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel Baren. The Baren team with Erika and Bernard Muller ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing