We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely gourgeous”
Review of Chalet Gafri - BnB

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet Gafri - BnB
Ranked #1 of 9 Wilderswil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were not a fun of BnB type of accommodation but decided to book one to enrich our Swiss experience while we had our road trip around the Alps. It turned to be just perfect and totally changed our views toward BnB.

The room was extremely clean and stylish. The host Gabby and Fritz were so helpful and friendly- they offered extremely honest and helpful advice for our sightseeing . The breakfast they prepared for us were just delicious- nothing fancy but the quality is better than most of the 4/5 star hotels. Their kitchen was open like 24 hours it's such a plus for families as you can grab a coffee or tea or even use the microwave to heat up things for the children. Not to mention the extremely beautiful and peaceful village it's located. We were so happy we did not choose to stay in the bigger names like Interlaken or even Lauterbrunnen.

We wish we stayed there longer and strongly recommend this little gem.

Room Tip: get the newly built rooms they are gorgeous!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yangshanshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for yourr encouraging comments and for being such nice guests. Welcome for a longer stay when you visit our Country again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Gafri - BnB
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 181 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hospitality of the owner is outstanding. We were offered a very nice and clean room for very reasonable price. The owner picked us up from the train station and helped us with our luggage to the train station when we were leaving. The breakfast was excellent. Fritz gave us a guest card for a free bus ride when we mentioned that we would like to see the Oberhofen Castle on Lake Thun. He gave us many other valuable advices which saved us a lot of time, money and effort. I would definitely very much recommend this welcoming place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustFunTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

It was our pleasure to give advises to make the best out of your stay with us. Many thanks for your excellent comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

thanks Fritz & Gabi you are the best
spacious rooms with super excellent view, well furnished & well ventilated
cable TV with top of Europe live streaming to judge weather before visiting will be helpful
around the corner a small river you can hear it from the room
location very close to interlaken by car & away from interlaken noises

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Asiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

I was our pleasure to have such a nice Family staying with us and we are happy that you enjoyed the stay so much. Good luck to you and your Family, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had stayed in Wilderswil before at two different hotels so knew all the good things that the village has to offer, not least the excellent transport links. We loved our stay at Chalet Gafri; Fritz and Gabi were welcoming and attentive hosts. Our room was clean and spotless with television and internet and a comfortable seating area and good bathroom. Breakfast was excellent, including homemade muesli and jam. Drinks were available during the day and we were also offered washing facilities and the use of a fridge. The views from the breakfast table were unbeatable.

Room Tip: views from the new chalet are best but we liked our very 'Swiss' room in the old chalet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you very much for this very good review. We are pleased that you recommend us to other People. Just one Little remark about the Translation of trip-advisor into german language. We do not know why, but instead of Interlaken-Wilderswil in the german Version it mentioned Adelboden and this is a mistake. We hope very much that trip-advisor will Change this in the Translation as it is not the only time that this happened. Also it translates the word Chalet into Hütte, also wrong!
This is just to make sure that other guests do not get false informations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had visited switzerland couple of weeks back with my entire family. I received quotation from many hotels and one of the quotation received was from Chalet gafri. I must say it very much value for money deal. At such a resonable cost you will never get some hospitability, ambience. Scenery in front of chalet is just amazing where you will see people having fun with para gliding. In front of the chalet there is a green lush mountain whearas on right side snow covered Jungfrau. Just at 2 mins walk there is a beautiful tracking mountain where you can have walk in the morning. and at 10 mins ride, you can reach interlaken, neuhaus like beautiful places. With this places you can reach many beauties of switzerland. Lastly as we were vegetarians, we could cook ourself in the kitchen. The support and love bestowed by Fritz and Gabi was amazing. Really worth spending time here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your very valuable review. We are very pleased that you recommend our new chalet. Wilderswil-Interlaken is very central for trips and excursions indeed, but a lot of guests come here just for Relaxation and to enjoy the green of the valley with Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau-Joch in the Background. Best regards from your Hosts - Gabi&Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The chalet is newly built,tastefully furnished & immaculate,situated in a very quiet area of Wilderswil. The rooms are a good size & facilities include a fridge,satellite TV & a large,powerful shower. Breakfast features homemade bread,jam,cheese & butter (Fritz keeps a cow in the mountains).
That's the hard facts dealt with - so what makes Chalet Gafri different ? Why choose this place ?
It's the people !! Fritz & Gabi are 1st class, warm & welcoming hosts. Fritz' has a wealth of local knowledge & contacts (he was straight on the phone to one of them who works on the railway to sort an issue out for us)so make sure you discuss your plans with him.Had enough of 'stuffy'Swiss hotels ? Looking for a homely & genuine experience ? Then look no further - we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you very much for this excellent revue. We are pleased that you have spent a happy time wiht us. Your english writen text is absolutly correct but the german translation of TripAdvisor has a mistake. Wilderswil is situated just outside of Interlaken Center and not near Adelboden.
Never mind, we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to our area.
Best regards and thanks - Gabi&Fritz - your hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the moment we stepped into Chalet Gafri last year, we knew that quality accommodation was welcoming us, along with Fritz and Gabi, whom we have known for several years, before they opened Chalet Gafri in 2012. This has been our second stay, and the room was as immaculate and well-furnished as before, with very comfortable beds, spotless bathroom, and balcony with superb views of the mountains. The buffet breakfast caters for all tastes and sustains one very well through the morning! We are always made to feel part of the family there. Nothing is too much trouble - and we are already planning our visit for next year.

Room Tip: The two upstairs rooms have better views
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Great review, thank you very much!!!
It was so nice to see you again and we are pleased to know that you had a happy time at Chalet-Gafri. Best wishes G&F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
1.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
682 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#1 of 7 in Wilderswil
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
604 reviews
2.0 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Gafri - BnB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Gafri - BnB

Address: Muehlenenstrasse 34 | 3812 Wilderswil-Interlaken, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderswil
Price Range: $129 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Gafri - BnB 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast-Chalet with large and modern furnished superior rooms, all with balcony/terrace, very quiet situated and with mountain-view in the heart of Switzerland. We recommend a minimum stay of 4 to 7 nights as very central for trips and excursions in the local area and all over Switzerland. Ideal for Top of Europe and Piz Gloria as half- or day trips. Visit also close by chocolate- and cheese manufacturing. Idyllic scenery for guests that like to just come and relax. Breakfast buffet (also gluten- and lactose free products. Free tea and coffee self-service all day for our guests. We will be pleased to advise best places to visit once you are with us. By the way, on our breakfastbuffet you will find many local and home made product and specialy our Alpine cheese and butter is coming from the Nesslern-Alp above Saxeten, ower 2000 meters. The charater of the products is shaped by the wild herbs and florwers that the cows munch during the whole summer. Your hosts: Gabi&Fritz ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalet Gafri - BnB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing