We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep your "blick" on the Alps ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Keep your "blick" on the Alps ...”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel is located in Wilderswil, a perfect location for visiting te region. Location within Wilderswil is quiet, easy reachable, good parking facilities. As for the room, we were surprised to find that our room was not in the main building and we had not been informed about this beforehand. Paying 20 SFR extra per night for an "Ambiance" room, we found the room to be "standard". On the website, the pictures look much more grand than what reality offers.
The hotel has no real bar, for this type of hotel quite surprising. Some kind of outside, fixed but half open awning has been erected above a patio alongside the main building which serves as extra dining extension with a corner of rather cheap rotan chairs where we took aperitive from time to time. Some sides are made of plastic board so we didn't find this an attractive option. As it is unheated, blankets are even provided. Strange to say the least.
The website boasts much about food quality with Michelin, Gault Miliau, Cercles des Chef, etc references but we didn't feel that this quality is always extended to half board visitors. Probably a la carte dining is of another level but the half board meals are simply good with maybe a few very good but also surely a few not so good experiences. Especially when the warmwater baths come out to keep food warm in the restaurant or patio itself - which happened at least on 2 occasions, it doesn't relate in any way or form to fine dining. Pasta sitting in there for 20 minutes or more is not a fine experience. French fries left on a warm up plate were served cold and we had to ask to change them. For the price, you would expect a direct service from the kitchen.
The hotel seems to have a very solid following of happy guests but we also heard on two occasions from other guests that there were some disenchantements going on in the food quality area.
The family is very friendly and tries very hard with details such as naming guests arriving and leaving on a daily flyer. Unfortunately they got our country of origin wrong, 2 times, on arrival we were noted as coming from the Niederlanden, which was wrong, and apparently during the week we had changed nationality because we left as being from Switzerland itself. Details are nice if you get them right otherwise it leaves just a clumsy impression.
So all in all an ok experience but our expectation level was higher than what we got, so value for money was less than expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    63
    45
    16
    8
See reviews for
52
129
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent luckily only two nights here. The rooms called "family rooms" were in separated back part of hotel where one room had window to other building in 1,5 meters. The bathroom was on the corridor. Room features compared to other three stars hotels in europe were rather like in youth hotel with one *. The wifi was only in the main building altough they advertise themself "rooms with wifi". The breakfast was poor as well. Never again. Does not worth for money.

Room Tip: Do not chose "family room" does not worth for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Csaba07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Excellent Hotel in central location in the charming village of Wilderswil.
The friendly, efficient staff always make one feel welcome. The food is of a very high standard.
The rooms are of a charming Swiss Chalet style.
We will return again.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for Superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Booked by mistake. Room booked did not like it but manager given option to upgrade and I am glad we did. Area is very nice. Staff was good and helpful. We liked breakfast. Area is nice for walk. 8 minutes walk to station. Will be happy to go again but will book better room, cheaper room is not good.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank A H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

a warm welcome, fabulous food, nothing too much trouble

Room Tip: There are 3 standards of rooms enquire when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helviticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I did not want to go to Alpenblick, I was on a terrible business trip, I just hated it. I did not like the place, so fake, I thought. And then we started to eat. And I realized that we can still trust the GauntMillaut. Molecular gastronomy put together with traditional meals and fresh, local ingredients - the best fusion of all. The wine was also great which was a great suprise.
I still don't really like the building itself, but it's comfortable and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monka_bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIddlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel has very small and basic standard rooms some with shower and washbasin inside the room. Staying guests come a poor second to the 'gourmet' restaurant. The dining room for staying guests is inadequate and uncomfortable for the number of guests. Be aware that some rooms are in an annexe which is very basic and not carpeted. If you must stay here book a superior room at considerable extra cost. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MIddlesbroughPetrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
55 reviews
1.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#1 of 7 in Wilderswil
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#5 of 7 in Wilderswil
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
Address: Oberdorfstrasse 3, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick Hotel Wilderswil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing