We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time in Lugano”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morcote
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Carina-Carlton
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morcote
Davos, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful time in Lugano”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We really had a great time in Lugano and this was all due to this wonderful accommodation. Location of the property - near the lake was the reason that my colleagues were interested in staying here. But, I found the hotel great in every terms be it the location, services or accommodation. Everything was perfect. No issues regarding cleanliness or food. Services were prompt and staff members were very generous. I will love to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A nice little hotel along the lake Lugano. We stayed there for one week and we are satisfied with everything. It's a really small hotel where you almost immediately become friend with the staff.
We had a room with a balcony facing the lake with a fantastic view. I think this hotel is good for everyone, we were there with our two kids 3 & 5 but I also think the hotel is perfect for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

You might stuck with the same old problem: the kids are too young to stay in different room, yet not many hotels accept four guests all in the same room. This hotel resolved our problem, and moreover, the "second bed" are located in an almost separate part of the main bed, the room is a kind of "Letter L" form, the main bed on one edge of the L, the second bed (actually pull out sofa bed), on the other edge - so you parents still have your privacy ;). Breakfast is so so, healthy but with limited choices, typical swiss breakfast. Great location, exactly in front of the lake, and they have an open door -dock-type- restaurant in front of the hotel. Furniture are pretty old - or should say 'antique'? still they are beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monditato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel needs to be moved to the morcote category since it is there and not in lugano. We stayed here a couple of days ago. Great location. Great pool. Nice folks at the restaurant. Terrible service at the hotel. No one to bring bags up (no elevator), and not terribly pleasant housekeeping. But restaurant staff is nice, front desk is fine, hotel is in great location and our room was decent. No air conditioning so make sure there is a fan in the room. I don't regret the high prices we paid since we had a great time there.

Room Tip: Best rooms are probably the high level pool/church views and not lake views (with patio)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonwolf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2010

While it looked great on the hotel website, the reality was very different. This is a property badly in need of major refurbishment. It's a shame, because it has the potential to be a decent hotel. Be aware that several of the rooms that have views of the lake are directly beside the road.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qualityratings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morcote hotels

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The location is completely ideal, beautiful view on Lugano lake, and a outside swimming pool inside the hotel with a view on the wonderful village of Morcote. At first sight, it looks ideal !
The pictures on internet show the hotel as it used to be 30 years ago. Everything got old, and nothing is fresh. It reflects a bad energy, curtains lost their colors, etc etc
I was told we would have the only suite with a view on the lake and the swimming pool. I noticed that other rooms have such a view. I was also told that we would have the only suite of the hotel. I noticed people checked in while we were there for another suite...
To give an idea of prices : 280 CHF per night in August.
Arrived at 9.30 PM, no one at reception, no one to take our luggage on the 4th floor (no lift), 15 minutes waiting a guy comes and says he has no idea what to do... We then show there is a key with my name on it, should be that ! He gave us the key without any other comment. We fid the room by chance.
The day after, no hello or question if we had a good night, we are asked to give our ID, waiting there in front of the breakfast, I ask whether it is possible to go have breakfast and get my ID back after. I receive a derisive smile saying it will not take long... Later, we ask wether it is possible to go on the web. The receptionist says there is a wifi connection in the hotel. We say we have no computer with us. She had another derisive smile while make us notice we had no blackberry or iphone, before sending us in the restaurant where there is a computer in the middle of everything... weird.
It was raining a lot outside, and we received an ugly old umbrella to borrow.
In any case, we could describe hundreds details like that we had, we were disgusted because of the such high prices, and a non existant service ! Room was not yet cleaned after 5PM... etc etc ...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dueblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlerock
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Nicely decorated hotel with a very enjoyable pool. Staff is cordial and very helpful. The hotel is located in the heart of the small town, a minute away from the station to get to Lugano by ship.

Restaurant's dishes were delicious and not overpriced.

There are no free parking lots, but parking in front of the hotel isn't so expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpson119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morcote
0.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta
1.0 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
215 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 2 in Bissone
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#2 of 4 in Melide
57 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carina-Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carina-Carlton

Property: Hotel Carina-Carlton
Address: Riva da Sant'Antoni, Morcote 6922, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Morcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morcote
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carina-Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Hotel Carina-Carlton Switzerland/Swiss Alps - Morcote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing