We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Ristorante Della Posta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Morcote
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It was our second stay in this hotel, we had booked specifically asking to be given one of the renovated rooms and were very much looking forward to our stay. Surely enough, as we arrived exhausted after a 9 hours drive across Europe, the room awaiting us was the one I had specifically said I did not want. This would have not been too much of a problem if the staff greeting us had apologised in some way, far from it, they suggested to go and stay in the 5 stars hotel down the road if we were not happy.
Things were not improved when dinner, 4 pizzas ( one for a baby) and two sweets, came to a staggering equivalent of 80 pounds. The room itself, was overpriced, even taking into account the discount offered by the owner in the morning on hearing my remarks on our stay. I am rating this hotel as poor value, although the location is beautiful, and, if they renovated the two old rooms, a nice place to stay, in a lovely town.

Room Tip: One of the new ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciag525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband spontaneously booked two nights at this hotel/restaurant after seeing a program about it on TV. From internet pictures the village of Morcote and Lake Lugano, which the hotel looks onto, looked stunning - but nothing beats the real thing! My husband was able to convince the charming lady on the phone that we wanted a lake-view room for both nights, although originally it was only available one night. Waking up to the view of the lake was divine. We had wonderful weather and made the most of wandering around enjoying the beautiful scenery. We also enjoyed a boat tour around the lake on the second day which was a real treat.

We opted for half-board, which we don't normally do, but it was an excellent decision. For 29 euros we enjoyed three courses which we were able to choose ourselves from the extensive menu. The hotel has several dining areas - one on the lakeside, one downstairs inside overlooking the lake, a lower terrace outside and an upstairs restaurant and terrace overlooking the lake where we ate dinner. A very romantic setting which we thoroughly enjoyed. The food was very good, but the huge variety of pizzas, made in a wood-burning oven, were to die for! There are also a number of other restaurants and bars close by.

Morcote is not a place to spend a week, and it gets very crowded in the high season we were told, but for two days it was perfect. The staff, including the family who own the hotel/restaurant, are very friendly and helpful and many speak Italian, German and English. If you're looking for peace and quiet, delightful scenery and excellent food and wine, this is the place for you, and we recommend it highly.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lake, and if you want a bathroom inside your room, make sure you ask for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are looking for charm, views, ambiance, great food, lovely shops and warm personable staff, then book right now! I lucked out with finding a last minute room for one night when traveling by car with friends. You check into the hotel at the bar of the restaurant next to the Post and your lovely host shows you to your room. Yes, stone stairs, no elevators, but this is authentic.

Hubby and I booked a deluxe room, kitchenette, sitting area, bathroom on first level, bedroom loft with skylights. Counters in kitchen.....granite. Gellata place at bottom of stairs, can you say heaven?

No a/c, give it 15 minutes to air out with fan and open windows. Go 10 steps across the street to the amazing lake, turn around, look up the hill to the georgous church. Friends brought a their dog, no problem. They had a suite up one flight from us that was amazing! When, not if, but when I come back, that's my suite.

Huge comfy bed. Two pillows each! Large flat screen, but you won't even need it.

Lake Como was so impersonal, but Mercote, wow. Cute shops, restaurants, wish we had more time here. And only 2.5 hours from Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vals, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a lovely and clean corner room overlooking the lake. The building and rooms are old, but have everything you need for a little (weekend) break.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and service was very good. Breakfast is basic but good.
We were also lucky to have found parking very close-by, it might be a little bit busier in high season though.
Downside for some people could be that you have to walk a fair amount of stairs up to the rooms and you might get some traffic noise from the road throughout the night. Our room didn't have air-con but only a fan. I personally prefer that but a lot of people don't, so please be aware of that.
If you expect 5-star comfort, then you might just be at the wrong place (at this hotel and probably in Morcote). If you are looking for a friendly, beautiful, (romantic) and charming get-away, then this is the right place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincipessaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

3 ½ months in advance, we had booked for 9 people in total, 3 rooms (1x2, 1x3, 1x4), the reservation process was very nice and friendly.
I was very disappointed when we got in our room, after exactly 48 steps!! It was old, very old!! 185.- swiss francs for 3 pax. We enjoyed carrying our 6 y.o. daughter up there in the middle of the night !
We had a nice view, not directly on the lake, but overlooking some houses.... but OK.
My parents had a room with absolutely NO view. The only window was on the stairs. Disappointing, once again. 160.- for 2.
And the last room for 4, directly overlooking the lake, at 230.-. Sorry, but I didn't see it. I’ve been told that the bathroom was very old....

Positive points:
the food & the staff. We had dinner there and the pizzas were just EXCELLENT….and the service was really nice, really helpful !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louloute72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel was great with good breakfast provided, room is clean and the price is affordable. Room with such price is remarkably reasonable as it has the best view of the lake. How i miss the pasta from the restaurant and the warmth of the staffs. I will come back for sure. Thumbs up.

Room Tip: rooms with the view on the second floor is perfect for solo traveler and also for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 321gothedistance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
808 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is at a perfect location, just separated from the lake by the only road through the town. At our visit in late October, this road was not at all busy, but probably would be so in the summer months. Due to the season,we had no problem finding a space in the limited pay-parking almost right in front of the hotel, free parking is at some further distance. We had a very spacious and pleasant room (nr 35) capable of sleeping 3 with a sofa and lake-view, tiled floors, good firm bed, good washroom with soap bars and a mini-shower. Good breakfast with cold meats, cheese, croissants and bread, juice and coffee, but no eggs. We ate dinner at the restaurant and chose the pizza as we heard good comments about it - it was a fantastic very thin-crust version, definitely one of the best we ever ate. Service was good and friendly, but of course as most places in Switzerland, relatively pricey for non-Swiss. We were very happy at this place and recommend it.

Room Tip: Room nr 35 overlooks the lake from the upper floor - but no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weberwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morcote
1.0 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#2 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
4.3 mi away
Melia Campione
Melia Campione
#1 of 1 in Campione d'Italia
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Della Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Della Posta

Property: Albergo Ristorante Della Posta
Address: Morcote 6922, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Morcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Morcote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Della Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta Switzerland/Swiss Alps - Morcote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing