We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At waters edge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morcote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is at a perfect location, just separated from the lake by the only road through the town. At our visit in late October, this road was not at all busy, but probably would be so in the summer months. Due to the season,we had no problem finding a space in the limited pay-parking almost right in front of the hotel, free parking is at some further distance. We had a very spacious and pleasant room (nr 35) capable of sleeping 3 with a sofa and lake-view, tiled floors, good firm bed, good washroom with soap bars and a mini-shower. Good breakfast with cold meats, cheese, croissants and bread, juice and coffee, but no eggs. We ate dinner at the restaurant and chose the pizza as we heard good comments about it - it was a fantastic very thin-crust version, definitely one of the best we ever ate. Service was good and friendly, but of course as most places in Switzerland, relatively pricey for non-Swiss. We were very happy at this place and recommend it.

Room Tip: Room nr 35 overlooks the lake from the upper floor - but no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weberwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 80 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

We visited the restaurant earlier, their pizza is delicious! For the next visit we decided to spend the night there since the postal buses between Lugano and Morcote stop at early evening. The bus stops right in front of the place conveniently. The staff was very kind, the rooms had everything we needed: clean, good bed and warm shower. The style of the room fitted nicely with the atmosphere of the place. We found the price reasonable plus it also included a breakfast.

One of the rooms had a lake view, but since the lake is right in front of the building, that can also be enjoyed by eating on the balcony or down by the lakeside.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yetifootprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Ive been eating here for 5 years and the food is always excellent and great friendly service.
Well worth visiting if you are in the area.
best food in Lugano
Also has a modest clean B and B at affordable prices

Room Tip: has a family room with kitchen, or ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dora2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We found this to be a disappointing accommodation experience somewhat ameliorated by a stunning location. The building is very very old and the accommodation fit out is only a little younger. The view is glorious but the road is also just below. Parking is difficult and very much a lottery as to the distance ( we scored .. only about 300m .. other might not be so lucky).
The restaurant is popular , quite adequate , but nothing to get excited about.
Overall : we would not revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tgh05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We chose the de la Posta in preference to the better known Carina Carlton in the same village, which used to be excellent but which, judging by TripAdvisor and other reviews and feedback, seems to be in serious decline. The de la Posta is only a modest Albergo but it was comfortable enough for a four nights stay. It was rather hot during our stay and there is no air-conditioning, but a fan was provided instead. TV reception is limited to three Swiss channels. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, but be aware that you will need to climb two spiral stair cases to reach the bedrooms. The hotel’s restaurant deservedly enjoys a good reputation, although service on the first night was surly and unfriendly. Breakfast offerings were modest but adequate. Two minor gripes: no bars of soap were provided and instead you’ll have to make do with a pathetic little sachet of bath gel instead. Surely they could do better. Secondly, a hair dryer would be helpful. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. Albeit a bit touristy during the high season, Morcote, on Lake Lugano, is a picturesque little village. You can easily get to Lugano by boat, or by the frequent AutoPostale bus services

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerofscotland10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a lovely hotel right across the road from the lake. The front rooms have a beautiful view of the lake. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were a good size. We ate twice at the hotel - the food was good but pricy, as is all food in Switzerland. Hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
Some rooms at the back do not have private bathrooms and are very small but the rooms we had were great.
We were told there was parking but it is not at the hotel. There is a public parking lot about 500 meters down the road. We were here in the off season so can only imagine how hard it would be to find parking at high season.
The boat ride around the lake was very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycamperSt_Albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

What a place to stay! Morcote is a ville with a wonderful nature and special people; they make you feel like at home! Whilst it receive a lot of visitors you don't feel crowded like in other places. We highly recommend to stay at the Albergo Hotel - Garni which is confortable and its people are extremely nice and friendly. If you choose a room with balcony -highly recomended- you will enjoy magnificent views over the lake. Close to this hotel, in the direction of the village, you will find the Grotto del Parco Restorant which offer among the best gastronomy not oly in Switzerland but probably around Europe. The food is just great, of excellent quality, and the people working in the restorant are very nice and professional! Morcote offers a combination of nature, nice people and excellent gastronomy not to be missed!

Thank prosabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morcote
0.9 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
236 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 2 in Bissone
368 reviews
3.3 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Melia Campione
Melia Campione
#1 of 1 in Campione d'Italia
192 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#1 of 4 in Melide
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Della Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Della Posta

Address: Morcote 6922, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Morcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morcote
Price Range: $107 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Della Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta Switzerland/Swiss Alps - Morcote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing