We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modest but comfortable small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morcote
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We chose the de la Posta in preference to the better known Carina Carlton in the same village, which used to be excellent but which, judging by TripAdvisor and other reviews and feedback, seems to be in serious decline. The de la Posta is only a modest Albergo but it was comfortable enough for a four nights stay. It was rather hot during our stay and there is no air-conditioning, but a fan was provided instead. TV reception is limited to three Swiss channels. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, but be aware that you will need to climb two spiral stair cases to reach the bedrooms. The hotel’s restaurant deservedly enjoys a good reputation, although service on the first night was surly and unfriendly. Breakfast offerings were modest but adequate. Two minor gripes: no bars of soap were provided and instead you’ll have to make do with a pathetic little sachet of bath gel instead. Surely they could do better. Secondly, a hair dryer would be helpful. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. Albeit a bit touristy during the high season, Morcote, on Lake Lugano, is a picturesque little village. You can easily get to Lugano by boat, or by the frequent AutoPostale bus services

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerofscotland10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 80 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a lovely hotel right across the road from the lake. The front rooms have a beautiful view of the lake. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were a good size. We ate twice at the hotel - the food was good but pricy, as is all food in Switzerland. Hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
Some rooms at the back do not have private bathrooms and are very small but the rooms we had were great.
We were told there was parking but it is not at the hotel. There is a public parking lot about 500 meters down the road. We were here in the off season so can only imagine how hard it would be to find parking at high season.
The boat ride around the lake was very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycamperSt_Albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

What a place to stay! Morcote is a ville with a wonderful nature and special people; they make you feel like at home! Whilst it receive a lot of visitors you don't feel crowded like in other places. We highly recommend to stay at the Albergo Hotel - Garni which is confortable and its people are extremely nice and friendly. If you choose a room with balcony -highly recomended- you will enjoy magnificent views over the lake. Close to this hotel, in the direction of the village, you will find the Grotto del Parco Restorant which offer among the best gastronomy not oly in Switzerland but probably around Europe. The food is just great, of excellent quality, and the people working in the restorant are very nice and professional! Morcote offers a combination of nature, nice people and excellent gastronomy not to be missed!

Thank prosabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had a mini-suite at Della Posta (bed&breakfast) in Morcote, Switzerland with a view over the lake and hillside toward more of Switzerland and Italy; were there four days; parked the car and did day trips. You can take the bus to Lugano, a car trip to Bellinzona, or walk around the area. The restaurant (on the water or the open terrace) is extremely popular. Boats drive up and park at the dock, people drive in from other areas...make a reservation! It is a two-star, so do not set your sights too high on luxury furnishings; but they were quite adequate. The only draw back is the bathroom/salle des bains which could use a freshening up. WiFi is down stairs in or behind the enoteca (wine store) which is part of the hotel/restaurant. For a price-quality ratio, we were very happy. Originally we had planned to stay at the Carina but they were closed when we were making reservations. Della Posta was a very nice place to stay -- family oriented as well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleensparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pour la vue les chambres donnant sur le lac mais attention elles sont bruillantes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir haben ja nur dort gegessen
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank joli_ernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morcote
0.9 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
236 reviews
4.3 mi away
Melia Campione
Melia Campione
#1 of 1 in Campione d'Italia
202 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 2 in Bissone
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
2.5 mi away
Hotel Al Boccalino
Hotel Al Boccalino
#3 of 4 in Melide
50 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#1 of 4 in Melide
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Della Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Della Posta

Address: Morcote 6922, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Morcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morcote
Price Range: $109 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Della Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta Switzerland/Swiss Alps - Morcote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing