We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Luc
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Oustanding in every way”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a very historic hotel lovingly looked after by its owners, who have brought up their own family here. The rooms are relatively small but beautifully appointed in historic Swiss style. My own room only had a small shower en suite, but then one has to take into account that when the hotel was built in the late 1800's no rooms had their own bathrooms. The food is simply outstanding, and best of all, the owners treat every guest as a newfound friend. They spent time with my party at dinner, and it is rare these days to find a hotel where one is looked after in such a very personal way.

There is a spa that looks just great as well.

I would not hesitate to return. The hotel also has some very family friendly apartments right next door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucquerand, Owner at Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind review. Nice to hear that you had a good feeling with this historic house. It would be a great pleasure of seeing you again in St-Luc. With very kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    40
    11
    1
    6
See reviews for
40
112
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Unique hotel with outstanding situation , fabulous views and surrounded by stunning small villages and great hiking and biking trails. The hotel itself is historic and very interesting, the current owners should be extremely proud of what they have achieved with this hotel. They were excellent hosts and the passion they have for the hotel and guest service was excellent. The food all produced locally was also outstanding. There are larger and more high end hotels in Switzerland but I doubt they can match the combination of quality and friendliness this hotel has.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucquerand, Owner at Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for this very kind review and for taking time to write it. Please mention this review if you make us the pleasure of coming back to St-Luc. With very kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaud
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Unfortunately we only spent one night in la Bella Tola but the experience was such that we're actually thinking of returning the next weekend. Definitely, we won't be long before coming back. We didn't have the time to try the Spa this time but it was the perfect time to treat ourselves with the most excellent venison-dinner.
The variety of the breakfast buffet deserves a note on it's own, if we were not up for a long hike, we'd have loved to spend more time on it.
Great thanks to the owners and their staff for really making feel guest welcome and at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucquerand, Owner at Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It is always nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in St-Luc. Please mention this review upon your next stay. With very kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Like Paul T below, I did wonder whether to tell the world about this superb hotel after staying there for the 5th time. But the wonderful owners, Anne Francoise and Claude Buchs, deserve the highest praise and the world should beat a path to their door. They have taken the great ingredients of a wonderful setting and a marvellous old building and turned it into the most welcoming and relaxing place we know. This year we enjoyed one of the newly renovated rooms. Again they have mixed modern comfort with tradition and style. Dinner and breakfast in the beautiful Belle Époque dining room are both excellent. The Italian chef currently in charge is the best they have had. What makes the experience special is the great attention the owners pay to detail. There are little touches like the personal welcome note in your room with fresh fruit and chocolate. But the main way this shows is in their warm welcome, their evidence around the hotel and the way they seem to know and speak with every guest (in at least 4 different languages).
The walking around the valley in summer is wonderful with lots of mountain flowers. Go see and enjoy.

Room Tip: Go for a mountain view and one of the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucquerand, Owner at Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your very nice review. It was a pleasure welcoming you again and nice to hear that the newly renovated rooms have been appreciated. Please mention your review during your next visit and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I we just spend a week in this superb historical Hotel nested in the swiss alps. The hotel was full and we had the chance to be in one of thier annexes, a small chalet near by the curch.The chalet was extremely well appointed with two rooms, a kitchen and a living room. For people that like a belle epoque ambience this hotel his the place to be. This Hotel is family owned and all the small details that make your stay so wonderful are supervised by the owners themselves.Furthermore,the staff is very friendly and seems very happy to work there.You can clearly see that the owners are treating very well the staff and an happy staff gives you an excellent service.The SPA and the small pool are spotless and quite cosy. My wife got some massages and beauty treatements and she was impressed by the professionalism of the SPA' staff. The food and service at the restaurant were also very good. The Chef his a lady from italy that can make wonders out of simple ingredients . Breakfast was also excellent.For people that like to treak around the Alps Saint Luc is a very nice spot with countless possibilities to treak around. Once a week the owners are organasing a half day trip with a lady that knows everything about the alpine vegetation.We will be back to this hotel as soon as possible, maybe mid september.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spitfirex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucquerand, Owner at Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your very kind review. It is always nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it would be a great pleasure of welcoming you soon this autumn. Please tell us about this review next time as we would like to thank you for it personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Bella Tola HAS A SOUL! There I have said it, the worst kept secret in Switzerland is out and more importantly it's true.
If you want Stainless steel, Glass and Marble then go to the Tschuggen and you will have a fabulous time. If you want a cosy, warm, playful, luxurious and re-invigorating experience you can't beat the Bella!
Style is also here in abundance, but it isn't cold and minimalist, more warm and stimulating.
The Spa isn't the biggest, but then it's not about size. It oozes charm and has probably the best view from a lounger anywhere. The treatments are of a very high standard, Ask Valerie for a 'Relaxing Massage' and Naomi for a 'Facial', Brilliant!
I think you get the message; We love this place and unfortunately can't keep it for ourselves!
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Superior South Facing with Balcony and Bath is always our choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucquerand, Owner at Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Many many thanks for your very kind review. We are much than honoured about the comparison with the Tschuggen, one of the best hotel in Switzerland. Valerie and Noemie have been very proud to be mentioned in your review. If you make us the pleasure of coming back to St-Luc, we would like to thank you in some way. Just mention this review. With our best regards and thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Hotel Bella Tola had been an idea for some time after coming for more than 20 years in the valley, but why spend time and money in a hotel when you have a chalet 10 km away? Well actually if you want to celebrate something and relax, that's the idea. The hotel rooms are of course clean (Switzerland + the price, bathroom slightly old fashioned), view on the val d'Anniviers is gorgeous and if you go there in the summer enjoying dinner on the terrace is a real treat, when you have the sun setting on the other side of the valley. Quite good food and good breakfast buffet, the spa is also quite good (don't dream of a giant pool, you are in the mountains) and relaxing if you want to enjoy some quiet time after having climbed the Bella Tola or having ventured to the Hotel Weishorn up from St Luc (other review to come). Make sure you reserve on time if you want to go there in the summer. Usually crowded.
Relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucquerand, Owner at Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Many thanks for your very kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you soon again in St-Luc, summer or winter even just for a drink if you are staying in your chalet. With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Luc
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Beausite
Hotel Le Beausite
#2 of 3 in Saint-Luc
51 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 1 in Vercorin
33 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel de la Sage
Hotel de la Sage
#1 of 1 in La Sage
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
818 reviews
14.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Kurhaus
Grand Hotel Kurhaus
#1 of 3 in Arolla
108 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#1 of 5 in Grimentz
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc

Property: Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc
Address: Route Principale 8, Saint-Luc 3961, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saint-Luc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Luc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bella Tola & SPA in St-Luc in the Val d'Anniviers is an impressive, long white house with several floors, reminiscent of the way they used to build in alpine regions in the old days. Inside the house, the original decoration and antiques of the 31 rooms and the salons have been preserved and everything reflects elegant, late 19th-century “art de vivre”. Award of “Historical Hotel of the year 2001”. SPA, wellness center of 200 sqm with indoor pool, sauna, steambath and massage rooms. Bar/lounge, restaurant, sunny garden facing the 4000 m peaks. Safe in each room. Free WIFI in the whole hotel. Free parking is available on site. There are a number of attractions in the local area, including St-Luc-Chandolin Ski Resort, Grimentz Ski Resort and Zinal Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gd Hotel Bella Tola And St-Luc
Travelodge Saint Luc
Gd Hotel Saint Luc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing