We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast”
Review of The Beach Hut Cafe

The Beach Hut Cafe
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Highcliffe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are a family run beach front cafe. We specialise in all-day breakfasts, homemade soups, homemade cakes, ice cream and waffles. Along with these you will find a comprehensive menu and daily specials. We were voted ' Best Family Friendly 2012 ' at the Christchurch Food Festival Best Of The Best Awards. You will always receive a warm welcome when you visit us and with colouring for children provided parents can relax and enjoy the food and the view.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Been here before in October and was back in Mudeford for a weekend in March. Went for tea and lemon drizzle cake Friday afternoon and decided to pop in for brunch on Monday before we came home. The Friar's breakfast was great. It came with a big pile of lovely sauté potatoes and I didn't need to eat again until the evening. Definitely worth a visit if you haven't already been.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    63
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Seaside fun”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a brilliant beachside cafe. Simple breakfasts, snacks, great cups of tea and the largest single scoop ice creams on the planet. Well done the whole team, a family run enterprise.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Sorry- whole place stank of Dog (not hygienic with food)”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Looks like a nice little cafe by the sea but unfortunately the smell of dog with 3 sat at tables near by was totally unacceptable
Far worse than this is one of the waitresses stopped to stroke one of the dogs on 2 occasions & I was amazed to watch her go back behind the counter & carry on serving without washing her hands , this was unacceptable & I should report it to the council. Note for the manager Please train your staff properly before someone gets very ill eating here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHut2011, Owner at The Beach Hut Cafe, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We were very sorry to read your review and also a bit confused. We DO NOT, and NEVER HAVE allowed dogs inside our cafe. Dogs are permitted on our patio area and the promenade which as it suggests is outside. We have never received a single complaint from a customer regarding the smell of dogs whilst sitting outside and can only apologise if you could smell the dogs whilst you were sat outside.
All of our staff are trained and are well aware of their responsibilities with regards to hygiene and we take this very seriously. We would be very grateful if you would message or contact us to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is the 'go to'place in the Avon Beech area!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

As a local of many years in this area, this is a lovely, friendly place with great service, home cooked, freshly prepared food all served with a smile! Great to people watch from the newly decked outdoor area too. It's a lesson in how to run a café style place, without the arrogance and cavalier attitude shown by the newcomers down the beach at Avon Beech-now that is a dreadful place!

Keep up the good work
Christopher F-Highcliffe

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingscourtyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We called in to the beach hut cafe whilst walking from Highcliffe to Mudeford we sat and admired the wonderful view of the Isle of Wight and Hengestbury head while enjoying the friendly service and atmosphere.Although we only stopped for a coffee and cake it was very nice and resonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Hut Cafe also viewed

 
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Highcliffe, Christchurch
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Beach Hut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing