We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highcliffe Haven!”
Review of Castle Lodge

Castle Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Highcliffe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highcliffe Haven!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wonderful B&B. The owners are very friendly and it is like home from home. As soon as we arrived, we were offered tea and cake. The room was wonderful, exceptionally clean and all the facilities you could want. Breakfast was brilliant! A full selection of cereals, juices, yogurts, pastries, and a wide choice of freshly cooked and served hot food, with fresh toast and plenty of tea or coffee. It's position is great, walking distance of both the town centre, beach and the castle. Huge car park with plenty of parking. We came to Highcliffe to visit friends, and next time we visit, we will most definitely being staying at The Castle Lodge.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
46
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at the Castle Lodge again for the 3rd time this year but this time for two nights. The welcome, comfort, breakfast and facilities are excellent and most guests staying were regular visitors. Home from home. Lovely relaxing garden and patio.

Room Tip: Both ground floor and first floor rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Highcliffe has so many happy memories for us and going back for a couple of days and staying at Castle Lodge was lovely.
Sharon is very welcoming and a natural, making you feel very at ease from the start. Our room had an added attraction as we had our own little patio and pergola to sit out in ,surrounding by beautiful hanging baskets and away from the main house.
The breakfast was first class with lots of choice and far superior to a few hotels we have been to. Being able to sit where you wished and the relaxed manner and lovely interior made the experience all the more welcoming. I would highly recommend a stay at Castle Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petshopgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A first class bed and breakfast friendly staff and Sharon is the perfect host couldn't do enough for you. This is a regular haunt for us when ever we go to Christchurch have tried others when Sharon not available but would not use them again as castle lodge is the best in the area

Room Tip: Ask for the blue room nice out look and very comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lukaolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Lodge was easy to find (right by Highcliffe Castle!), and the staff were very friendly. A welcome cup of tea on arrival in the pretty garden at the back. Lots of nice little touches in the room - tea making facilities, with all different types of teas and biscuits. Imaginative choices for breakfast. Our only problem was being unable to connect to the wifi, but being techno dummies it could have been us rather than the Lodge.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank DubaiCamels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Castle Lodge is a regular stay for us when visiting Highcliffe. A first class guest house with superb attention to every detail - rooms, breakfast, lounge, garden, friendliness. It really is like home from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A very good B&B / Hotel.

Sharon and her team make you feel at home, one of the BETTER Hotels in Highcliffe.

Rooms are large and clean, bed's are very comfortable, breakfast area is clean and light, and those who enjoy a cooked breakfast, well you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyersPDCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highcliffe
0.1 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
394 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
746 reviews
3.1 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
381 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
367 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge

Property: Castle Lodge
Address: 173 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Lodge Highcliffe, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing