We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glede Knowe Guest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Innerleithen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Glede Knowe on the 4th night of the Coast and Castles bike ride. We arrived just as the rain started and were struggling to find the right house - luckily Alison was walking down the street and came to our rescue. With our bikes safely ensconced in the large garage and ee were soon in our comfy room which was lovely. Great bathroom with a super shower - just what you need after a long ride. In the evening we went into Innerleithen and enjoyed a great pizza at Fiko's (highly recommended). Alison's breakfast was very generous the following morning - just what we needed to get over the Moorfoot Hills and onto Edinburgh.

If you're doing the C&C this is *the* place to stay in Innerleithen.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank BhallamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Many thanks for your review of Glede Knowe and our facilities here for cylists. We hope your bike ride next day went well and the rain stayed off until you reached your final destination!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 363 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

It was years since I had stayed in a guest house so I was a bit worried that the atmosphere might be a bit too cosy, compared to a hotel. I need not have worried. This place had the standards and comfort of a quality chain hotel, with a breakfast to match. The owners were friendly without being in your face. The rooms are lovely with very comfy beds and massive shower cubicles. Very very nice. The couple were welcoming of the biking community.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind review of Glede Knowe. We are pleased that your initial doubts regarding guest houses were overturned by your stay here and that you enjoyed the experience after all! We try very hard to maintain very high standards of facilities and service here at Glede Knowe and hope we can welcome you back on a futue occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great value, friendly staff, nice big clean modern rooms, great breaky and beautiful scenery. Not much more you can ask for!...........................................................................................................

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DudeFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write a review of Glede Knowe. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and also the great mountain biking here in Innerleithen and hope to see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Fantastic hosts lovely accomadation if you want to mountain bike at Glentress this is the place to stay. Home from home Great local pubs and indian restaurant Bill and Alison are super hosts and even supplied extra towels for my filthy dog .The rooms are spacious with great power showers Great Scottish breakfast to start the day

Room Tip: Dont stay anywhere else simple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of Glede Knowe. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also the great mountain biking the area has to offer. Hope your lovely doggie recovered from all the exercise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Bill and Alison made the 3 of us so welcome! The house is in the perfect location, close to the town centre, with perfect views of the nearby hills. The house was immaculate with great facilities. Perfect location for biking; and a perfect breakfast to start the day. We all felt very welcome, and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Many thanks for your review of Glede Knowe. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also the excellent mountain biking the area has to offer. We hope to welcome you all back to Glede Knowe again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

An excellent B&B with a very high standard of accomodation. The room was really spacious and comfortable with beautiful views and a lovely bathroom and nice hot shower. We got some good tips on where to eat from the owners (we tried the pub down the road and Osso in Peebles). We'd definitely recommend Glede Knowe and look foward to staying again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of Glede Knowe and also for your comments on places to eat in Innerleithen and Peebles. We hope to see you again on a future visit to the lovely Scottish Borders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Bill and Alison's outstanding accommodation,food and hospitality made for an excellent MTB weekend in Border country. Bill's welcome with tea and biscuits was very well received and we were very impressed and ready for the hill climbs after the well prepared and generous breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Many thanks indeed for your kind review of Glede Knowe. We are glad you enjoyed the biking in this part of the country - reckoned to be about the best in the UK!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innerleithen hotels
0.3 mi away
Caddon View Country Guest House
0.2 mi away
St Ronan's Hotel
St Ronan's Hotel
#7 of 8 in Innerleithen
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tweedside Hotel
Tweedside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Innerleithen
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Town Hall B & B
The Old Town Hall B & B
#5 of 8 in Innerleithen
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corner House Hotel
Corner House Hotel
#6 of 8 in Innerleithen
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glede Knowe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glede Knowe Guest House

Address: 16 St. Ronan's Terrace, Innerleithen EH44 6RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Innerleithen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Innerleithen
Price Range: $97 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glede Knowe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Glede Knowe, friendly, high quality accommodation in the village of Innerleithen, near Peebles, in the Scottish Borders. The house sits on an elevated site in an acre of quiet landscaped gardens with ample on-site parking. Rooms are spacious and furnished to the highest of standards and we provide a fresh cooked Scottish or continental breakfast. Ideal centre for touring castles, museums, gardens or a visit to Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Glede Knowe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glede Knowe Guest House Innerleithen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing