We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glede Knowe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glede Knowe Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Innerleithen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My partner and i recently stayed here with our 5 month old baby and we were greeted by Bill and Alison, the owners of Glede Knowe who were so friendly and made us feel so welcome throughout our whole stay.
Our room was huge, we had one of the family rooms which had a massive bed, easily room for 3 people in the bed which was perfect seeing as our little one likes to come in with us half way through the night ha. Also provided was a travel cot for the baby which was ideal.
The views from our room were amazing, the locations itself beautiful and so peaceful, no traffic noise etc.
The room was immaculate and everything provided, tea/coffee/biscuits.

In the morning after a great night sleep, we were so looking forward to breakfast and we werent disappointed, we had the full works, cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, yogurts, they have it all and the tea and coffee was kept topped up which was great. Our little one was a bit small for a high chair but Alison came through with a baby rocking chair which was perfect for putting the baby in while we were having breakfast. Bill and Alison really have thought of everything to make a stay at their bed and breakfast a truly unforgettable experience.

Thanks again for your hospitality and rest assured, we will definetly be back!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luscious_loo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of Glede Knowe. We are glad you and your little ones enjoyed their stay with us and hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
131
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Beautiful guest house . The room was spotless as was the bathroom . The breakfast was first class . Alison was very helpful with information on the best way to get to places . We will use this guest house again . We would highly recommend it .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of Glede Knowe. It was lovely to meet you all and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you got home safely and that the weather on the crossing was kind to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a top notch guest house. We were warmly welcomed with tea and biscuits - just what was required after a hard day's cycling! Secure cycle storage was provided. The room was clean, bright and airy. The breakfast was amazing with huge portions of smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. We would gladly return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norwichcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write a review on Glede Knowe. It is a marvellous area for cycling and we are very glad you enjoyed your day and your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've stayed at Glede Knowe for the last 2 years during the Innerleithen Music Festival - and we've already booked again for next year. Over many years of visiting both the Traquair Fair and the music festival it's easily the best place to stay locally, with a comfortable room, lovely breakfast and Alison's a charming and helpful hostess. Only a few minutes walk from the High Street, which has several pubs and a couple of good restaurants, we only wish we could have stayed a bit longer to enjoy the local walks and countryside. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of Glede Knowe. It's lovely for us when guests return and we are glad you enjoyed the Music Festival so much that you have already booked for next year! We'll look forward to seeing you both again next August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Myself and my two sons had an excellent stay at Glede Knowe recently! Alison and Bill looked after us well - and the breakfasts were fantastic. They are all geared up for bikers, walkers, in fact everyone! Many thanks! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of Glede Knowe. We are delighted you and your sons all enjoyed your stay and also the great mountain biking here in the Borders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were a group of 3 couples who stayed for 2 nights at Glede Knowe to do some walking and exploring of this beautiful area. What a find! Accommodation was first class: bedrooms and public rooms are very well appointed, spotless and comfortable. The location is wonderful, beautiful views and so quiet at night, yet close enough for short walk into town for evening meal. We were made to feel most welcome. We were given tea and biscuits in the beautiful lounge when we arrived which was unexpected and lovely. The little extra touches like bottles of water and generous hospitality trays really help to make Glede Knowe stand out from the rest. Breakfasts, as mentioned by others, were fresh, tasty and satisfying. As a group of friends we have stayed all over Scotland and north of England on short breaks and this without doubt is one of the best B & Bs we have been in. What's more we will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your very positive review of Glede Knowe. We are so glad you enjoyed the walking here in the Scottish Borders as we ourselves do.It was a pleasure to meet you all and we hope to see you again at some future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here after a 7 day touring Scotland. My husband had already been a few years previous whilst cycling and was eager for the rest if the family to see it. We were not disappointed. Everything from the welcome, the coffee in the lounge, rooms breakfast and departure were world class. I firmly believe you get what you pay for and we truely did. We will going back very soon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill7398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of Glede Knowe. We are delighted that your husband enjoyed his first stay with us and returned with his family and we hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innerleithen
5.3 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
7.6 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
14.2 mi away
Black Bull Hotel
Black Bull Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lauder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caddon View Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glede Knowe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glede Knowe Guest House

Property: Glede Knowe Guest House
Address: 16 St. Ronan's Terrace, Innerleithen EH44 6RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Innerleithen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Innerleithen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glede Knowe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Glede Knowe, friendly, high quality accommodation in the village of Innerleithen, near Peebles, in the Scottish Borders. The house sits on an elevated site in an acre of quiet landscaped gardens with ample on-site parking. Rooms are spacious and furnished to the highest of standards and we provide a fresh cooked Scottish or continental breakfast. Ideal centre for touring castles, museums, gardens or a visit to Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glede Knowe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glede Knowe Guest House Innerleithen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing